We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second trip, just Enchanting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We chose to return to this memorable place in Mendocino by way of the coast from Bodega Bay. Our experience from our first trip brought us back to Dennen's. This is a wonderful inn and the owners and staff make it a worry-free experience. The weekend provided us with another great story to share with family and friends. The owners provide a clean, comfortable, and secure room with amenities abound. Our preferences were accomodated with an awesome breakfast served in our room, nothing short of healthy and always fulfilling. At 6am I wake up and start my day, slipping out quietly to the inn's grounds and was amazed at the wildlife and natural beauty. Taking a moment to smell the roses is what this area is all about. Many things to do here, but recommend you do them at seperate times on the next trip you will plan, because you will return. No words I write will bring you the experience that awaits you in the Mendocino area, but the word "Enchanting" comes to mind! Our thanks to Jo, Fred & staff for another memorable stay.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners they are very much interested in your stay being what you want it to be.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whetzelclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Lovely, spacious room with a wood burning fireplace and lots of room to "spread-out". There's a comfortable sofa facing the fireplace along with a table and chairs that can easily accommodate four people for a meal. Breakfast is served in your room with special attention paid to your preferences. The owners, Jo and Fred, are incredibly warm and friendly and attentive to every need. The grounds are also very pretty. The only concern is that the sink area in the bathroom has no countertop space to place anything which makes it somewhat more difficult for basic tasks -- although certainly not a reason to avoid staying here. The recommendation would be to eliminate the cabinet above the sink and replace it with shelves that items (e.g., contact lens solution, shaving cream, deodorant, etc.) could be placed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our visit this summer was as wonderful as last summer. We stayed in Quail Cabin and it was so cozy and nice. Mr. Fred laid a beautiful fire for us each day and delivered the delicious breakfasts cooked by Jo. Wonderful quiet spot and wonderful innkeepers. And of course, the Mendocino area is beyond description, with many nearby destinations. I hope we can return next summer.

Room Tip: The cabin was great, but a tad bit expensive. We've also stayed in the Dennen suite and that wa...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Dennen's is the perfect location for a romantic getaway, special celebration, or relaxing escape from the crazy world. We stay at Dennen's once a year because it is a great place for us to recharge our batteries and relieve our stress. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are outstanding. The grounds are beautiful and meticulously maintained. Jo, Fred, and their staff do an outstanding job to provide whatever assistance is needed by each guest. They assist guests with anything from suggestions for sightseeing, to reservations for activities or dinner, to massage appointments. We highly recommend Dennen's to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, beautiful, and serene location to relax.

Room Tip: Quail Cottage and the Mendocino Suite are wonderful
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

What amazing attentive and personal service and a beautiful Victorian guesthouse. My wife and stayed here while on a road trip driving the California coast. After I made reservations online I received a phone call to ask about any personal preferences for breakfast and if the trip was for a special occasion. The room was beautifully kept, with a fireplace ready to be lit and a view of the ocean. The bed is the most sumptuous bed I've slept in a long time with pillows that just envelope you. Both my wife and I had the best night's sleep. Breakfast is brought to the room and the food is delicious and fresh. There are some great restaurants close by that make a very romantic stay, Definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachluvr281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is the most charming delightful Bed and Breakfast that you will find. It is located just south of the Mendocino village in Little River. The best restaurants are close by. Jo will greet you and find out all of your needs and preferences for breakfast. The rooms are so clean and so quaint, but really comfortable. The feather bed is like falling into a cloud. Our room had a fireplace and an oversized bathtub as well as a sitting room. The most delightful surprise came in the form of a gourmet breakfast in the morning delivered to our room by her husband Fred. The first day we had Jo's "Mendo Puff". It was a melt in your mouth meal kind of delight that made you feel a little guilty for enjoying it so much. There is so much to do, and Jo is a great source for ideas. The two restaurants that we went to (Albion River Inn and The Ledford House) were both spectacular. Jo called ahead and made sure they knew it was my husband's birthday. Also, the two acres of land surrounding the property are a nature lovers delight. If you just want to relax on a bench and enjoy the scenery, it is all there for you. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway, I highly recommend Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse. The only disappointment was that we had to leave. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeidreLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Wow...as I write this I wish I was still in my super comfy 4 poster bed with the fire burning in the corner, the ocean view from the window, drinking the wonderful local wine... This was a couples trip and I would say is more suited to couples. This property oozes charm and character throughout, it is tastefully decorated and has a vast and plentiful garden. Ocean can be seen from the property and there is a beautiful secluded cove walking distance. The room was the ultimate in comfort - comfy beds, plush bed linen, fluffy towels, fireplace in the corner, flowers in the room etc. it is a great location for exploring the beautiful Mendocino coast - either right on your doorstep or a short drive to Mendocino town itself. There is a variety of restaurants near the restaurant so you don't need to go to Mendocino but I would recommend a visit as it is another beautiful place to visit! You can get really tasty local wine at reasonable prices at Dennen's and the breakfast is delicious. Jo, Fred, and the rest of the team are always on hand to assist with anything and eager to do so. All in all it was a truly memorable stay and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 8 in Little River
183 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse

Address: 7001 N Highway 1, P.O. Box 661, Little River, CA 95456-9514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: £147 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic bed and breakfast in Mendocino County. Sit back and experience amazing ocean views, beautiful scenery, and gracious service at our Mendocino Coast Inn. Rooms at our Mendocino B&B feature custom furnishings and luxurious linens, some with private decks, fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy an unforgettable gourmet breakfast in bed, complimentary Wi-Fi, and special packages at our inn in Little River, CA, only minutes to the picturesque village of Mendocino. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing