We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2007

Well let me start out by saying that this room is way overpriced. We stayed in the Sunrise room where the 'selling point' is the sun shining through the stained glass windows on the wall across from the bed. What that really means is that as soon as the sun is up - so are you. No way to pull a shade. The room is very small and the sheets and towels are all scented with what is probably a Bounce dryer sheet. Gave me a huge head ache. Then there is the breakfast that I read everyone raving about - what we got was a fruit salad that was cut up a few days ago and what appeared to be bread pudding floating in syrup, bad orange juice and decent coffee. The bread pudding was inedible and the breakfast as a whole really qualifies as a glorified continental breakfast. All this for a whopping $195.00 per night with taxes. We have stayed in true B&B's over the years and have had wonderful experiences but it seems that they are all getting a bit lazy and most offer a paltry breakfast for an additional fee. We actually went out to breakfast at the Little River Inn and it was great. We won't be coming back.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank RodeoRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2006

My husband and I spent 3 nights celebrating our 2nd anniversary weekend here. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Victorian Suite and loved the fireplace, the cookies and card upon arrival, the plush robes and the very, very, comfortable bed. The king size bed was made with a feather bed and dual control electric blanket. We didn't want to get out of bed in the morning. The fireplace was laid each day for us with extra wood for a roaring fire. The room was decorated with victorian furniture, a huge king size bed and chair and settee in the sitting room. The sitting room includes a wet bar and fridge and the bathroom has a huge 2 person soaking tub. The room also includes a TV/VCR and CD player. The only downside was that we thought the walls were a little sparse, they needed paint or wallpaper to create a warmer feel.

Breakfast was brought to us within minutes of the requested time of 9am each morning. Breakfast included coffee, juice, various fruits and yogurt and quiches or dutch pancakes. They are more than willing to follow any requests.

We made reservations for our anniversary at the recommendation of the inn. Dinner at the Albion River Inn was amazing. The view is great and the food amazing. They also have a huge creative wine list. Leave time to enjoy an evening here.

Thanks for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank berryhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
13
Reviewed 13 June 2006

It was the first getaway trip with my boyfriend. Everything was just perfect!

We stayed at the Sunrise Suite, the room is comfortable and it has unique antique furniture. It felt great when the sunlight shines thru the stained glass window in the morning. The breakfast and coffee was extraordinary. The Cove is just 5 – 10 mins walking distance away from the Inn and it is a must see visit point, it is a breathe-taking scene. It was just a perfect getaway!

We are thinking about going back in January for the Crab and Wine Festival.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Nevada City, California
11
Reviewed 9 June 2006

We spent some of our spring break at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse in Mendecino and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Quail Cottage and saw many quail throughout our stay. so it lived up to it's name.

The accomidations were spacious with a livingroom with chairs and a dinning table. It also had an extra bedroom for our daughter. The down pillows and comforters on the beds were delightful and were very refreshing and cozy. The tub had jets and that was enjoyable after spending the day out and about in the rain. We had a small kitchen in Quail Cottage and used it for breakfast in the mornings and it was a big plus in our choice to stay at the Farmhouse. The decor was victorian and very comfortable. My favorite thing about Quail Cottage was sitting out on the deck and listening to the rain while I was reading. It was so peaceful.

The owners of Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse were gracious, generous, and cheerful and made our our stay at their Inn very special. We will certainly plan another trip to the Mendecino area and stay at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse again. We will recomend the Victorian Farmhouse to anyone who wants somewhere to stay in Mendecino. It was delightful and relaxing and well worth the cost.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2006

We stayed a couple of nights in Quail Cottage. The cottage was very nice, roomy, and had everything you needed including a full kitchen, dishes, etc. It has a main room which has the stove and the kitchen, a dining set, and a sitting area, and also a small room with a day bed and trundle if you had kids along. The woodburning stove was really nice and the wood was ready to go each night. We were not around the place very much so in hindsight we probably would have gone for one of the smaller rooms if we did it again, although if you are staying for 3 or more days or have a kid or two the cottage is the way to go. Jo, the innkeeper, was very nice and made sure we were very comfortable. Breakfast was awesome! Not much of an ocean view, but Jo said you could see blue water which is true and they provide a telescope and binnoculars in the cottage. Yes, we did see quail! Several of them roaming the grounds.

One of the highlights of the trip was walking down to Buckhorn cove which is a very short walk. This was the most breathtaking view of the ocean we had, just beautiful and very peaceful, we were the only ones there. Great tide pools, rock formations, and crashing waves.

Our only disappointment was part of the reason we selected Victorian Farmhouse, was the special that included a whale watching trip which we were really looking forward to. When we arrived, the staff person that met us didn't seem to know anything about it and said she would check with Jo and let us know when it would be. We never heard from anyone and by the time we asked on Saturday the boat had left. Jo apologized and said she would set it up for us on Sunday and it would leave at 11 A.M. Sunday there was a note on our food tray saying the trip was cancelled due to high seas. Needless to say we were very disappointed. There was no offer for a discounted rate or anything, we just "missed the boat" so to speak. Otherwise, we had a great time and we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMD994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2005

My boyfriend and I just spent a romantic night at the Victorian Farmhouse in Little River California. It's 3 minutes from Mendicino. We had a delicious breakfast delievered to our room. We took a relaxing bath in the tub with the jets and we had an excellent nights sleep on a comfortable bed. The gardens are beautiful and the innkeepers were really helpful. It was a wonderful stay.

1  Thank Zulieka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
CA
13
Reviewed 4 October 2005

I think the reviews are a little over hyped. We thought the place was ok and not as good as the reviews make it out to be. The innkeeper's are very helpful, friendly and prepare good breakfasts, but our room(Treeview) as such was not very impressive. The carpets and the fireplace are really old and there isnt much space in the room. To enjoy the fireplace, we'll have to sit on the floor beside the bed and thats not very convenient!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
11.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
13.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
299 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse

Address: 7001 N Highway 1, P.O. Box 661, Little River, CA 95456-9514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: £146 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic bed and breakfast in Mendocino County. Sit back and experience amazing ocean views, beautiful scenery, and gracious service at our Mendocino Coast Inn. Rooms at our Mendocino B&B feature custom furnishings and luxurious linens, some with private decks, fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy an unforgettable gourmet breakfast in bed, complimentary Wi-Fi, and special packages at our inn in Little River, CA, only minutes to the picturesque village of Mendocino. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing