We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Livermore's Best Kept Secret!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Purple Orchid Wine Country & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I recently took my daughter to the Purple Orchid Inn for a mother/daughter day at the spa for her birthday. It was a little slice of heavan where you'd least expect it. We both got facials and massages (kudos to Beth!) and full access to the pool area all day. Even though it started to rain on us, we didn't mind because the staff were so friendly and helpful we had no complaints. The lunch they serve is a nice little added touch! We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank luckytravels66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is the best place to stay in Livermore Valley. It is under new management and now it is even better than before. Still a fabulous retreat with fantastic pool and such a peaceful garden around it, but all is upped a notch. The rooms are redone and service is really great (wine & cheese event goes on forever, served my wife some lunch when she asked while there is no lunch service, etc.). So relaxing!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Cees129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

There are new owners at the Purple Orchid took over and really made phenomenal improvements to every aspect of the property from the landscaping, decor, and rooms, to the way clients are treated with the utmost respect.

My colleagues and I had a weekend trip there and we will never forget it! It was so much fun! The place is gorgeous. Please, keep in mind that many of the reviews below are written when the PREVIOUS management was still in charge. Check this place out, for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank KellenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We went in August of this year, and the new owners cleaned the place top to bottom and are getting a fresh start. They are really nice people. The breakfasts were good and the property is beautiful. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. I would highly recommend this B & B!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Dogtraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have had a couple of experiences with the Purple Orchid Inn. A few years back, my work had an offsite luncheon and all day meeting there in one of their isolated conference rooms. The food was good, the service was decent, but the place was filthy! From mold, ants and spiders in the bathroom, to dirty walls and floors. We were all very disappointed in how filthy the entire place was. Except, on the patio around the pool. The landscaping outside was quite nice.

More recently (May 2011) my husband and I celebrated our anniversary there. We stayed in one of the cottages and bought the spa massage package. Once again, the place was filthy. We found a blood stain on the ottoman in our suite, which completely turned us off. The bathroom had mold and dirt in it. The suite had a very unpleasant odor like perhaps the carpets and bedding had not been cleaned in a long time. In addition, the fireplace was broken, the shutters in the bathroom were broken so we could not open them for light. The cottages/suites are in BIG NEED of renovation. They forgot our wine all together and when we went for the wine and cheese hour, they actually served soft velveta slices with cheap wine! The massages were "okay" nothing special. The landscaping is still beautiful. If only they would take half the effort and apply it to the inside:(

Also, while we were eating our couples lunch (as part of the package), the owner sat in the dining hall with us and talked on his cell phone, and with his staff LOUDLY the entire time.

All in all we will never be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank lovemyboys1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Because of what I had seen on "In Wine Country" and gleened from their web site, I did not look into tripAdvisor before booking our stay. I probably would not have booked our stay as many of the comments written were similar to what we had experienced. The garden and outside area are beautiful, Suzanne (the Inn Keeper) was delightful, the breakfast was hearty, but.....the rooms definitely need updating: hot and cold water were switched in the sink and shower; no hairdrier provided; towels, linens and bed coverings definitely needed to be updated; 17" TV...pretty small. I would suggest that the owners of the Purple Orchid take a trip to the Napa or Sonoma Wine Country to see what a "real" wine country experience should include. We were glad that we had chosen a room that was only $150 a night. I can only imagine our dismay if we had stayed in one that was $210. We did peek in on a few other rooms which were similar in decor to ours. Oh, and no air conditioning. We were glad it was only May. A ceiling fan would have been nice.

Room Tip: Wait until they update.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank freedmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We recently had our wedding there and the grounds were awesome, along with the Wedding Staff. I had booked the place out almost a year and half ago and all my dreams came true. The Owners & Management Staff helped guide through the rental companies and we finally selected chivari chairs and dance floor from Classic Rentals. Our caterer Bon Vivant & Kim were just wonderful. My mother-in law had booked the place on Friday night and we had a wonderful BBQ on Friday night. The owners allowed us to have our party start on Friday night where we had a small gathering of friends and family. On Saturday, we had booked 5 facials for my sister and her friends and they had a blast. We were served mimosa’s along with our treatments!

Thank you Purple Orchid! You are a true gem!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itgirl_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livermore
8 mi away
Hampton Inn Livermore
Hampton Inn Livermore
#1 of 16 in Livermore
660 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn
7.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Livermore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Livermore Wine Country
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Livermore
La Quinta Inn Livermore
#6 of 16 in Livermore
235 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#3 of 14 in Pleasanton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple Orchid Wine Country & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple Orchid Wine Country & Spa

Address: 4549 Cross Rd, Livermore, CA 94550-9759
Region: United States > California > Tri-Valley > Livermore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Livermore
Price Range: £144 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Purple Orchid Wine Country & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a striking destination inspired by an extraordinary landscape melding the offerings of valley wine tasting, outdoor recreation and renowned spa treatments. Embrace the warm & unsurpassed beauty of the Livermore valley. The Purple Orchid features ten rooms and suites designed for the relaxation and comfort of our guests. Experience the tranquility of the property as you relax in the modern country rooms complete with fireplaces and private Jacuzzi tubs.As a guest of the Purple Orchid, we invite you to walk through our rose gardens before relaxing and socializing in one of our many common areas. Then join us for "Gathering Hour", take a refreshing dip in the swimming pool or unwind in the hot tubs. And don't forget to visit our Spa for pampering and rejuvenation of the mind and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Purple Orchid Wine Country & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Orchid Hotel Livermore
Purple Orchid Inn, Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing