We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldie but Goodie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Livermore
Canby, Oregon
1 review
“Oldie but Goodie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is an older (pink tile in the bathroom) motel in the heart of Livermore, CA. The room was up to date, spotless, well stocked, with a microwave, new clean carpet and comfortable bed. The office personnel were very friendly and efficient. Easy walk to downtown Livermore. I did not use the internet or TV so can't answer to that. The continental breakfast was minimal but considering the internet special price I paid (Approx $60 per night), I was not disappointed in anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanniemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
thank you for giving such a nice comment about an 'oldie' - : ))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    19
    8
    10
    12
See reviews for
14
21
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halsey, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We paid $140.40 for 2 nights, including taxes. The breakfast was poor, so we ate at a restaurant across the street which added $33.68 for a total of $174.08 The motel is old and it shows. The room was small, but clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was quite small and old. The housekeeping woman was helpful in getting the TV to work. She also asked the Office Manager about making long distance calls from the room. He said it is not possible...strange. He also did not seem to know much about Livermore. After leaving Livermore, we stayed in the very nice 'Clarion Inn Silicon Valley Hotel' in San Jose. It is fairly new and our room was twice the size of the Livermore room with a large bathroom...both very nice. It had a much more complete buffet breakfast. It cost only $90.06 a night including the $11.06 in taxes. If we visited Livermore again, I would look for a better motel. The 'Americas Best Value Inn' in Livermore is not a very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Check in to a better motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eealbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
sorry if you found the price higher than expected but providing a good room does get expensive; nevertheless, you were given a good discount rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Livermore hotels

San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great value for the location. Only hotel within walking distance of downtown. Friendly and helpful office staff. Basic but clean room.

Downside: slow internet and really bad coffee. We also never saw the housekeeping staff (got towels from the front desk).

But, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
may be too many were connected to the internet making it slow - remind us next time; maybe a different room might help. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The main positive for this motel is the price and the good customer service from management. The internet connection remained non-existent, the room was not ready for check-in 2 hours passed time, the substitute room had no remodeling so the shower was black with mold and both shower head and sink fixture leaked continuously. Finally, the continental breakfast was laughable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 530Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
sorry the original assigned room was not ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Again we choose for this hotel -third time-, with my husband, sister and brother in law. We shared the huge studio no 123, where we had each our own room. The ample kitchen we left unused this time. I reviewed this inn before and i will say it again: it is really good value for money.The location is the best in town, since it is on first street on walking distance off the restaurants and nice lively part of first street. The Safeway and lots of coffeecorners are opposite of the hotel, just cross the road and you are there. I love it! There is a supernice theater very close just minutes walk to have the best hamburger in town with a beer while you sit in comfortable seats to see a quality movie. The owners are supernice, they remembered my name, even on the telephone after not having spoken with them for one year! The rooms are clean, with clean sheets and towels, just do not expect it to be new because it is really old stuff in room 123 (the other rooms are new) and that is exactly what i love about it! My sis and i felt like coming back in the fifties in this doubleroom in the right corner of the lot. And i was proud to show her and her husband around, feeling like coming home. Next time we stay in Livermore we will book again at America's Best Value Inn. In fact we liked it so much that while underway to Phoenix we again stayed in America's Best Value Inn in Blythe this time and again we had a superexperience, also with really nice -Indian- staff!

Room Tip: If you are with more people and like to feel you have your own studio with possibility to cook than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariska129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Mariska, wish we could do more for you and your family. your warm words warmed our hearts during these cold winter days, but days are warm now, just need to pray for rain and rain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We actually prefer well-kept small motels over the big commercial jobs, so when visiting family we selected this one (we have had good experiences with other America's Best Value Motels). The only good we can say is that the management was friendly. But....
We booked on-line. After one night we decided this wasn't for us. We were told they wouldn't refund the next 3 nights, so we decided to muddle through despite the mildew, shower problems, light malfunction, etc. The next night, my wife had numerous bites that appeared to be bedbug bites, (according to pictures of bedbug bites on the Internet). I also had several bites. At this point we decided to move and give up the money. When I mentioned the critters, the manager suddenly refunded our next 2 nights, but I had no impression that anything would be done. Fortunately there was laundry on site so we immediately washed all our clothes. We hope we didn't carry any critters home with us.
We feel bad about writing this, but it needs to be said.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ArgosWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
we are extremely sorry. this is not what we expected too, cause we do go all out to make sure rooms are clean and free of any insects and bugs. many guests have stayed before and after in that room but have not heard of any similar problem. sorry once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I lived near downtown Livermore for fifteen years and never took a second look at this place, until we needed a place to stay for one night recently. It is the only hotel located downtown so you have walking access (especially nice after long drives) to restaurants, brewpubs, movie theaters, etc. Starbucks, Noah's bagels, and a drugstore across the street are especially handy in the morning. I was surprised with the quality of decor, cleanliness, and comfort in the room, including a complimentary snack and water. (The shower stall was the only indication of the hotel's age.) The management is very friendly and accomodating. When we returned from dinner that night, parking lot was full but night was very quiet. I would stay here again just for the location but at the price it's a great value too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotters113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeshah, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
thank you for taking a second look :) and choosing our motel. this is Thanksgiving week so I would like to sincerely (not from the outside, but inside -:)) thank you once again, and when you do come again, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livermore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Livermore Wine Country
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Livermore
Hampton Inn Livermore
#1 of 16 in Livermore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Livermore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Livermore - Airway Blvd.
5.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Livermore
La Quinta Inn Livermore
#5 of 16 in Livermore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1421 1st St, Livermore, CA 94550-4203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Livermore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Livermore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing