We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of the Inn at Locke House”
Review of Inn at Locke House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Locke House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lockeford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here last week and were delighted with the charm and comfort of this historic inn. The owners were friendly, the roooms comfy and extremely clean. The private bathroom actually had a heated floor! We loved the place. It is close to all the wineries in the Lodi area. I highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an in-room bath, if available. Our bath was just ours but down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Ah, so glad you appreciated the heated bathroom floors. It's so nice to experience that in the winter We appreciate you taking time to post a review. We look forward to your return to try one of the rooms iwth an ensuite bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

We purchased a deal for the Inn at Locke House through LivingSocial and were really excited beforehand. Upon making our reservation the inn owner told us we needed to pay an extra $180 to use the massage part of the deal...huh!? After explaining the situation to her she still insisted we needed to pay the $180, which is not how LivingSocial deals work. Stay away from any deals offered for this place.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelin_dan_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

We are sorry there was a misunderstanding. The offer stated "use your $100 certificate toward the healthful benefits of an indulgent wine scrub and couples massage". It does not specifically say it covers it in full anywhere in the deal description. This 90 minute wine and grape seed oil spa treatment was developed especially for the Wine Country Escape offer. Please check our website for our inn specials. We hope you find one that you like and that will afford us the pleasure of welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Inn at Locke House is a charming old building decorated with Victorian furniture and common areas that sprawl the main floor of the house. There is a lovely garden off the breakfast room that was beautiful to overlook while eating. The rooms were a nice size with a great mattress and large bathroom.
The real gem of the Inn at Locke House are the wonderful hosts. I really cannot say enough about Lani and Richard. It was like staying with a family friend, not a host. They are warm and engaging. Lani's cooking is incredible - she made cherry scones from scratch and an amazing breakfast souffle. We ate so much at breakfast that we skipped lunch one of the days! They also made sure that every need was met, offered helpful advice on directions and restaurants, and even called a winery that wasn't officially open so we experience something different!
After we got home, we were delighted to receive a followup email thanking us for staying with them and expressing how much they enjoyed talking with us and that we would visit them next time we are in California.
I would strongly recommend the Inn at Locke House - best B&B experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayhew58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I'm always adding things to do in the area to share with our guests. And with all these wonderful wineries opening and holding events, the list gets longer. When you venture from the "old west" to the "new west" again, we look to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We chose this hotel as a romantic getaway from the kids and it did not disappoint. I have been to many b&bs in my lifetime but the breakfast in this place was out of this world.The Lady who runs this place is like a gourmet chef. The rooms were clean and comfortable, no tv tho so don't look for one! Walking distance to some amazing wine tasting rooms. Hiking is great around there.They make you very welcome, you will enjoy your time here.

Room Tip: We had the tower room - very nice with a view of the Sierra mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivnoaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you again to try some of our new breakfast menu entrees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

If a relaxed stay is what you are looking for, the Inn at Locke House is the place. There are many spots to sit and enjoy a beverage inside and out. Lani's food, especially her baked goods, are spectacular. The rooms are spacious, quiet and comfortable.

The history of the house and the town is very interesting, and the connection of the innkeepers to the Locke family surprising.

We highly recommend the Inn at Locke House!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

It is so nice when our guests take that extra time to relax on the patio and the gardens. Many guests tell us they enjoy exploring the country gardens looking for old heirloom plants and discovering varieties that are new to them. One of my favorite things to do is to sit outside early in the morning with my first cup of coffee and watch the birds swoop in to feed on the flowers or at bird feeders. Thank you for staying and posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed for one night in early September as part of a longer California trip. We booked the Water Tower Suite which was just fabulous! Spotlessly clean; great use of space; the most comfortable bed that we had on our trip. The breakfast was proper home cooking and of a very high standard. Good proximity for exploring Lodi wine country. We would definitely recommend this Inn for short and long stays.

Room Tip: Pamper yoru self with the Water tower suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avatarsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

We are so glad you had a great rest and enjoyed the area. There is a lot to explore in the area in addition to Lodi wine tasting. It's been a good year for kayaking on the Mokelumne and hiking at Big Trees. We hope you'll try a different experience when you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were attending a function in Stockton - and wanted to find a boutique hotel or a BnB in the area - and were lucky enough to find The Inn and Locke House. Our room was well-appointed and quiet (the air-conditioner was a little noisy, but the fan was silent!), the breakfast was out of this world, and the hospitality terrific. We'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

We like being close enough to Stockton to enjoy the treasures of that port city. The Haggin Museum is a jewel with a fantastic collection and fascinating special exhibits. University of the Pacific brings lecturers and musicians - especially during the Brubeck Jazz Festival - almost to our doorstep. We hope you won't need another high school reunion to return "home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inn at Locke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Locke House

Address: 19960 Elliott Rd, P. O. Box 1510, Lockeford, CA 95237-9438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lockeford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lockeford
Price Range: £110 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Locke House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning restored historic farmhouse offering the charm and nostalgia of Gold Rush era California with the amenities of the 21st century. Each uniquely decorated guest accommodation has private bathroom, great views, and luxury amenities. Full breakfast, made with local, organic products, is served in the sunny carriageway dining room or in the garden, weather permitting. Complimentary inn-made confections and beverages available all day for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Locke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing