We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
Review of Inn at Locke House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Locke House
Ranked #1 of 1 Lockeford B&B and Inns
Vacaville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had an incredibly relaxing two night stay at the Inn at the beautiful and charming Locke House. We were greeted with chilled champagne in our room when we arrived, the bed was huge and luxurious, and even though it was a sweltering hot weekend (100+ degrees), the room stayed comfortable and cool thanks to a portable AC and ceiling fan. We had such a fun time exploring the local wineries (Lani had great suggestions for wineries to visit!) and also spent time in downtown Lodi. Cheese Central is a must-visit! Lani's breakfasts were incredibly delicious and we kept sneaking snickerdoodles out of the goodie jar because they were far too yummy to resist!
10/10, we'd love to visit and stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. It amazes us how many interesting things there are to experience in this area - so close to the inn! Downtown Lodi is fun - great restaurants, wine bars and opportunities to enjoy an eclectic assortment of bands. We would be delighted to welcome you again - think about a getaway in the fall for different experiences and naturally cool weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
63
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a wonderful two-night stay at this lovely historic inn, meticulously restored by Lani and Richard. Be sure to read the inn's history that Lani has written and placed in each room. As passionate birders, the first thing we noticed on our arrival was the roughly 2 dozen hummingbirds swarming at the feeders--we decided that alone was worth the stay. Lani's breakfasts were 5-star meals and included sausage from the local maker--a definite plus. We were not there as wine aficionados, but the other guests were, and all seemed to be happy with the local wineries. Kudos to this couple for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durrae j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review. It was such a pleasure appreciating those hummingbirds through your experienced eyes! How nice that you were able to see the magpies on your way home! We do look forward to welcoming you again in the next great "birding" cycle. Till then we'll think of you two gracious guests as we fill the bird feeders!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topanga, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I have traveled all over the world staying at B&B. Inn at Locke House is at the top of our list. Can't wait to go back. We stayed in the Water Tower Suite. Food and overall service is 6*. Enjoy

Room Tip: My only suggestion is they add a small frig toi the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Water Tower Suite. Although there is a guest fridge in the carriage way, the suggestion of a mini-fridge in the suite is a great idea. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The owners of Inn at Locke House add to the charm and ambiance of the inn - they are attentative, engage in conversation but not overbearing, just about the entire house is open to their guests, freshly baked goodies and an assortment of coffee/tea were available all during the day and they've supplied magazines, books, fluffy robes, games and fruit from the trees in their yard - it's a lovely place to base from if you are exploring the wine country of Lodi, just passing through or looking for a romantic weekend get away.

Room Tip: Don't shy away from the bedroom with the bathroom down the hall, it's the biggest bedroom, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We're so glad you made yourselves at home in the inn. The room you selected has great views of the front and the bluff gardens. Do try another season here - flowers are coming into bloom now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Inn at Locke House was just wonderful in December - warm and cozy. It was husband's first stay at a B&B - I think I have him hooked. The bathrooms are nice & modern and the rooms are cozy & antique. The bed was extremely comfortable - didn't want to get out of bed. And the hosts were very friendly and gracious. Would love to see this place in the Spring! All of the Lodi wineries are very close as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlw6486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying the tea and cookies! From the breakfast room windows, we've been watching the birds skittering across the icy birdbaths and scouting for seeds while we sip hot chocolate. Do return to experience another season in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I was here for Valentine's of 2013, and boy what a good decision I made. The Inn is beautiful! The garden was really cute and suitable for tea sessions (I spent an afternoon there just to drink tea and eat cookies). The room was just lovely. Really cute and romantic, with fireplace and all. The service was, well, our hosts made me feel extremely welcomed. Lastly, the food made my mouth and tummy super happy.

3 things to point out. On the plus side, this is an awesome deal in my opinion. I spent, if I remember right, about $200/night. If you take in account the good breakfast and the amount of cookies and tea that you can consume (let me see, I spent an hour both mornings drinking tea and eating cookies, and an afternoon doing the same; did I say the garden was cute?; plus, I got a cookie to snack on the way home), its value just blows everything else out of the water.

On the not-so-good side. First, the room is not exactly sound-proof (I can hear people going up and down the stairs T_T) and it does not have bathtub. Secondly, the location is not, you know, prime. It's really quiet, but to get to downtown Lodi is a good 10 mins driving away (I drive slowly), and there was like no restaurants within walking distance :-(.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room have attached bathroom!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
And you should see the spring-blooming gardens! Lately, our guests have been enjoying mini cupcakes with their coffee and tea. We're so glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review. Please do return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

What a great place. The proprieters, Lani and Richard, are wonderful. Breakfast was delicious every morning. The room was spacious and comfortable. Our bathroom was down tne hall, but it was private for our use only. It was modern and clean with a nice big shower. Other rooms have their bathroom attached, but we wanted the bigger room. It was not a hardship. The house is full of history. We really enjoyed our stay and would like to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheGarden, Owner at Inn at Locke House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are so glad that you were pleased and comfortable with your private bathroom outside the room. Our aim was to make that bathroom "worth the walk" in one of our comfy robes. We still discover little bits of history of the house and the town. So come back again and explore some more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockeford
8.6 mi away
Wine & Roses Hotel
Wine & Roses Hotel
#2 of 13 in Lodi
503 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lodi
16.4 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lodi/North Stockton
6.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lodi
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lodi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Locke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Locke House

Property: Inn at Locke House
Address: 19960 Elliott Rd, P. O. Box 1510, Lockeford, CA 95237-9438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lockeford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lockeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Locke House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning restored historic farmhouse offering the charm and nostalgia of Gold Rush era California with the amenities of the 21st century. Each uniquely decorated guest accommodation has private bathroom, great views, and luxury amenities. Full breakfast, made with local, organic products, is served in the sunny carriageway dining room or in the garden, weather permitting. Complimentary inn-made confections and beverages available all day for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Locke House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing