We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bear River Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in the Eureka area, I'd suggest you give this one a try. It's fairly new and the hotel (NOT the casino) is all non-smoking rooms. We were lucky enough to have an Executive Suite with a balcony overlooking the Bear River Valley. Amazing view, great bed, very comfortable room, great room-service breakfast, and a nice restaurant. It would be a great base for exploring this area of the Redwoods. The bell captain was very nice in suggesting a hiking trail area and a nearby county beach where few people go. Great to get off the beaten path for a while.

We stayed two nights and would be happy to stay there again. The pool is small and there is not much for kids to do at the hotel but over all this is a great place. Quiet location (though the gas station across the road has traffic all night.

Not sure of the other rooms but the design of the new marble shower in our room floods the bathroom floor....and no soap/shampoo shelf. No place to put cloth, soap or shampoo except the floor. Sort of odd, I think.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the rooms without a valley view but loved the valley view - which looks all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiserNow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We were glad to hear you had the chance to enjoy the view and the food here. We take pride in our ability to deliver a good room service and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Our bellmen are always eager to anticipate any questions and offer any help they can.

Thank you for mentioning the issue you had with the shower. We are actively working on installing new shower glass for each shower. Unfortunately, the bathroom you were in was a handicapped room and that is why the shower did not have any soap dishes added to it. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused you. We hope to see you again on your next trip up the North Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here in on a trip down the coast. I did not spend a lot of time at this hotel, came in slept and left. The room was very clean and comfortable. The TV worked and had quite a few channels.
And that sums up my stay here. Restaurant had a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond after staying with us. We take a lot of pride in our level of cleanliness and we appreciate you noticing. It is also always nice to hear that another guest enjoyed their breakfast with a view. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Very nice new casino hotel. Good location, great customer service. Greeted at door by manager. Very nice new rooms, beautiful furnishings. Beautiful bathrooms, but as others have noted shower door is very attractive, but not functional. Be sure to put mat on floor to soak up water. Had dinner and breakfast in restaurant. I would probably rate a 7 out of 10. Great view

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

It was very nice to meet you upon your arrival. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. We have taken note of the feedback on the showers and are actively pursuing an update that will fix the issue once and for all. We do offer, upon request, the rubber floor mats that some prefer with an open shower. It was very nice to hear that an experienced traveler like yourself would refer to our customer service as "great". Our staff works very hard to ensure that each guest enjoys their stay as much as possible. I was happy to see that you enjoyed the view in the restaurant, but we would hope that on your next visit we could get a higher score than the 7. We are working very hard on exceeding guest expectations in the restaurant. Thank you for your review, and please stay with us again on your next visit through the North Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here on a golf trip down the coast. We were very pleased with the accommodations, price and service. We weren't particularly interested in partaking of the local ambiance so were happy to have this as an option. As this is a very new hotel, rooms were clean and spacious. We had dinner and breakfast in the dining room.. dinner just o.k. .. breakfast very good. Casino is small and comfortable.Be sure to get a room away from the ocean view.. too noisy.

Room Tip: Ocean view isn't a good option as it is over the gas station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We wanted to take the time to thank you for your review of your stay with us. It was very nice to see that you found our service and value met your expectations. We certainly aim to meet or exceed those for each guest on each visit. It was great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast, we only wish that you would have enjoyed dinner as much. We would hope that you would stay with us on your next golf trip and give our dinner selection another chance. We are confident that the new chef and his team can do whatever is necessary to ensure that you enjoy your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

stayed there one night on my way south, unfortunately my navigation system had some troubles finding the location (although close to the Highway) but besides that no complaints; check-in fast, staff was friendly, rooms were very modern, clean & spacious, soaps and lotions of good quality, overall a hotel room that could be compared to a hotel in Vegas. The Restaurants areok but not more, the Casino has a nice variety of slots and table games and even a small Poker Room. Overall, definitely worth the visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 333CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. We were very happy to hear that the rooms, the staff, and the cleanliness met the expectations that you would have in a nice hotel in Las Vegas. We aim to meet or exceed those expectations with each guest on each stay. It was also very good to hear that you enjoyed the selection of table games and slots. We are very confident that we have the best selection of slots and table games on the North Coast. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Very friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms. The first night we stayed in a standard room, which was very comfortable and the second night we stayed in the executive suite which was very spacious with two bathrooms. The hotel is a little over one year old so everything is still in very good condition; the brunch on Sunday at the restaurant was good, but the next day we had breakfast and we wished we had gone someplace else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We were very happy to see that you enjoyed the friendliness of the staff as well as the clean and spacious rooms. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the Sunday brunch, but I was very sorry to see that you did not thoroughly enjoy your breakfast the following day. We only hope that you would be willing to give us another chance. We are confident we can fix wherever it is that we may have fallen short.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was the second night of a 10 night trip. We arrived after a very long day of driving. The lobby was terribly smokey - they really need to have better separation between the lobby and the casino - there was just a sliding door. The hotel and lobby were very nice looking. We have stayed at other tribal casino/resorts before and this one was just ok. We don't gamble, but stay for the "resort" side. Parking on a Friday night was insane. The lot was completely full. We found a spot quite a walk away from the lobby. The room itself was very nice and large and no smoke smell. There was a desk with mirror next to one of the beds - perfect for doing hair and makeup in the morning. The bathroom was large with a walk-in shower. I was rudely awakened about 2am to our neighbors who obviously were having a good time laughing and talking VERY loudly in the hallway and in their room. I'm pretty sure the hotel was full. We had breakfast in the restaurant which was very good and fast. I don't expect to stay in the area again, but if I did and if the smoke problem is fixed then I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontanaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is good to know that the room met your expectations. We do have free valet under the hotel porte cochere and we also have hotel parking the garage underneath the first floor. We have installed better signage in order to direct guests to the location the are looking for. We have also installed an air curtain along with the automatic sliding door in order to alleviate some of the smoke issues. Thank you for staying with us and we would certainly hope that you consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loleta
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.5 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
162 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
12.5 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Casino Resort

Address: 11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551-9684 (Formerly Bear River Casino Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Loleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Price Range: £92 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear River Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Eureka, CA, Bear River Casino Resort offers you a special way to enjoy entertainment, relaxation and recreation. Celebrate with gaming, rewards, dining and regional exploration – all close to beautiful Humboldt Bay! Our location by the bay also gives you access to great boating, sailing and fishing. Humboldt County features lots of seasonal fairs and festivals too. Even the weather here is ideal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bear River Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing