We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear River Casino and Hotel, Loleta, ca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bear River Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Went on a little motorcycle ride with three other buddies and one did recommend the Bear River Hotel. Brand new and the rooms at the hotel were good and no smoking throughout the hotel. We had a good dinner in the restaurant and the woman bar tender was very attentive and nice. The casino was extremely smokey and my favorite game of roulette was done with playing cards instead of the bouncing ball and spinning wheel.The smoke and the phoney wheel forced me out, also while gaming there are no comp drinks. It is nice to have a covered garage to use, and do not let them put you in an East side room, because the delivery and garbage trucks will wake you early. The West rooms face the Bay and Ferndale. Those are OK. The $71.00 rooms advertised ended up costing me $98.00, so beware of that. Would I go back?, probably not.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our property. It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed the room and the restaurant. For better or worse, all table games in California must use cards. We are confident that we have the very best options when it comes to craps and roulette in all of California. We would hope you would consider staying with us again on your next trip up on the Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We found the hotel to be quite nice and very reasonably priced. Upon check-in, I asked if the Internet rate I had was the lowest available rate and was told that I could have the same rate plus a $30 restaurant food credit, a nice touch, I thought. The restaurant offers a varied menu; the portions are large and the meals are nicely prepared and presented. There is a range of prices and menu selections that should fit most tastes and budgets. We found the hotel and dining room staff to be pleasant and helpful. The only slightly negative points I would make about the accommodations are 1.) we found the shower floor to be extremely slippery. Be careful! And 2.) It is impossible to close the room doors quietly from the outside. This can impact sleep quality.

The casino is small, but adequate, but it could use a larger non-smoking area.

Still and all, we would not hesitate to return or to recommend this hotel/casino.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room with an ocean view (as much to avoid the potential for parking lot noise as for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We were very happy to see you enjoyed all of the facets of the property. It was especially nice to see that you took the time to enjoy the restaurant. I appreciate you taking the time to write about the shower issue and I wanted you to know that we are in the process of rectifying the issue. We thank you for recommending us to your friends and we hope to see you again as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Casino/Hotel was a perfect place to stay with family. The staff was top notch and attended to any concern/request we made. The rooms were super clean, pool/hot tub was good, and easy to get to from 101.

We primarily used this as home base for a visit to the nearby redwoods.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

It is great to know that you found us as a base during your visit to the Redwoods. We are always happy to have families as our guests. We appreciate your mentioning our top notch staff. We are very proud of them and they take a lot of pride in what they do. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Redwoods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here one night on our way down the coast. It is a very new place. The rooms are nice and do not smell like smoke. The restaurant was pretty decent. There is also an adjacent gas station but other than that we felt like there wasn't much around. I would recommend staying in Eureka which isn't very far. There is garage parking for hotel guests only. When we first came in, a friendly guy showed us where everything was. Overall it was a nice stay but I just felt a bit strange staying in a casino when I wasn't there to gamble.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itzatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We were very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we are only a few minutes from Eureka, we actually believe we have an advantage with our location. We are closer to the village of Ferndale and the Avenue of the Giants where the Redwoods live. I hope you consider staying with us again. We appreciate your review and we loved having you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My sister and I stayed here on our way to Salem Or and we just loved it. The rooms are big and well decorated. The casino was just the right size and the restaurant very nice. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We will stay here again and tell our friends about it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themaxsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for your nice post about our hotel and casino. We take a lot of pride in what we do here and we believe we do it as well as anyone. It is great to know that you noticed the friendliness of our staff and we are happy to hear that you will recommend us to any of your friends heading up the coast. We would be very happy to have them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

First time staying here. On our way north to Crescent City, staff friendly and helpful. As a previous review states ask for the 4th floor. Was very quiet when the heater was not running. Very nice King room, but when the heater came on (all night) it had a loud whining rattle when heating. Fan being on all the time was great either. Casino very friendly, signup for the players card and get $10 to play with (very smokey very limited non-smoking area). The dining room was nice, wife had the shrimp, good but not great. I made the mistake of ordering the Veal Picata. TOUGHEST piece of meat I've had in 20 years. Didn't sleep real well. Won't bother to stop here again. Some rather interesting people hang around this place.

Room Tip: Don't spend the extra for the Ocean View Rooms, the ocean is just a bright spot on the horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We were happy to see that you appreciate the spacious rooms. Sorry to hear that the heater was making too much noise. We would have been happy to fix the issue during your stay. We are very sorry to hear it kept you from enjoying a night's rest. It is very unfortunate that your veal did not live up to our expectations or yours. We would certainly not have expected you to pay for a meal that you did not enjoy. We hope that you would try us again. I am confident that we can exceed your expectations and correct any issues you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed one night driving from SF to Portland. We were pleasantly surprised by the clean, spacious room. We didn't do any gambling, but the bar area near the main lobby was very nice and quiet. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Only downside- We wanted to get food pretty late, and that was a bit of a hassle, but manageable. Overall, I'd stay again and recommend for others.

Room Tip: Our room was super nice, I guess go higher up for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

It is always nice to hear that we surprised someone with our level of cleanliness. We believe that we hold ourselves to the highest standards of cleanliness in the area and it is our goal to impress each and every guest. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our non-smoking bar in the hotel lobby. It is a great place to enjoy a quiet evening with cocktails. Stay with us on your next trip up the coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loleta
4.5 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
21.0 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
160 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Casino Resort

Address: 11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551-9684 (Formerly Bear River Casino Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Loleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Price Range: £97 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear River Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Eureka, CA, Bear River Casino Resort offers you a special way to enjoy entertainment, relaxation and recreation. Celebrate with gaming, rewards, dining and regional exploration – all close to beautiful Humboldt Bay! Our location by the bay also gives you access to great boating, sailing and fishing. Humboldt County features lots of seasonal fairs and festivals too. Even the weather here is ideal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bear River Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing