We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel was Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bear River Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed 1 night after a long day of driving. The room was clean, although it had no view whatsoever. We ate at the restaurant - the service was good and so was the food, although somewhat overpriced. Our room and the restaurant were smoke-free, but the lobby certainly was not. We did not use the casino. I decided to use the workout room in the morning and was pleasantly surprised with machines and weights. Overall, the stay was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AZHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colby K, Marketing Coordinator at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hi AZHeel,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your stay. We're glad to hear that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed the service and food in the restaurant. Our Hotel offers some incredible views so I'm curious to know which room you were in. For next time (we do hope to see you again), let our staff know that you would like the available room with the best view and they'll be happy to accommodate you.
We appreciate you staying with us and for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

Have a great day,

Colby K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We paid extra for the ocean view, and that turned out to be a waste. This hotel is not near the ocean, so the view is kind of a joke. Yes, technically you can see a little bit of water way off in the distance, but it’s not very interesting, and certain not worth any extra money. We got some sort of promotion deal (although I don’t remember how), but it was a little confusing. The room was $104, and with tax and fees it came out to $160. Even after asking about it, I never really did fully understand that.

However, overall we enjoyed our stay. The room and bathroom were great!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim_and_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colby K, Marketing Coordinator at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hi Jim and Barbie,

Thanks for visiting Bear River Casino Hotel and leaving us some feedback about your experience. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. Because of feedback like yours, as part of our website re-design, we are going to be adding a wide range of pictures that will show exactly what view people get when staying with us. For more explanation about the room rate, please feel free to call our Hotel Director, Michael Huckins who would be happy to answer any questions that you have. He can be reached at 707-733-9644 ext. 125

Thanks again for letting us know how we did.

Colby K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Love coming here this is my 5th time in 3 weeks Lol you know what your getting when you come here the rooms are clean the casino is fun even though I haven't won the big one yet and I like the lady at the front desk in the am with the blonde shortish hair she is super friendly. Also love the bear river cafe. I had to ask for the guys name which is Vincent. He is for sure in the right line of work totally a people person always super friendly to everyone makes you feel like your at home. Well off to the casino can't quit till I get the big one! -)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurfettesteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colby K, Marketing Coordinator at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hi Steph,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoy each visit to Bear River Casino Hotel. I have forwarded your kind words to our management team so that they can be shared with all of our employees. Also, you couldn't be more right about Vincent. The guy is amazing and we're lucky to have him on our team.

Thanks again and have a wonderful day,

Colby K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We were on our road trip looking for a place to spend the night with some things to do and this place was recommended to us by a worker where we got gas. We were happy. The room was very, very nice. (We got one of the suites) Also had a nice view. There are some bars and restaurants downstairs and we had a great time with live music drinks. There are some other hotels that were right in town. But they seemed more like retirement homes. Lol This place is a few minutes out of town but if you are looking for a package deal (good rooms, restaurants, bar, gambling) all in one spot without having to drive once you arrive this place will do you well.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brandonolynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colby K, Marketing Coordinator at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

HI Brandon,

We're glad to hear that you had a good time on your recent visit here. We too like the fact that our guests can find comfortable rooms, great food and some of the best live entertainment in the area. We're also the closest Casino/Hotel to the Avenue of the Giants and the Ocean which is nice for our guests who like to get out and see the area a little; time permitting.
Thanks for leaving us some feedback on your experience and we hope to get to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Colby K
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We saw the positing for this place on the roadside and after day of motorcycling we were ready for a nice place and we got it.

The security staff were very friendly directing to the front desk, informing us there were rooms available and then directing us to safe parking for the bike. Not that it appeared that safety was an issue.

The front desk clerk was efficient and helpful giving us the AAA rate even after booking as we had forgot to tell her. The rate was reasonable for the room got- a very clean room with two queen beds.

Only thing there was no bathtub. Just seemed odd in such a nice place though the shower was great.

We lucked out and were there on Tuesday, the night of their prime beef special. The beef was so tender it almost melted in your mouth. The service at the restaurant was wonderful.

Room Tip: You can get an ocean view for a bit more but not sure if it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Goven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colby K, Marketing Coordinator at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Goven,

We appreciate you taking the time leave us some feedback on how we did when you visited. Motorcycling through the North Coast is simply amazing and we're glad you chose to stay with us as part of your trip. I have forwarded your kind words to our management staff to share with our employees. Thanks again for leaving the review and we hope to see you again; maybe this time on a Thursday for our new Pasta Night. :-)

Have a wonderful day,

Colby K
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Staying at Bear River Casino has got me interested in staying at more casinos. The beds are fantastically comfy. The bathrooms have HUGE showers so there is enough room for everyone (including my kids 5 & 3.) The kids really enjoy the pool, which has a great view of Ferndale. It's not a large pool, but the kids enjoy it. We've never been disappointed with the food, but the service can be a bit slow. We don't gamble, so we stay there for the convenience, as it is nicely located between Ferndale, Fortuna and Eureka. I grew up in the area and I find this to be a gem, even if many locals aren't happy about it. They also have competitive pricing as sometimes they are cheaper than chain hotels in Fortuna.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colby K, Marketing Coordinator at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Barbara,

We're thrilled to hear that you had another great experience with us. As someone who grew up in the area, you know how lucky we are to work in such a wonderful location. We take pride in our jobs here and are happy that it was reflected in your most recent stay.
We hope to be able to serve you and your family again the next time you come home for trip.

Have a wonderful day,

Colby K
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I decided to drive the 101 and found this lovely resort south of Eureka. The hotel is rustic and welcoming and is a smoke-free environment. Our room was large and modern with a beautiful shower. The indoor pool and spa were welcoming after our long drive. The restaurant is convenient with great food. The employees go above and beyond to help their clients. I will return again when I travel to this area.

Room Tip: Our room was great. All rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2Travelers92308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colby K, Marketing Coordinator at Bear River Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi 2Travelers92308,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we couldn't be more excited about your experience with us! It tells us our continuous effort to be the best Casino/Hotel in the area is working. I have forwarded your feedback to our management staff to be shared with our employees. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you on your next trip through beautiful Humboldt County.

Sincerely,

Colby K.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loleta
4.5 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
21.0 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
160 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Redwood Country
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear River Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Casino Resort

Address: 11 Bear Paws Way, Loleta, CA 95551-9684 (Formerly Bear River Casino Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Loleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loleta
Price Range: £97 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear River Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Eureka, CA, Bear River Casino Resort offers you a special way to enjoy entertainment, relaxation and recreation. Celebrate with gaming, rewards, dining and regional exploration – all close to beautiful Humboldt Bay! Our location by the bay also gives you access to great boating, sailing and fishing. Humboldt County features lots of seasonal fairs and festivals too. Even the weather here is ideal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bear River Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing