We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Shepherd's Hut” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harford Bridge Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peter Tavy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harford Bridge Park
Certificate of Excellence
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved the Shepherd's Hut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the She[herd's Hut. It has a comfortable bed, toaster and kettle, plus underfloor heating and a wood burning stove. It could perhaps be slightly closer to the shower block but that didn't put us off. It's a cosy, romantic, spot right on the edge of Dartmoor and an excellent starting point for walking on the moor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Harford Bridge Park, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review - we are really pleased you liked our unique Shepherd's Hut and that it provided comfort, cleanliness and quality.

Other guests have told us the Hut is a little way from the toilets and we intend to shorten the trip to these facilities by trying an alternative summer location in 2014. Our camping area is large and the National Park's quite reasonable building controls makes it not easy to provide camping amenities close to all pitches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    14
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a one night stay here and found the site to be clean toilet/shower block warm clean well looked after. The assistant managers were very friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble. The ducks were a delight to see the walks lovely. Looking forward to going back soon for a longer stay. Very good value for money ideal as a base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall. UK.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Beautiful spot. Plenty of flat pitches for tents. Hook-up available on some pitches. Shower block well maintained with plenty of hot water although we were there near the end of the season on a quiet weekend. Too busy walking the moors to sample the entertainment facilities such as the tennis courts, TV and games room etc.

This is an ideal location for getting up into Dartmoor as it is located on the edge of the National Park. Also not far from Tavistock (apparently a 45min walk) and a nice walk to a local pub for a meal!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OldKernowLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very poor service from a park that had such good reviews left us very very disappointed. We would not book again and will be highlighting their poor customer care to all our friends and colleagues. We would have loved the opportunity to stay for our booked night but it seems money comes before customer welfare. Not even an offer of
credit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robthereddevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Harford Bridge Park, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We did e-mail you directly within 48 hours of posting the review to enquire further on the specifics of your issue, but have not yet received further information at the time of this response.

If you wish to contact us we would still like to hear from about how we might provide better customer service.

What we offer for camping and touring is dependent on the weather and this can greatly affect the guest experience. Our terms and conditions exclude refunds for cancellations due to bad weather, which we think is normal for camping and touring parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a lovely stay in a tent at Harford Bridge. Plus points, close to a river so the white noise stops other people's noise from reaching you. We used an optional electric hook-up for the first time ever which worked well and it had water just for us too. facilities good for washing up indoors or outside, showers OK and lots of things that a family would need like washing machine, tumble dryer, freezer for freezing your ice blocks, iron etc. Facilities spotlessly clean. Despite being fairly full it didn't feel overcrowded, with big plots. Amazing location for car and foot access to Dartmoor, Tavistock and a short drive to the Tamar valley (canoeing from Cotehele was wonderful). Friendly and knowledgeable staff and a well-established site for glampers, caravaners, campers and first-timers.
Downsides for us: no adult-only areas, so it was hectic with noisy kids and dogs, despite quite a high proportion of childless parties staying there. Only one loo/shower block on a massive site, so long walk to both. Shower block needs a self-closing door as the cold draught was chilly in summer so can only imagine how cold the rest of the year would be. River only visible from selected plots and most were quite cold and shady for camping. There is an information room, but the most useful info was kept in reception so we missed a lot of it. You have to pay for your own ping-pong ball and bats. There is no sign-up sheet to use the tennis courts and therefore you'll be lucky to get a look-in if its full of kids. These negatives are simply constructive points for the owners/campers choosing a plot but we would definitely go back and highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busyquizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We took our caravan to this wonderful site for a week.The staff were kind helpful and informative both about the site and local area. Toilets and washing up facilities spotless. Plenty of hot water. Pitches flat good size and whole site well maintained.Would go there again the kids had a fabulous time and so did we.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Visited this site over the August Bank Holiday, it is excellent. The site is relatively quiet as there is no bar so bring your own, this absolutely suited us. The site is flat and there is plenty of shelter which also provides additional privacy. The ablutions are clean and well maintained with plenty of hot water. The site also lends itself to hiking on Dartmoor, my son and I left the site at 0840, we walked to several Tors then hiked down to Fogintor and around the back of Princetown, arrived at 1220 in time for Sunday Lunch in the Plume of Feathers. We are already planning our next stay and wish we had been able to stay for longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Tavy
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.2 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harford Bridge Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harford Bridge Park

Property: Harford Bridge Park
Address: Tavistock, Peter Tavy, Dartmoor National Park PL19 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Peter Tavy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Peter Tavy
Hotel Class:4 star — Harford Bridge Park 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning, 4 Star beautiful independently run holiday park set in Dartmoor National Park with delightful views of the moor. The River Tavy forms a boundary offering riverside camping and other level spacious pitches. The Park is just 2.5 Miles from the historic market town of Tavistock linked by the recently completed National Cycle Route 27. There's a choice of accommodation waiting for you at Harford Bridge Park including:- 120 pitches available for riverside camping, touring caravans, motor homes, trailer tents and tents. Self-catering caravans. Holiday Cottage. Holiday Lodges Shepherd's Hut Unmetered hot water for bathing, showers and washing-up- Hard tennis court- Children's enclosed play area- Indoor table tennis and table football (no slot machines)- Tourist information room with colour Freeview TV, general reading and reference books- Recreation Green for football and other ball games. A plentiful supply of picnic tables. Dog exercise area. Self-catering accommodation available all year. Camping & touring from 14 March to 15 November. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing