We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local coffee shop”
Review of American Host

American Host
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Lompoc
Restaurant details
vandenberg village, ca
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice local coffee shop”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hard to find location but good food. Service is between average and good depending on how busy they are. Pretty normal breakfast menu with good size portions and reasonable prices. Everything was prepared as ordered and good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billkathy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I've been here quite a few times. I come every weekend with friends or family and am very rarely disappointed. The staff is friendly, they fix any problems quickly, and the food is amazing. As for being a picky eater, I absolutely love their chicken fried steak, their biscuits and gravy, their soups and the banana/caramel waffles are just great. And they get better every time it seems. I reccomend American Host to anyone wanting a great breakfast for reasonable prices!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayla g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average food Below Average Service”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The first visit was ok, nothing to rave about. The Waffles were good, just good. The coffee was tepid. The second visit was just awful. We must have been in stealth mode because we sat there for well over five minutes and NO SERVICE. One of the waitresses just gave surly stares over her glasses at us. We got up, went and told the hostess that we were leaving due to the fact that not one server bothered with us. She just said, " oh, I am sorry". Well that sealed the deal to never darken the door of that place again. Customer service is obviously not regarded too highly at this establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KDD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Legend”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have always heard of the American Host and decided to go try it out..My family and I were welcomed as if we have been there a zillion times! It was great food! The wait was a little long but that is when you know it has to be GREAT! and I am glad we waitied....Perfect place and the owner Dennis was so nice to us! Thank you American Host!! WE WILL BE BACK FOR SURE!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

A real greasy spoon place. Friendly people but not the cleanest place in the world. However, if you are going for quantity rather than quality this is the place for you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EvelynOfBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Host also viewed

 

Been to American Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing