We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good rooms, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O'Cairns Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lompoc
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good rooms, great service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we had two rooms, one with a king bed and one with 2 queen beds, both rooms were clean, the hotel offers basic toiletries if you need any (we forgot toothpaste and were able to get it). the staff was very good, breakfast was good, would live there again if in the area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yash g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCISManager, Manager at O'Cairns Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are so pleased you had such a satisfactory stay with us! We invite you back to stay with us anytime. Make sure to take advantage of our complimentary ice-cream, located in the lobby 24 hours a day! Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    111
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
103
147
16
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I am truly sorry to have to write a negative review, because the staff - down to the last one - could not have been nicer or more accomodating. But the hotel itself is awful, and I wish someone had warned me.

The rooms are large but very badly laid out. There is a lot of wasted space where you first walk in, and then the bed, fridge, microwave, TV, vanity area and bathroom all share the "back" half of the room. Other than the linens, I don't think anything has been updated since the 1980's. The mattress was lumpy and the pillows were mushy. What's worse, the room was really dirty. In fact it was hard to distinguish between what was dirty and what was merely dilapidated.

I did not sit in the recliner chair because there were dried stains visible on it. The sink and vanity area were filthy. The bathroom was so tiny you could barely get in and out of it. The bath towels were gray and ropey, like old gym towels. The carpet was a dark color but I could still make out even darker stains all over it; I did not want to walk around the room barefoot, and kept my flip- flops on the whole time.

The weird thing is that the hotel has lots of great amenities. I suspect the business model was to forego room repairs and upgrades and instead throw in lots of freebies to distract you. For instance every room has a DVD player and there is a 2,000 DVD library at the front desk. They also have free drinks and snacks in the lobby, a free Happy Hour, and a decent free breakfast. But again, they are clearly provide these things at the expense keeping the rooms in good condition, and I would rather have a clean, comfortable room.

Another point worth mentioning: the hotel - really a motel - is separated into two buildings with two floors of drive-up rooms. In building 2 you get to the second floor from a sketchy, secluded outdoor stairwell, which seemed unsafe in the dark. Also, on the second floor you can hear people all night walking along the parapet.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shell202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCISManager, Manager at O'Cairns Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I am so sorry you had a bad time staying at our hotel. We try to update and upgrade our rooms as much as we can while keeping our prices in the competitive market we have in Lompoc. I wish you would call the hotel directly (805) 735-7731, or email me at danicabarrick@yahoo.com and tell us which room you stayed in. We would like to see what we need to do to make this room better, as we take these types of complaints very serious. We do our best to keep updated pillow top mattresses and recliners in all our rooms, along with our very high cleanliness standards. Being that we are a military town, we receive annual military health inspections, which we just had recently, so we need to know how this room slipped through the cracks. Please understand that we take this poor review very seriously and deeply apologize for your bad experience. We appreciate your kind words about our staff; we are very proud to have such an amazing group of people working for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in late March, was away since then and just now catching up on some reviews. I usually stay at Embassy Suites here when I visit the AF base (great hotel) but based on the reviews decided to try this hotel. I was not impressed, the room was dreary, seems past it's renovation due date, the included afternoon happy hour consisted of some peanuts, the advertised breakfast was very weak and the parking lot had pine trees all around where pine cones could fall and cause serious damage to the parked cars. Numerous pine cones were on the ground. The staff at reception was very friendly, so they get a high rating.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCISManager, Manager at O'Cairns Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are very sorry that your room was subpar. We receive excellent feedback from almost all guests about how comfortable our beds are and how much people love our large refrigerators! As for our Happy Hour, I am sorry that the peanuts and pretzels w/ mustard did not suffice, and I apologize that it was not what you were used to at other Lompoc hotels, but given our room rates, we offer as much as we can, including the complimentary ice-cream, sodas, bottled water, up to date new DVD rentals (HD DVD players in each room!), laundry machines and detergents, and passes to the local YMCA gym. Not to mention the multitude of local beers we have on tap, the several kinds of wine we serve and the quality well spirits we serve. I also apologize for the pine needles and pine-cones that you saw in the parking lot. We try to keep up with the cones and needles, but with the Lompoc winds, sometimes this proves to be very difficult. We had every pine tree trimmed 6 months ago, and the City of Lompoc will not allow us to cut them down completely, according to Arbor laws. We really are sorry you were not impressed with our hotel, and ask you to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for many years, but now things have suddenly changed for the worse. Not sure how many times they touted the "upscale" breakfast during check-in. It is nothing more than an ordinary continental breakfast. They don't even have a waffle machine for Pete's sake! No hot food at all. While I was eating a dried up pastry and cold cereal, the prisoners in the Federal Lompoc pokey 5 miles away were having bacon and eggs. Their "upscale" breakfast is a "downgrade" from what they used to have. Shame, shame.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel and have a hot breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCISManager, Manager at O'Cairns Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not a positive experience. We appreciate your continued loyalty and are regretful that you did not enjoy our new breakfast. We have actually received some very positive feedback about our new breakfast, but realize that it is very different from our previous cooked-to-order breakfast. I really hope you took advantage of all of our other stellar amenities and extras. Did you visit Happy Hour and take advantage of the local beers on draft? I really hope you did! Please remember we also have complimentary laundry machines and detergents, water, soda, coffee, granola bars, fruit and ICE-CREAM in the lobby, up to date DVD rentals and HD DVD players in every room, among other awesome extras. We hope we can change your mind about the breakfast, and beg you to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

O'Cairns was a good value for the price. The staff was super friendly. The room we had was clean and well furnished. The hotel offered free sodas, coffee, water, juice, ice cream, DVD movies, snacks, and fruits. The hotel also provided a good breakfast each morning and we were given complimentary drinks at the bar on Friday. That's the only day they provide a "Happy hour". As long as you don't mind driving 19 miles from Lompoc to Buellton and Solvang, it's worth saving the extra bucks you'd be spending to stay closer to the tourist spots. Los Olivos is only 30 minutes away up the 101 staying at O'cairns in Lompoc was the right choice for us. Dogs are allowed so be prepared to hear a dog if you should be lucky enough to stay next door. Overall it was an excellent place to stay for our getaway weekend.

Room Tip: O'cairns is about 19 miles from Solvang. Lot's of CHP on the roads so be aware! Dogs allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Even after reading the reviews I was a little apprehensive about booking this hotel, but trying to save funds on an economical trip, I took a chance. We were pleasantly surprised to see that this hotel lived up to the reviews. The room was just like what was pictured. Comfortable bed, wide screen tv, all the amenities you would expect in a much more expensive hotel. The free DVDs, free ice cream and sodas, pleasant staff and a good variety continental breakfast made our stay very pleasant. It was a little too cold to use the pool and jacuzzi but nice to know it was there had it warmed up. The happy hour was a nice surprise with free pizza and wings on Wednesdays. Bottom line, if you are looking for a good hotel at a good price you can't go wrong booking O'Cairns Inn and Suites!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hesjim57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a nice surprise! We stopped here for one night based on other TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. So many wonderful extra touches to make a very nice stay. I was expecting a typical roadside one night stay but exceeded my expectations. I would go out of my way to stay here again.

Everyone we interacted with on staff was friendly, helpful and genuinely cared about our experience. From the front desk, to bartender to staff preparing breakfast.

The front desk explained all the amenities we could expect including a large library of DVDs, laundry facilities with detergent supplied and most appreciated after a day of driving... happy hour with complimentary drinks! A continental breakfast was also complimentary in the morning and was definitely well above the average hotel continental breakfast. Very nice selection of fruit.

The bed was very comfortable and there was also a large, comfy recliner. The hotel isn't new and a few items could be upgraded (such as the bathroom area), but cannot beat the value and the service.

Thank you so much for making our stay so nice!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo4029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lompoc
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lompoc Central Coast
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lompoc
1.9 mi away
Lompoc Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
17.6 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
17.6 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Cairns Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Cairns Inn & Suites

Property: O'Cairns Inn & Suites
Address: 940 E Ocean Ave, Lompoc, CA 93436-7019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lompoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lompoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Cairns Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently close to Vandenberg Air Force Base, the Lompoc Wine Ghetto, Surf and Jalama Beaches, and the famous community of Solvang, the O'Cairns Inn & Suites proudly offers a wide array of amenities at comfortably reasonable rates. Our guests enjoy a delicious cook to order breakfast each morning, Monday-Friday 5am-9am & Saturday and Sundays 7am-10:30am, and enjoy complimentary drinks during our Happy Hour, Sun-Thur from 5pm-8pm plus Friday and Saturday from 6pm-10pm. Our rooms are roomy and home-like, and include large flat screen TV's, refrigerators, microwaves, dvd players, pillow top mattresses, full size pillows, and some even have leather recliners. O'Cairns Inn & Suites is a family owned and operated hotel and our goal is to treat our guests like extended family. We are a dog friendly hotel that offers certain allocated rooms for dogs at an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your O'Cairns Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Cairns Hotel Lompoc
o`Cairns Inn And Suites
Best Western Lompoc
Lompoc Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing