We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stopover spot”
Review of Mt. Whitney Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mt. Whitney Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here recently for one night as we were passing through on the 395. Hotel is fine and our room was basic and clean. Exactly what we expected for a small, older motel. Pool is small but pool area was clean and looked inviting. The motel is on the north end of town but still close enough to walk to restaurants, park, stores, etc. The price is a bit high for what you get but that is to be expected for the area during the high season of summer. All in all we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jvz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Mt. Whitney Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed there this past weekend 7/4/14, we were there to enjoy the Whitney trails. There was mold on the shower curtain, the vent in the bathroom did not have a cover, there was not a drain/strainer in the bathroom sink and you could see the debris/residue/waste and gunk and it would come out into the sink while the water was running. There was trash just outside the room by the door and under the window, that had clearly been there for weeks and the trash can had not been emptied so it was overflowing. The bed was old and uncomfortable and the pillows thin and not supportive. I had trouble sleeping throughout the night and my allergies started to bother me in the night, probably due to dust in the room. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katpebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stopped here on our way home from Yosemite, and it was the first motel in a series along the strip. For $88 we got a $45 room at best. The room was dirty: tub surround had mold growing on the grout. There were only 5 tissues in the tissue box with no spares, no ice machine on the property, the bed was hard as were the pillows. The upholstery on the chair had fresh stains. The woman at the front desk was rude. I wish we would've shopped down the street - there is plenty of competition in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan66893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

As a woman traveling solo after leaving Reno I decided to spend the night in Lone Pine. As I had never been there & very tired I stopped at Mt. Whitney Hotel as the sign caught my attention. A lady came out from the back room. I inquired about a single smoking room. She said she had one for $78. I thought that was a good deal. As I went to my room I passed a small empty swimming pool filled with trash. My key wouldn't unlock the door. I went back to the desk & the woman seemed very put out as she went back with me & sort of wiggled the key until the door opened. I wasn't quite comfortable with this as I was traveling alone & not familliar with the area. Upon entering the main light didn't work. The smoke alarm was gone & wires dangled from the ceiling. The room seemed very dark & dirty. I went to the door to leave & the dead bolt was hanging by a thread. I informed the owner that this just wasn't going to work for me. She looked at me like I was crazy & reluctantly back charged my credit card. I drove to the Portal Hotel down the street. It was less expensive; clean and the owners were very helpful. If any hotel needs to call Travel Channels "Hotel Impossible" it should be the Mt. Whitney!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Excellent location, rooms adequate and clean, nice shower and drink facilities just about what you would expect for $50 , guy in charge pleasant enough as was his wife. This is a budget motel that offers competitive rates you will not get 5 star facilities but could you really expect more for your well earned cash. I would recommend.

Room Tip: A/ c. a bit noisy in 16 otherwise totally adequate without being outstanding
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thfccoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

"Welcomed" by a rather unfriendly motel owner who kept looking out the window at my car to see my partner Craig in the drivers seat. It was kind of obvious she disapproved. Regardless, we booked a king size bed and were given a room off the side. The room was large, but not in good shape. Carpets appeared dirty, half of the curtains were pulled and hanging from the track. The shelf in the open closet was collapsing down onto the clothes rod. Additionally, while I'm kind of partial to a firm bed, this one was like sleeping on a rock. I lifted the bottom sheet to make sure they hadn't turned a one sided mattress upside down, which the had not. Whatever, won't stay here again but it was pretty cheap. Though depending on time of year one might want to check around for other options that cost perhaps within 15-20 dollars more for immensely better quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed just one night and had no complaints about anything. We had a room in the rear annex; it was large, with a large flat screen TV that was hung on the wall (Which I like), and well-placed relative to the bed. There was also in room coffee and an icy cold refrigerator, as well as a small microwave, good for reheating leftover pizza. The bed was comfortable and I didn't have to ask for extra pillows-there were four on the bed already. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rear annex is newer I think and further from the main road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LollieMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
882 reviews
24.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Budget Inn & Motel
0.4 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Whitney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Whitney Motel

Address: 305 North Main Street, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range: £90 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mt. Whitney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Whitney Hotel Lone Pine
Mt Whitney Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing