We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel near Death Valley NP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We chose this hotel as a base for our day trip to Death Valley NP. We only expected the usual motel experience but this hotel outperformed all our expectations. First, the hotel front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The lady at the cafeteria served us with such genuine hospitality, her smile made our day. The amazing view of Mount Whitney greets you in the morning from your hotel window. The downtown area is only two minutes drive away. Definitely choose this place if you seek an affordable night's stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankiegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you so very much for your recent stay! We are so glad to hear that your trip to Death Valley began well, and that you chose us as your place to lodge! Please come back and visit us again!

Have a great rest of your 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

On our way to Sequoia National Park, we stayed one night here. The room was very simple. You could see that they vacuum cleaned it, but only through the main path of the room. All along the walls, there was a band of about 4 inches, which might not have ever been cleaned! We stayed on the first floor. We walked in through the inside of the hotel. The room had an extra door to exit to the outside. An interesting outing if you don't have a pet, it was the pet WC, so we kept the window closed and never opened the door! Well, we were worried about opening the door, since the door frame was missing on the inside! Well, it was interesting....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank aakbba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Hello there! We thank you for your recent stay with us! I would like to talk about a few points you brought out in your review!

I assure you that our Housekeeping Attendants vacuum the entire room every time a room has been occupied. The 4 inch band is the baseboard around the room and that is scrubbed on a routine basis as well!

I would like to apologize for the patio door missing the frame. Our Patio/Balcony rooms have currently been renovated with new doors and windows, and the frames are going to be installed soon. While our grassy area does have pets from time to time, we also maintain it to a level for guests without pets to enjoy as well! If you visit Lone Pine again, I encourage you to step out and enjoy the beautiful view of the mountains!

Thank you for your stay, and have a great rest of your 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Good room, good breakfast, excellent staff at the desk (Danny). It was just what we wanted in the heart of Mt. Whitney and Lone Pine. Breakfast buffet had hot items as well as cold. Don't know when Theresgj was there. She missed a good one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIP559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed everything from our Staff to our hearty breakfast!

Have a great rest of your 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We selected this motel as our stop on a trip from Yosemite to Las Vegas.

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. As a bonus, they had complimentary hot beverages (tea,coffee,hot chocolate) in the lobby.

Breakfast buffet was surprisingly large: scrambled eggs, bagels, toast, biscuits, gravy and as a bonus you could make your own waffles.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Haffelpaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your recent stay! It's always wonderful to hear that another guest of ours was pleased with their stay!

Thank you so much and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

When checking in, a warm sincere welcome with a smile from the receptionist certainly sets the tone for the stay. The receptionist's helpfulness, knowledge of the hotel, surrounding area, and willingness to answer questions made us feel good about upgrading our room to a larger room. Our room, when first opened, appeared very clean, well appointed with good towels, and toilet items. A notice indicating the hotel would offer any toilet items for free, if forgotten, was a nice touch. Our room offered a wonderful morning view of the Sierra mountain range.

The next morning, when entering the breakfast room, for the free full breakfast, the room was a bit small, but understandable since the food offerings went beyond what one would normally expect from this hotel class. The numbers of guests seeking the good food offerings made the room small. We were greeted again with a smile and a warm, "good morning", from the attendant, who presented fresh bright apples, large fresh bananas, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, waffles as usual, well stocked bakery items, cold juices, and hot coffee.... Plenty of everything one would want for breakfast.

The internet service came free and fast, there was a complimentary laptop in the lobby for guest use, as well as 24 hour free coffee. The lobby was skillfully decorated for the season and offered a comfortable couch and chairs for guest, who may need to sit while waiting.

We'll continue to stay at this hotel along highway 395, one of the best we've found in all of the towns along this route!

Room Tip: If a larger room is needed, for whatever reason, reserve a double queen room for a small extra amoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you so much for that amazing review! The kind of stay that you encountered is exactly the one we strive for at all times! I am beyond happy that you enjoyed everything that we offered, and look forward to you visiting our property again!

Have a wonderful rest of your 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Good rooms, although they smell heavily of cleaning products. They were in fact clean and comfortable. Lovely view of the mountains on both sides of the property. Complimentary coffee and tea at all times. Breakfast was terrible unless sticky buns and coffee is considered a balanced breakfast. You have to drive into town for dinner, but the motel maintains a book of menus from local restaurants for you to browse through to decide where to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at our property! We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms! I am sorry however to hear that you were not pleased with our breakfast! We offer such a variety of items ranging from waffles to biscuits and gravy; scrambled eggs along with many choices of breads, fruits, yogurts, cereals, and many other delicious items! I hope if you are in town once again, you will stop in and enjoy the many options we offer!

Thank you and have a great rest of your 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The nicest part of our stay was waking up to the beautiful view right outside our door. Overall, a very nice visit in a lovely little town. The typical breakfast served at Choice Hotels always gets a thumbs up for those yummy waffles. However, the breakfast room is way too small for the amount of guests at the property. The hostess in the breakfast room is a delightful young lady who goes out of her way to make everyone comfortable. Did notice the rates seemed a bit steep for this property, although would stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Lots of road noise on rooms facing the parking lot and highway. Maybe not so noisey in 2nd floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cianni m, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn - Lone Pine, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your stay with us! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time at our property! Our Breakfast Attendant is often praised for her outstanding personality as well as her attention to guest needs! That is the attitude that our team embodies...taking care of our guest at all times!

Thank you and have a wonderful rest of the season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.6 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
892 reviews
23.1 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
84 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lone Pine Budget Inn & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Lone Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Lone Pine

Address: 1920 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545-3013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range: £81 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Lone Pine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Lone Pine hotel, a hotel in Lone Pine, CA close to Mt. Whitney and Death Valley. The Comfort Inn® hotel is located at the base of the eastern Sierra Nevada Mountains and close to Mount Whitney. This Lone Pine, CA hotel is near area attractions like Alabama Hills, Diaz Lake and the Manzanar National Historic Site. Lone Pine is the gateway to adventure and perfect for visitors who want to explore some of California's incredible sites. Owens Dry Lake is only 10 miles away. Fishing, water skiing and snow skiing are all located in the area. Death Valley National Park is 105 miles and Yosemite National Park is 125 miles from the hotel. Lake Tahoe, Los Angeles and Las Vegas are less than 250 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn - Lone Pine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing