We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total rip off and bugs in the bathroom very unsanitary conditions.”
Review of Portal Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lone Pine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portal Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A total rip off and bugs in the bathroom very unsanitary conditions.”
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

We were hiking thru on the Pacific Crest Trail we walked into town with blisters an complete exaustion. Knowing it was a holiday weekend we asked if they could accomadate us, they had told us that we could stay for 2 nights but not more becouse the room was reserved. The following morning they told me check out time was 11 And I was shocked to find out that the room was not available his explaination was that he misread his reservation book. His wife quickly interviened and said they did have a different room available for $50.00 more per night. It was clear that they were taking advantage of wiery travelers knowing that we could not drive to a different town and every place in town was full. On top of that the room had a bad odor and there were ants in the bathroom and around the sink as well as some small sort of beetle. They did not provide soap or shampoo and the towels were stained we paid 95.00 for this service. Never again will we stay here.



  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thruhikers2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
21
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is a small, out-of-chain motel. It is very moderately priced and conveniently located. You need to call in for reservations.
It was recently renovated and has everything a tired traveler needs: clean comfortable beds, nice hot showers, fridge, microwave and a wide-screen TV. Room was very clean.
Even if prices are lower than in other motels in the area, it does not feel "budget".
Staff is very friendly.
Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There area about ten room total in this motel, so it does not make a difference. At least one room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photo_traveller_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Arrived in Lone Pine I had a look at several motels and after inquiring a few about their rates I opted for the Portal Motel. I remembered it was related well enough on Tripadvisor. At the check in anything went fine, the room was spacious and it included a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The wireless connection was complimentary. Why then I rate my overall experience as terrible?Because when the moment arrived to pull down the bed linens and go to sleep I discovered several long dark hair and other marks witnessing that the sheets had not been changed after the previous guest's stay.I felt disgusted but since it was about midnight I couldn't change motel anymore. What I found even more upsetting was the arrogance and the lack of respect of an hotelkeeper who , for a little saving, fools and cheats those getting him his living, its guests.

Room Tip: Ask first the keeper if they have changed the bed linens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Can't go wrong with this place. It is clean and great location. Right next to MacDonald. Easy to walk over for breakfast in the morning. Service was great with strong wifi connection. Will stay again next time when we go to Death Valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We check every place in town on prices by driving the short main street. This place was $49, clean inside and out, and had a nice couple checking us in and cleaning the rooms. Great place for an affordable and clean option prior to or after a Death Valley visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olyraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Spent the night here before heading into Death Valley for Thanksgiving. We were pleasantly surprised at the newly remodeled and nicely sized room for $66. Not much traffic noise despite being on the road. Soft sheets and towels. Bed was hard but surprisingly comfortable. Will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We were on our motorcycles and wanted something near restaurants. As we passed this place, I noted how clean it looked. We went to the south end of town and the motels were too far for walking from downtown eateries. We came back to the Portal. The manager gave me a key to pre inspect the room. It was very clean and nice. The beds are very firm. Not how I like it, but I know others do. The motel was very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdogbandit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
671 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
855 reviews
21.6 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
2.9 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
80 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#3 of 3 in Olancha
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal Motel

Property: Portal Motel
Address: U.s 395, Lone Pine, CA
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing