We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Timberline Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timberline Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Reviewed 27 April 2013

There are only 8 units I think in this small motel a block of the main drag in Lone Pine.
When we stayed they were in the midst of refurbishing rooms. We stayed in #6. It was as good as you can get anywhere. Nice paint job, new tiled floor and walls in bathroom and one of the comfiest beds we have ever slept in. For the price this place cant be beat. But it's an older style motel so don't expect a Marriott, it's a classic motel and a good one at that.
Pity they didn't change the doors when they Did the rebuild.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiguelitoyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I was very satisfied with our stay here. We headed up from San Diego to Lake Tahoe and stopped for a night in Lone Pine so we could visit Manzanar in the morning. Lone Pine is just 9 miles south of Manzanar.
Our experience with the hotel was pleasant. The rooms are a decent size, and the beds are large and comfy. There is a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room, and ice around the corner. It was clean and the owner was very nice and accommodating.
It is right off of the main street so it is easy to find, and there are many restaurants and markets to walk to, but you do not hear 395 traffic. We will totally stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BradyBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed at the Timberline Motel this week and were pleasantly surprised. The king size bed was comfortable, the sheets had a nice design and were very nice feeling, the pillows were great too. There was a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker in the room. Bring your own coffee. We will stay here again. Located on E Post it is away from traffic and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank looski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My son and I stayed at this motel onenight in mid-October 2012. The Timberline is a small (8 rooms), older motel (I would guess circa 60's), which has been renovated. Each of our rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and very quiet, although on the smaller side. The owners were friendly and accomodating. My son and I both felt that this was a good place to stay and reasonably priced for the area (at least $40 less expensive than any of the 4-5 other motels we priced in the area for the same time period). Would definitely stay at the Timberline again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed 1 night in September on our way through the Death Valley and to Las Vegas. Clean, adequate, good location for what we needed. Friendly owners. Called when we were running late on the road to check in. Worried about where we were. Small motel - only 8 rooms. Looks like it is family run. Rather expensive considering the location - but not many alternatives. However, again the room was clean and the beds comfortable. Adequate for what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

What's great about this motel was that it wasn't on the main drag of town. Sure the town is small and adorable quaint so you would expect it to be pretty quiet. Fact is, the main street is the through freeway to get to Mammoth and other spots so huge trucks drive through fairly regularly. Since we were getting up at midnight to day hike Mt. Whitney, staying at a hotel away from the noise was great. The place has 8 rooms, basic and very clean. It's got good energy and overall great for what we needed. It's a 2-5 minute walk to just about everywhere in town.

Room Tip: the A/C was a bit noisy depending on the settings so if set higher, it won't go on and off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rizzlediz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel has everything one could wish for: it's extremely clean, quiet, central (one block away from the main road, yet close to everything), reasonably priced, confortable, good AC, fridge, microwave, coffee and wifi. To top it off it is family run and they do a good job helping travelers to figure out what to do next. It would definetly be my first pick if I do ever come back around this region later.

Room Tip: Any, they seem to be all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kriok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
911 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
726 reviews
24.7 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
0.2 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
85 reviews
24.9 mi away
Rustic Oasis Motel
Rustic Oasis Motel
#2 of 3 in Olancha
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Motel

Address: 215 E Post St, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range: £55 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Timberline Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Lone Pine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing