We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dow Villa Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Comfort Inn(Lone Pine)
US$145
US$140
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$134
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timberline Motel(Lone Pine)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveller rating
361
373
120
31
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
373
120
31
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn waynedeath valleyhotel sectionoriginal hotelsmall townalabama hills cafeseasons restaurantplace to stayeastern sierrawestern moviehot tubmain buildingrooms are comfortablegreat stopmount whitneystayed one nightlas vegas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 915 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Much of Lone Pine's tourist trade appears to be hikers or tourists. The Dow seems to do well with a full house on the Monday night we stayed there. Quite expensive for motel, but worth it given location and facilities. It's hot there in August - the historic hotel has piped cooled air, whereas the motel rooms have individual air conditioning units. Book the right bit if that's an issue for you. Good motel fare - comfortable beds! Pool great with 9ft deep end and amazing views of the Mountains. No food as expected. Plenty of chains and independent restaurants within a couple of blocks. Front desk service excellent.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank BristolDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a one night stopover in Lone Pine, on the way from Nevada to Yosemite. Based on TA reviews, we decided to stay at the Dow Villa Motel.

We stayed in a ground floor room, near the pool. The room itself was fine. Quite small, but enough for us (me, my wife and two sons) for a night. The pool was ok too. We arrived in time to explore Lone Pine for a while, which was nice. There are some good shops nearby, if you need to stock up on supplies and hiking gear and, as usual, everyone was very friendly.

Our only problem was actually trying to sleep. The room was incredibly hot but the air conditioning unit was pretty useless, unfortunately. It was probably the oldest A-C unit I've ever seen and was bizarrely placed under the window and behind the curtain. There was only one setting (loud and fierce), resulting in the curtain being blown out into the room, making it possible for people to actually see in, should they be passing. It was so noisy that sleeping with it on was almost impossible, thereby giving a choice of two types of sleepless nights - noisy and cool, or hot and sweaty!

The staff are friendly and helpful, and Dow Villa is really well located. With a bit of investment, it could be a great place to stay. Unfortunately, it's just ok.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent 3 nights are Dow Villa and couldn't be happier. The location is great, close to many restaurants. The pool is so nice after long day of hiking. The front desk service was great, really helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LizMarshall97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for one night prior and one night post our Mt. Whitney hike. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, The rooms were newly redecorated, clean and comfortable. After our first night, I cancelled our reservation at another hotel in order to return to the Dow Villa after our hike. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: There is an Historical hotel and the AAA rated motel. We stayed in the motel. It was very clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jmr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for a night, not knowing quite what to expect. When we made our reservation, we were told that several rooms would have to share a bath and shower. OK, what the heck. We pictured a queue outside the bathroom doom. Didn't happen.

The staff was great and willing to go the extra mile for you.

If you are passing through this cool town, consider staying here for an interesting experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BDAHiFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews