We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for one night and found this to be a homely sort of motel. Very friendly staff and we had a quiet room away from road which was spotless and roomy. Parking right at your door which makes it easy to move luggage. Very good breakfast and the views from our room to the mountains were magnificent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agr54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    706
    211
    35
    23
See reviews for
528
740
129
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights while exploring the local area. This is my first trip to Lone Pine so I haven’t had the opportunity to experience other lodging options in the area. I would however recommend that you consider other options because I wasn’t really impressed with this place.

On the down side, the AC was pretty noisy and the door was not sealed so you could see light all around the door. The night receptionist was pretty clueless regarding their payment polices.

On the up side, it was pretty clean with the exception of some dead bugs and a very large cricket chirping away in the bathroom. Your parking spot is reserved and is very close to your room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land of the Pharoah's
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We had originally booked a single night here, but decided to stay a second night and they were able to accommodate us. The hotel is about half a mile south of Lone Pine, so a leisurely 10 minute walk into town (which we did both evenings). The room (#103) has a 40 inch flat screen TV, fridge, shower/tub, and is right across from pool entrance. Furniture looks mostly new. Breakfast, which is complimentary, is rather extensive (includes eggs, sausage, pancake machine). Be sure to check out their local information section in the lobby because they have some good complimentary handouts for Lone Pine attractions and the Alabama Hills (a schematic if movie filming sites is of particular note). We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel. Some of the lower rankings for this site may be out of date, as the hotel looks like it has been renovated in recent year or two. It may seem pricey, but they were pretty much at capacity both nights. Dedicated parking spots (by room number) are nice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FredoftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Is a stay in Lone Pine. The hotel was very good value; the room very comfortable. I was delighted by the fact a recycle bin was provided. Having stayed in a number of hotels in the past, this was the first time they provided recycling for my newspaper and assorted containers. The hotel provides an easy base for exploring the ghost town of Bodie which is further south on the 395. It is a must see, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for one night coming from on the way from Yosemite to Vegas through Death Valley. Really pleasantly surprised by hotel - pictures of room online didn't make rooms look very appealing but room was actually very modern, clean and spacious. Beautiful surrounding views which could be enjoyed from pool area. Breakfast grand and was included in price. Walked into town centre which was about 10 minutes walk away. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainne_1387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we stopped in Lone Pine at the Best Western Plus Frontier. We had stopped before at this motel but it seemed to have a an upscale and more modern interior. The outside is like an old-fashioned comfy auto court with rooms around the pool and a nice seating area with mountain views. We always bring our dinner in the cooler, using the microwave in the room. Eating outdoors by the rose garden was great. I was told by the desk clerk that now the motel is a "Plus" in the Best Western chain and it had been upgraded. The much better breakfast than offered previously -- in a new breakfast room -- and a very comfortable bed made up for the "Plus" increase in price. A stop in Lone Pine is just about perfect if you are going from Phoenix to Gardnerville, Carson or Reno, Nevada.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This here Best Western sits in a valley with mountains all around you .If you are looking for a relax stop on your way to anywhere, Stop at this place. Has a nice pool and grass area with chairs and tables where you can have your dinner or late snack. Would be sure to stay here again when in area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
849 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
108 reviews
16.6 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Frontier Motel

Property: Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Western Plus Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing