We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reat pace to stay while traveling down 395”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reat pace to stay while traveling down 395”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is so well managed. Travis is the manager's name and he was so helpful and so concerned about the customer. He made our three nights there so pleasant and easy. The rooms are nice and updated, great location and terrific views of the Alabama Hills and the Eastern Sierras. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank sharonj804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    696
    208
    35
    22
See reviews for
521
727
127
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blaton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

For us it was a pause between yosemite and las vegas, not too far from death valley, we enjoyed our stay. The kids were happy with the nice swimming pool after 5h stuck in the car. Room was spacious ans qtaff very friendly. Breakfeast was good with plenty of choice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed in a few Best Westerns now and can only conclude that they have their act much more sorted in the UK and Europe than the U.S. The American ones always seem to flatter to deceive, 'all fur coat and no knickers' as they say. Again the setting is good - opposite Mt. Whitney - and the room was spacious, comfortable and well furnished. There sadly it ended. After a long hot journey what do you need? A relaxing shower or take advantage of the 'whirlpool' bath perhaps. Not here you don't, because by 10.30 p.m. there is no hot water. 'Okay, the hotel is full...try again in the morning', thinks I, but no, no hot water then either. To be fair, having pointed out this failing to the management I was able to 'negotiate' a 20% reduction in the room rate but that's not really the point. The availability of hot water is a basic hotel requirement and coupled with slow wifi and yet another inadequately sized breakfast room I think we'll be avoiding U.S. Best Westerns in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After a long hike on Mt Whitney Trail, it was good to come back to a large room, with a hot shower, a cool A/C, a soft, comfortable bed, and a good breakfast the next morning. Unfortunately the cable TV dd not work.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loomis ca
Level Contributor
435 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Not sure why our opinion is so different from other reviewers. We selected this property based on trip advisor reviews.
First of all, the location is a ways out of town. You must get in your car to get to center of town and restaurants. On our return visit to Lone Pine we stayed at the Dow Villa and much preferred everything about it.
Rooms are small, modest, and clean. Breakfast was OK. We asked to extend our checkoue by 1 hour and were advised it would be an additional $10. Not very flexible in my opinion. Staff were not very welcoming.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My room was very clean and roomy. Mattress and pillows were encased in protective coverings to prevent bed bugs. It was also a quiet property. Parking for large vehicles would be a challenge. Mattress was too hard for me but not a deal breaker. The breakfast was a better quality than I expected; I was pleasantly surprised! Nice little place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The room was comfortable and the breakfast that opened up at 5AM was perfect for getting an early start on a two day hiking trip in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. We stayed in the bigger rooms and the beds seemed to be new. The A/C worked and the shower was decent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
16.6 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Frontier Motel

Property: Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Western Plus Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing