We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“goods starting point for death valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Neunkirchen-Seelscheid, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“goods starting point for death valley”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

hotel is ideal for starting into death valley, located at end of Lone Pine, small pool but sufficient to get a fresh after a hot day (> 100 F), service OK, breakfast dito
made reservation one day upfront

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolpe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    738
    218
    39
    23
See reviews for
557
767
130
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel was clean and quiet but unfortunately they have an issue with crickets! We were visited by 5 at night and they give you quite a fright! According to the front desk the entire town have had an issue with them,Also, the hotel isn't quite in the town, so you can't really walk into town (there is no footpath for some of the way and its 100 degrees) and have some food and drinks. Lone Pine is lovely though and they have a great film museum.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulRoth212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on our USA road-trip. We were driving from Vegas, through Death Valley, up to Yosemite. We'd read this was the best stop to breakup the journey and that was definitely true time/distance wise. But seriously don't be at the motel any longer than needed! It's just a typical dingy American motel. Clean enough and they've clearly tried to spruce up the rooms with newer wooden furniture. Our bed was soft and felt a bit icky. Shower was small and had no light so evening showers were not an option! We enjoyed the hilarious rotating shower head though - really gave it that 'luxury' feel haha! Having seen the dining room we gave the breakfast a miss and headed to the Alabama Hills Cafe at first light next morning and get on the road.

Now...there was a huge dead cricket in the room when we arrived and another meandering scarily close to the bed when we woke up. There was a sign in reception saying it was a 'local problem' due to the weather but we weren't entirely convinced...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImiKof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Easy to find, clean hotel with friendly staff. B-fast was good, lots of choice and food looked fresh and the pool was lovely for the children. Good stop-over on way to death valley. Laundry facility was great too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lushlisa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not the best looking hotel from the outside but room was lovely and large, clean and a lovely comfy bed. Nice pool and reception area. Breakfast a bit mediocre though. Great location for a visit to Death Valley. Town a bit sparse but there are places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthill, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I coordinated a stay for our Boy Scout Troop, who were backpacking the High Sierra Trail. Booking the rooms was easy and the reservation desk staff was extremely helpful. Upon checking in, Margarita was awesome! She recommended a few restaurants for our hungry Scouts and even called two of the establishments to see how much a typical dinner, with drink would cost our boys. After a 72 mile hike, the rooms were everything our Scouts and leaders needed. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and very comfortable. The pool looked great, but unfortunately everyone was too tired to swim. The hot breakfast was a crowd pleaser and I saw our boys get multiple helpings,as one would imagine from teenage boys (and they never ran out of food). Thanks to Best Western Plus Frontier for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

One night stay on a road trip,but would have been happy to stay longer.
Clean and comfortable rooms with coffee fridge etc. Very nice pool area. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice
Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Pine
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
867 reviews
23.9 mi away
Olancha RV Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
82 reviews
23.6 mi away
Ranch Motel
Ranch Motel
#3 of 3 in Olancha
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Frontier Motel

Property: Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Address: 1008 S Main St, Lone Pine, CA 93545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Lone Pine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lone Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Western Plus Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on scenic Highway 395, the staff of the The Frontier Motel will welcome you with a smile and ensure you have a comfortable stay that exceeds your expectations. We look forward to seeing you. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Frontier Hotel Lone Pine
Best Western Frontier Hotel
Best Western Lone Pine
Lone Pine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing