We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and very hospitable”
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was a bit skeptical of the establishment from reading some of the reviews off of Yelp, but my anxieties soon diminished. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room is small but comfortable. The location is great as nearby is Restaurant Row where there are many great eateries. The only thing was the sink. It's small and difficult to shave, brush your teeth, and/or shave. The shelf prevents much of this from happening. Overall, a great stay and a great recommendation for anyone to book their next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
There are newer reviews for The Varden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Good little hotel close to the convention center and dining areas. We felt safe walking home late at night and if you take advantage of the free shuttles on Pine Ave you can get to the aquarium and waterfront quickly.

The rooms are small, simple and clean. A very "European" feel but felt like sleeping in an Ikea display. Quiet and secure but not much room if you want to hang out.

The staff was awesome and over accomodating. If you need a bed to sleep in while you enjoy Downtown Long Beach, this is a great value and location!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank beachfeetSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Varden Staff were simple the best I've ever encountered. All employees went out of their way to ensure my stay was comfortable and stress free. Although the rooms are very small (and I mean small) they are clean and equipped with the basic amenities for a relaxing stay.

The staff is knowledgably about the area, the best restaurants/shopping and they go above and beyond in taking care of their guests.

Special thanks to Mr. Rivas – this Top Notch associate truly made my day with answering multiple tourist questions, and directing me to all the local sites I was interested in visiting. Thank you Varden and Mr. Rivas, I enjoyed my visit to Long Beach.

N. Richardson

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were in town for the Ink n Iron festival. We lucked into the Varden. It was very close to the festival. The staff was very nice upon check-in. Apparently everything was recently renovated. The rooms are small but have everything you need. It is in walking distance of a nice area as well and about 3 minutes walk to the Passport bus which will take you to several areas in the city for free. This was a huge help to us. Upon checkout we chatted with the owner. He was a genuinely nice guy and we hope to stay at the Varden again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

4th stay at The Varden and it just continues to excel and exceed expectations. The staff and owners are so friendly and accommodating. LOVE the nightly wine tasting.The breakfast is great, convenient and tasty. Love the Mexican Restaurant next door and the convenience of the location...only minutes from the Convention Centre. The rooms are spotlessly clean, modern, extremely well maintained and have everything you need - internet, TV, I-pod docking station. I will be staying again next year..and the next... Thanks again to the friendly Varden Team .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paradisetaveuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I read the rooms where small but they were smaller than i expected, but for an over night/short stay they are great...no fridge but not a huge space for then...we requested an early check in which was no huge issue, helpful staff when asked about public transport + they showed us the room + explained a few things to us....free wifi...highly recommended + would stay at again

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mzjack50n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I was in Long Beach for only one night. Did some research and found this hotel. It is amazing!!! Staff is very friendly. Rooms aren't big, but very modern, cozy and quiet. When I saw the room, I realized that it is exactly how I'd like my bedroom to look (I'm in a process of renovating mine :)
Free wine tasting and complimentary breakfast are nice perks. When I'm in Long Beach again, I definitely know where I'm staying!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank AskSergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Address: 335 Pacific Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-2353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: £122 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing