We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Quirky - Nice - Feels like you are in an Ikea showroom”
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I typically stay at the Marriott or Hilton properties when in the area. however due to a conference they were all booked. I stumbled on this "boutique" property and thought I would give it a shot.

I almost missed the hotel when I drove down the street. The primary signage was above my view (or at least where I was looking). Upon arrival you will learn that you park in the lot next to the Varden which is very convenient. The front desk gives you a sign to put on your dash.

The property is immaculate, the staff is exteemly accomodating and friendly. It is apparant they are all proud of the property

The unique quirkiness I referenced in the title specifically relates to the narrow hallways and tiny rooms. The room was very clean and the furniture was well scaled for the small size room.... and it worked. However if you typically stay in a "normal" hotel the room will be shockingly small... but again,,,it was really all the space you need while on business travel.

When I called home I told my wife I felt like I was staying in an hotel run by IKEA.

The location was GREAT. I walked one block to dinner and returned to the hotel.

The only TRUE negative is the fact that there is NO exercise facility. They have an arrangement with a Gold's Gym a block away, which I tried - but the facility was in poor condition so I elected to run outside instead.

While this property is not my first pick due to lack of exercise facility, I can certainly see how many people would find this hotel unique and enjoy it.

Room Tip: I was in room 8. It was at the end of the hall on the main level right by the stairs. I was afraid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brett-Christy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here 1 night in July. The girl at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The room was definitely tiny, (reminded me of staying in Tokyo) but surprisingly contained everything you would expect in a hotel room. The free continental breakfast and free wifi was a nice touch as well. The location is a few blocks from the aquarium, restaurants, etc. Would recommend for solo travelers or couples.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived following a shorter than expected journey ( so a little early) we were welcome to check in early which was great. First impressions were good and the staff were helpful and ready with suggestions of things to do in the area and places to eat. The decor was white, white, white very clean if a little boring. Then came the room, they have to be the smallest I have ever stopped and the bed was tiny. I only have a small butt and even I struggled to get one cheek in the bathroom it was soooo tiny. Overall the place lacked any kind of character. Pity because the staff were top notch.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuartLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Spent 2 nights recently at the Varden. Perfect place that delivered everything they said on their website including their morning continental breakfast and the afternoon wine and snack. Walking distance to many resturants. The only slight negative is the bed - too soft for me but most likely OK for many others. Much better than all the large chain hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We went to Long Beach for an overnight stay to attend an art opening and after arriving we wished we could have stayed longer. The historic building was charming and the interior design was modern and chic. The room was a bit small if comparing to the typical hotel room, but the functional design accommodated all of our things and it was quite comfortable for my husband, toddler, and me! The bed was very cozy and comfortable, too! Everything looked and felt, expensive. The service, however, was the best! Everyone we met was genuine and accommodating which is a rarity these days! We have recommended The Varden to our friends and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrya729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great boutique hotel in Long Beach with a reasonable room rate. All the staff were extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. Nice lobby and sitting area where there is continental breakfast in the morning and wine and snacks in the afternoon. Rooms were a nice size and very clean, however, the shower in our room was very tiny so beware! There is no elevator but the staff eagerly offer to help with luggage. Overall, my husband and I were very pleased. We would definintely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bigger shower, if possible. If not, be sure to bring a shower cap if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre_and_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you enjoy exploring/experiencing new cities, enoying its history and quaintness, and trying to get a 'feel' for it -- when in Long Beach, DO choose the Varden. It is just full of character and marketed as a boutique hotel, which it is! It's cozy, clean, and in a good location for walking to the restaurant and bars, as well as riding the buses around the city. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful! Just awesome service as all other reviewers have noted.

The only reason I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the shower - which was exceptionally high on the wall and unadjustable, so it wet my hair when I didn't want it to. Taller people might not have the same problem, but just so you know........ Also, remember, there is no elevator. We were ok wth this, but just so you know before you go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForFutureTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
2,599 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
6,490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Address: 335 Pacific Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-2353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: £118 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing