We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

So we made this res on priceline because we were stuck in long beach. When we found our room was not even big enough to accommodate a pack and play we panicked. but the hotel staff was nothing short of accommodating and helpful. while the room was small it worked. super clean. but a lil tooo sterile.

Room Tip: ask for a queen while booking or u will end up with a full
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    193
    40
    21
    6
See reviews for
56
309
152
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Excellent hotel in Long Beach and just a block away from the free bus into Downtown or the Queen Mary. Also close to Metro Rail for LA. Very stylish (small) rooms that are spotlessly clean and comfortable.

However, being a small hotel, the staff are amazing and helpful. Really give it the personal touch, even down to waiting as guests checked out to wish everyone a safe journey. You will not find better service at any other hotel. Really recommended and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at the Varden while visiting the sights in LA and Long Beach. I loved everything about this hotel from the staff to the old casement windows which you can actually open. The rooms were very clean, quaint, and modern. The entire hotel was very European inspired. The bedding was extremely comfortable which made for a good nights sleep. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: From other reviews and my own experience, it would seem as there is no bad choice as far as choosing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pickyPatr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The boyfriend and I stayed at this awesome hotel after a day at Catalina Island (Catalina hotels were too expensive for us) for my birthday weekend. It's a beautifully restored historic hotel in the heart of downtown Long Beach. The rooms are small but remodeled so beautifully that you won't notice. I liked the high-end modern furnishings and all-white interior. It was a comfortable stay and the location is great for walking to restaurants. The staff were as friendly and helpful as it gets. We checked in and were greeted with a glass of wine from the nightly free wine tasting (my kind of place!). I liked the modernist bathroom and giant sliding mirror door. This would be a good room to do fashion photography. Or just some cool Instagram pics. We met the owner the next day and he was very hands-on and friendly and gave us breakfast eating recommendations. There is a complimentary breakfast of muffins, coffee, juice and yogurt. If you want to stay in downtown Long Beach and stay in style, I recommend the modern Varden hotel. The room rates were good, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andromeda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I'd like to make my first review on TA on The Varden. I traveled to Long beach via Reno, NV on business and stayed for two weeknights. I left refreshed and excited to return in the future. This place is hip, relaxing, CLEAN as a WHISTLE, and a complete gem. There is a ton of history in this building and the surrounding area has a SF/NYC/LA feel. You will have local pubs (open late) and access to Gold's Gym (400 feet way). The soaps, amazing. The shampoo, legit. The price, outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 17RenoMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A pristine, classy and European gem in the heart of downtown Long Beach. Sweet little rooms that follow the original hotel's historical foundations, great use of the space is made and each room felt twice as big as it actually was. The owners and staff were exceptional: friendly, helpful and very ready to make you feel part of the family, which includes a nightly happy hour with other guests and staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bg224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nice boutique hotel. Close to shops and staff is friendly and informative. The rooms were small, but very cute and clean. There's a lot of great restaurants and cool little coffee shops to explore. Walking to the beach front only took 10 minutes. So it was really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashoka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#7 of 58 in Long Beach
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Property: The Varden Hotel
Address: 335 Pacific Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-2353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing