We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People matter”
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“People matter”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What can I say - hotel was lovely, close to town, lovely rooms, bit small etc etc but the best thing and it has been said before the staff are fantastic, lovely, lovely, lovely they make it an outstanding experience ..have never really felt as welcome in a hotel as when we stayed here

Room Tip: none really but there are some rooms with bigger beds which we took and these are only booked direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penshawpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    190
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
55
302
149
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Varden very much. This is a special hotel with an unusually friendly vibe. As others have said, the customer service is excellent! The rooms are small but designed to make the best use of the small space. The only issue I had was with the very tiny sink. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I came across The Varden while looking for something other than that the large chain hotel I normally stay at on business. What a delightful find! The customer service was fabulous, from the moment I booked the room (& made a special request, which they were happy to accommodate) until I left & was helped with my bags to the car. They cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. While the rooms are smaller than the large chain hotels, they are a decent size and have all the amenities needed - very clean with comfortable feather beds and indulgently soft pillows. Complementary continental breakfast in the morning, wine & cheese in the afternoon. And priced far below what I normally pay. For me, the location was perfect - a short walk to the convention center and just a block away from Pine Street and all the wonderful restaurants. Now that I have discovered this little gem I will not stay anywhere else when business brings me to Long Beach!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugatuck, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I chose The Dolly Varden based in its high score on Tripadvisor and because it is one of the only reasonably priced hotels in Long Beach . We were not disappointed. The customer service was above and beyond. The rooms were small but very well designed and very clean. The bed was comfy. There is a free bus that will take you from the Catalina Express landing to a block from the hotel, but we walked it in about 15 minutes. We also took the number 151 bus to the retro shopping district at 4th & Cherry - fun! The owner of the hotel was there and spent time with us discussing the renovations and the upcoming restoration of the super cool vintage roof top sign which is coming down on Oct 24 and hopefully going back up by New Years Eve.

Room Tip: Apparently the beds are larger on the 3rd floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Best. Service. Ever. I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world and while on my recent trip to California I decided to try and save some money to offset the prices of the other hotels on the trip. I have to say the staff was so professional and informative - they helped us with advice on going to the Farmers Market and La Brea Tar pits.They printed off directions for us to the wedding we were attending. Most of all I will never forget the kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaItalyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellent location, extremely clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed for one night in a very small room. It was a bit too compact if the stay would have been longer. Nevertheless the cleanliness, service quality and location were excellent so no complaints here. Definitely, recommend as a very good value for money. Parking is also available.

Room Tip: The small room is really small, so if you intend to stay more than 1-2 nights, get a bigger one. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avzMunich_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I recently stayed at The Varden for a week during the California Association of Realtors Expo. The hotel is very cute, exceptionally clean and the entire staff very accomodating and pleasant.
Every member of the small staff went out of their way to make my stay exceptional.

Yes, the rooms are relatively small but I was only there to sleep. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows of above average quality. The complimentary coffee & breakfast in the mornings and complimentary wine and snacks was a nice touch. Internet service was poor, but fortunately I was not doing business from my room.

The staff was incredibly warm, hospitable, accommodating and friendly. I will definitely stay at The Varden again should I find myself in Long Beach. I look forward to my return.

Thank you Varden!

Room Tip: I was in room 35 (top floor corner unit) Very quiet, bright and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Property: The Varden Hotel
Address: 335 Pacific Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-2353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing