We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
699
197
42
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
197
42
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallboutique hotelhighly recommend the vardencontinental breakfastcomplimentary wineglass shelfconvention centereuropean feelno elevatorpine streetkeurig coffeedowntown long beachyogurtbottled watertrade showbusiness tripbusiness traveler
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 965 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I go to Long Beach every January for a convention. This was the third time I've stayed at The Varden, and I plan on staying there again next year. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is modern and warm. The rooms are quite comfortable and you feel like you have privacy. One last thing, the location is one street over from restaurants, coffee, and bars; plus, the convention center is a lovely 10 minute walk away, no cab needed!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank pjshairart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Varden may not give you a big room, but they make up for it by being BIG on service and top-level touches throughout this quaint boutique hotel. Fantastic service, couldn't have had better staff to answer all our questions - and to remember what we were visiting Long Beach for and asking us how our weekend activities were going. (we were there for a friend's surprise 50th Bday party, but also did a FABULOUS 15 mile bike ride along the beach, and enjoyed delicious meals, all so very conveniently located to the Varden!)
BEST BED EVER. Linens and cushy pillowtop were so fabulously decadent, slept like a log.
Great location.
Loved the option of using the Gold's Fitness Center across the street - opted to rent bikes instead (highly recommended!)
As others have mentioned, know that the parking lot is not well-signed and it's right before the hotel - easy to miss (a big Hotel Varden sign would be helpful...)
If you are looking to pay big bucks for a spacious room, huge lobby, meeting rooms, pool, and on-site fitness center, then go elsewhere, you won't find this at the Varden. We were delighted with the cost of this luxury boutique hotel, and didn't need any of the luxury chain-hotel amenities on this trip. Thank you Trip Advisor users for bringing the Varden to our attention.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mommy_to_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Varden Hotel. Nothing was a problem. The rooms simple but very comfortable. The staff were amazing. As a woman travelling on her own they made me feel safe and well looked after. I am looking forward to returning and spending more time with Larry and the staff at the Varden Hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps a larger room would be better but the smaller rooms perfectly fine.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Some really great touches in this no-frills stylish boutique hotel.
Fantastic, friendly and helpful welcoming staff make a check in a breeze, and a little boozey also as they have a wine tasting in the early evenings. Initial parking can be a wee bit tricky as there is no valet and no place to pull in; park your car in the lot next door and immediately ask for a parking validation (works out at $11 a day).
I had room 35 for a couple of days - this was located at the back of the hotel which was great (quieter) on the 2nd floor. The rooms are SMALL - be prepared. However they are functional, clean and wonderfully executed. Excellent sheets and towels. Bathroom layout however could be improved upon - the shower is very small and easily could be larger by using the full width of the bathroom. Toilet faces the sink directly with very little room between. Toiletries were fine - if basic.
Included continental breakfast was only OK - the coffee was alright but the pastries were cheap and ruined the effect. Some chopped fresh fruit would have made all the difference instead of an unfriendly fruit bowl. There was also some nasty yogurt.
Overall a great stay; but avoid the breakfast. Be sure to arrange your parking spot in advance of your arrival - the parkiing lot is not very big.

Room Tip: I stayed at the back - it was quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at The Varden four nights prior a cruise we made. Arriving in the dark after a long flight from Germany we were a bit disappointed about the size of the room and bed. But after a first good night we liked the room, the design and especially the very familiar atmosphere. All the staff was very friendly and during breakfast and the afternoon get together with free drinks we could meet other guests and felt very much at home.

All the restaurants and bars are within walking distance. If you have a car and are away during the day it is cheaper to feed the parking meter on the street than to use the nearby hotel parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bkkfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews