We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Long Beach option”
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Long Beach option”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We chose Long Beach as a convenient location for a one night stay prior to joining a cruise from the LA World Cruise Terminal; we typically stay at smaller boutique hotels and BnBs by choice. The Varden met both our budget and expectations. The room was clean, comfortable and well located in LB. Sure, the room was small but so too is the cost per night. As others have remarked, the staff are excellent. Complimentary drinks in the evening was a great way to meet other guests and the continental breakfast was good. We ate at George's Greek Cafe which was OK, and really enjoyed lunch at The Federal. We would definitely stay at The Varden again if the opportunity arose in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrow050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    190
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
55
302
149
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arlington, tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Varden is similar to many of the small hotels I've stayed in in Europe - small, minimalist hotels, clean, fresh and stylish. The service at the Varden, however, is exceptionally warm and gracious. Tracy and Tina were very professional and attentive, even extending happy hour one evening for a few of us who lingered as we engaged in stimulating conversation. I highly recommend this hotel for convenience, cleanliness and quality service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Long Beach area. The hotel staff was way beyond accommodating to my boyfriend and I who had decided to try the Amtrak, which is another story in itself. We arrived in LA way too early in the morning, the Varden staff allowed us to check into our room at 6:30! I have never had that happen anywhere else. The hotel itself is extremely clean and has everything you need. The rooms may be small, but it only adds to the charm. I simply loved it! The location could not be better, within walking distance of everything. I will return to this lovely hotel should I be in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great experience. Even though we booked through Orbitz, the hotel staff was friendly and accommodating (way beyond what they needed to be,) when we had to change our booking last minute. Highly recommendable! Thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CilleJepsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is a great combination of amazing service, and great access to everything you need (a block away from Pine Street which is filled with wonderful diverse restaurants, shops, etc., and just a few minutes from the Convention Center, Queen Mary, beach, etc.) The property is distinctive - a very clean, innovative renovation, and most importantly, the service exceeds expectations every step of the way. For the price, I didn't expect to have much help, but instead, it felt like we were staying in a five star hotel. We got great restaurant reservations, help with luggage, early check-in, and generally support every step of the way. (This review would be much too long if I were to enumerate all of the elements of this fantastic experience) Rooms are practical and efficient (they are small) - extremely clean, and nice. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms are similar - all were quiet and nice. If you have more than one, you'll want one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Lonsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed in the ranking here! We booked on the basis of TA, but credibility has taken a hit. On the plus side, it's a handy location, and the staff are really friendly. But they need to be. We should have twigged when the taxi pulled in front of the hotel! And we should have baulked when the curtains opened to an old brick wall. No cupboard, but there is a hook thing. But hang your shirts there and you can't see the tv. The double bed is jammed in a corner. The hand basin at the end of the bed is tiny with a shelf above it so you struggle to brush your teeth. The shower opens up on to the tiny toilet, which could be handy but isn't! The "bathroom" door is a flimsy sliding cupboard door. The tiny double bed is extremely uncomfortable only matched by the two flimsy pillows. There is no room for your cases. So if there are two of you, forget this place. "Breakfast" is in a hallway type setup. Has some nice little fittings but this hardly makes up for the lack of comfort. Oh, the paper thin walls help you to listen to the guy next door snoring, I kid you not! We could only handle one night, and for a few more dollars booked into the Hilton. The move was inconvenient, but the reward great. What a contrast in value, comfort, space, facilities, breakfast... Seriously, reviewers need to tell it as it is otherwise TripAdvisor won't work!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank VFrequentTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Come with a sense of adventure, because the rooms are REALLY small. But they make the most of their space. It's easy if you're traveling solo, but I wouldn't bring children unless they were old enough to sleep in their own room. It would be tough to have a roommate as well (potty-to-bed ratio is too small.)

The rates are very reasonable and the hotel is meticulously clean. They have a friendly staff that works hard at providing top-notch service. Parking is reasonable too. Great location for a "walk-about" to restaurants and bars.

If you're in SoCal for work or an event, this is a good spot to start and end your day. I'm glad I stayed here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank RusstyCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Property: The Varden Hotel
Address: 335 Pacific Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-2353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing