We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer care and attention to detail”
Review of The Varden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Varden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The folks are gracious and extremely focused on your comfort.

The facililty is SPOTLESS !!!!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
Thank rodknoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
There are newer reviews for The Varden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2009

What a treat to stay at the Varden Hotel in Long Beach! The room immediately impressed us as a masterwork of aesthetic design. Every detail (chair; sink & mirror; fixtures et cetera) contributed to our overall experience. And then there were the wondrously sumptuous bed and pillows- ~!~ The room blended seamlessly into the visual composition of the entire hotel. From the inviting raftered lobby (with its appealingly modernist ceiling fans) to the graciously accomodating breakfast/community nook (with its high concept coffee machines) no detail has been left to chance in crafting the intimate, pristine atmosphere that distinguishes this hotel. Every member of the staff was unfailingly attentive, friendly and at home with answering any question about the hotel and surrounding area. The location is within easy walking distance of diverse restaurants and the city's attractions.
The Varden Hotel espouses and realizes a European concept of luxe so different from the cluttered amenity-oriented American idiom. The emphasis is placed on a quiet, visually soothing and artfully complete sense of harmony and serenity. When in Long Beach, the Varden Hotel will be our home away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJPSalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

The friendliest service (they brought glasses of wine to our room during the wine tasting), beautiful accommodations (probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on), classic exterior, beautifully redesigned interior, and a three minute walk from all of the exciting nightlife on Pine Avenue. You couldn't find a better place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggybgoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

From the moment I made my phone reservation, to my departure, I experienced the finest service, usually only experienced @ 5 Star Hotels. Carla was friendly, gracious & extremely accomodating. The owners, particularly Larry, went out of their way to make me feel @ home. The Decor in this meticulously & lovingly restored Hotel was outstanding. The cool clean lines of ultramodern bliss enveloped me as I walked through the sliding glass doors. Everything from the white orchids & chrome fans in the foyer to the circular lighted mirror & "raindrop" shower head in the cozy, pristine room, reflected the owners' intention of creating a unique, comfortable, & elegant place to call home while in Long Beach. For fine dining , a quick snack or killer omletts, plus spirited nightlife, The Varden is close to "Pine Square" & "The Pike". The Convention Center & Gold's Gym are within walking distance, & monitored parking is right next door. Do yourself a favor & stay @ this "unique boutique " hotel. A great value for an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lotusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed over night at the Varden and were beyond impressed. We were greeted by smiles and personally escorted upstairs to our room. The personal touch, cleanliness, and attention to detail is something most hotels lack. And the beds are AMAZINGLY COMFORTABLE!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I stayed on a weekend at The Varden in Long Beach. This hotel really redefined for me what kind of service and amenities I really prefer in a hotel. The Varden is located in a historic building and check-in person walked us (up the stairs) to our swanky little room explaining details about the hotel and answering questions for us about the locality. She even printed us google maps to recommended local restaurants and wine bars at our request. The room itself was small, with only one bed, but upon entering, it felt spacey, clean and elegant. The styling of the room is all energy efficient, and the metal components in the hotel decor are all made from recycled materials.

In the morning I met both proprietors who set up my stay. I was really impressed about the lengths they went through to reinvigorate this historic building. All in all, I felt like I've been fooled by chain hotels and their standardized list of amenities, what I've really needed all along is good company, personality, and smart design.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madelinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Having grown up in Long Beach and revisiting after many years for a high school reunion, I applaude all the efforts that have gone into making the Varden a euro style, yet historic, showpiece in an evidently resurging downtown area. I greatly appreciate the detail that's gone into the building restoration and even more so appreciate the detail that's gone into making the hotel operation a welcoming place to spend time - was surprised to hear it's only been up and running for a year or so. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chessie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
2,446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#8 of 58 in Long Beach
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Varden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Varden Hotel

Address: 335 Pacific Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802-2353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: £122 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Varden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Varden is downtown Long Beach's first European style boutique hotel. After an extensive renovation , The Varden's unique design evokes the casual elegance of an upscale, boutique hotel incorporating the blend of historic and contemporary details with all the modern conveniences anticipated by today's traveler, blending style and afordabilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Varden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Varden Hotel Long Beach
Varden Long Beach
Varden Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing