We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your abuelo's food!”

Lola's Mexican Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Lola's Mexican Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 1,110 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not your abuelo's food!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Don't go to Lola's to have typical Mexican fare, although you can find some of that there. Go there to try one of the many tasty dishes that expand upon our vision of what Mexican food can be. For example, you have choices among the kind of molé you order! Personally, I love the hazelnut molé myself. They have an excellent menu and usually have some creative specials going as well. I could go on and on describing dishes...but just go there. And for those of you with kids, no worries! I have a somewhat picky 12 year old, and there are plenty of things for her to choose from as well! Oh, I forgot to mention the green salsa they serve with their chips...excellent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaGeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    32
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Maybe THE best Mexican restaurant in the LBC”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The menu is small and tight rather than ridiculously long. I think that shows focus on quality. Nevertheless, there is a good variety of possibilities. We had both chicken moles (traditional brown poblano sauce and a creamy verde sauce), chile relleno, enchiladas, and a braised pork thing. What is obvious is that the chef must have some classical training because the quality extends far beyond the typical tortillas wrapped around cheddar or jack cheese with chicken and mild red sauce… fried. Usually I would say much more along the descriptive end, but we all left really happy and discussing when we would come back to further explore the menu. Essentially this is in the culinary neighborhood of the Mexican haut cuisine of places like Border Grill, but not as pricey. The staff was/were also excellent. Parking can be a little tricky along 4th Street, but there is a small pay-for lot next to the restaurant on the corner at 50 cents per half-hour. If you don't like the food here they either had a particularly bad night (which can happen in great restaurants since the food is individually prepared) or you are too enamored with Taco Bell.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food On Retro Row!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As a long time DTLB person I have seen many business go in and go right back out! Lola's is the first to have staying power!! And it continues to go on STRONG!!!

The service, food, and not to mention the cute art work that is displayed throughout out the restaurant are the best!!

I have taken almost everyone i know here and they all are hooked!

A must try (besides the yummi salsa verde and chip) Quesadilla Catrina,
Mini Soft Tacos,Enchiladas Suizas are to name a few!

Parking is hard to come by on Retro row but there is a small parking lot on the corner of Cherry street after a certain time parking is free.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onyx, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“They Turned a Bad Dish into Something Good”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a party of eight dine at Lola's on a Friday night. Most everyone enjoyed their meals, with two exceptions--the special, which was essentially beef stew, was no bueno! The beef was exceptionally tough and the vegetables were near raw. To their credit, the manager replaced the food with plates of carnitas, which was very good, and comped the two dinners. The drinks, both pitchers of beer and margaritas were incredibly expensive, but we got about half off the drinks because it was happy hour. If not for the half off, I would have been livid. Unfortunately, when you order drinks, you usually do not know the prices until the bill arrives.

The manager definitely saved Lola's from getting a bad review from me, but the prices were high, and next time I'll try another Mexican restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerF679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is the go to place for Authentic Mexican Food. Great Menu, great service and reasonable prices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lola's Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Lola's Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing