We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Long Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Long Beach
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at this Westin for a jump rope conference. The staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating. The beds were the best I have ever slept in! The only complaint I had was the slow elevators. The lines were long to use the elevators and we had to use the stairs many times to our 11th floor room. One time we were not allowed to use the stairs which I found very odd.
I would have liked to see a complimentary continental breakfast considering the price we paid.
Overall a terrific experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittymom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Kittymom2011,

Thank you for staying with us. As glad as we are to hear about your wonderful stay, we would like to apologize for elevator inconvenience. It was unfortunate at such a busy time that our elevators we not function properly. We hope to welcome you back soon so that we may be able to provide you with the best stay you and your family deserves. Be well and safe travels!

Respectfully,
The Westin Long Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    404
    187
    69
    34
See reviews for
201
190
65
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I grow tired of staying at these large hotels because they nickel and dime you for everything. Even on the business account, I get very irked for having to pay exorbitant daily internet rates or $5 for a bottle of water. This hotel has done away with that nonsense. They have complimentary bottled water (replenished daily) and free internet you don't have to log int very time you use your device. I thought both were a really nice touch. The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff was attentive. The only downside was the breakfast buffet. For $21, it was really disappointing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alliejay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Alliejay76,

We appreciate the time you took to review our property. We are also delighted to know that you were able to experience some of our in-room amenities. We hope there is a future stay in line so that we may continue to meet and exceed your expectations. Be well!

Respectfully,
The Westin Long Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

As many other Westin facilities, the service and the attention is excellent; the room are clean and comfortable and at the SPG level floor they have double head showers and a great view from the rooms that face the bay and the convention center. At night the view is spectacular, the Queen Mary, the lights at the bay and the lights from the water fountain in from of the convention center.

In addition of the normal amenities The Westin offers, for a small fee, offers exercise clothes and shoes in case that you didn't them with you.

For more travel info visit www.travel,gabela.com

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that we were able to excel in all areas of your stay. Please visit us again soon. Be well!

Sincerely,
The Westin Long Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel sports a lot of things to do and the location is absolutely prime! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. However, I'm still not a fan of the spare towels being placed in the showers! Managers....Please discontinue this unsanitary practice. There is plenty of room to start storing the extra towels under the sink or even outside of the tub. The issue is that the splash from a lathered up individual is splashing and being absorbed onto the clean towels. I seriously doubt that the extra towels are being replaced even after a guest leaves. The towel rack in the shower can stay since it provides a place to hang up a wet swim suit or even the bath cloth. Also, it should be standard practice to have the drains cleaned (draino, etc). Too often I am in hotels that have extremely slow drains and it is uncomfortable to stand in one's own filth waiting for the water to drain. Other than those two issues, your hotel is GREAT!

The staff is top notch and very helpful. The desk area is clean and there are even two business centers. This is also a hot spot for various functions (large family events, business meetings, etc). There are 4 fast elevators so there is very little waiting to get to your room after checking.

Overall, this is a nice hotel that just needs a few tweaks to make it a strong 5.

Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the housekeeping room. They can be a little too noisy going in and out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duck1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback. It is greatly appreciated. It is our standards that guest towels be present on our shower racks. We do ensure that guest towels are changed out each time since cleanliness and our guest's health is our top priority. Please rest assure that your comment has been brought to the attention of our Housekeeping Department. Again, thank you for time and hope to welcome you back so that we may be able to provide you with the best stay possible. Safe travels.

Respectfully,
The Westin Long Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were here for two reasons: 1. A Bible convention and 2. An anniversary trip away. They didn't have any upgrades available, but checked us into an end room on the 7th floor. The end rooms are great because you have a whole wall of windows and extra views. The rooms are always so fresh and clean, as good each day as the day checked in. Check in, though busy, was very accommodating and a breeze. Bar restaurant at the hotel feels like a top rated restaurant, better than any hotel restaurant and bars that I have been to. Jose, who seems to be the head bartender, is so attentive, so friendly, and great at suggesting options. Everyone you pass always smiles and takes the time to say hello and if I needed anything else.

I only have two minor suggestions for this location: 1. Get rid of the old "room coolers" that served as the old mini bars and replace with mini fridges. Couldn't get a fridge since they had none available, so had to go out each day to get food since the cooler doesn't keep things fresh more than one day and 2. Get some better pillows. The pillows are flat and seem to be worn down (even tho my wife was fine with them, I needed 3 just to make it thick enough). Again, these are just minor items that doesn't affect the overall stay; just think these things need to be addressed.

All in all, a wonderful stay, great spacious clean modern rooms, friendly staff and great location.

Room Tip: End rooms have much light and extra windows. The higher the floor, the quieter you are away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaicabitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property as well as mentioning one of our amazing team member Jose. Please stay with us again so that we may be able keep meeting and exceeding your expectations. We wish you a Happy Anniversary and safe travels!

Best Wishes,
The Westin Long Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I think hotels like the Westin should be above the standard hotels. While this one is close to the Convention Center in Long Beach, we think it is substandard. We stayed there just recently and it looked like our carpet was not vacuumed during our stay and just not as clean as you expect. They would not leave toiletries every day, especially soap and left us just enough bath tissue to get by on. When we first went to our room, there were dirty dishes from room service outside our room. We had to ask someone to remove them. My main gripe lately for hotels is that they charge for everything - parking, resort fee and WiFi fee per day. That was true of Westin, but we had a group rate and did not have to pay parking or the resort fee. If you wanted WiFi in your room, it was $14.99/day. They did have WiFi in the lobby. I think they should just include these things in the price of your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladysj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for your stay. It is our hope that we provide you with the best respite possible and in this case we did not. We have sent your review to our housekeeping department so that they may remind and re-train our staff on the Westin standards of cleanliness. Again, we are sorry for what you have experienced and hope to alleviate these problems so that future guests may enjoy their time completely.

Respectfully,
The Westin Long Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

On the good side, the front desk service at check in and check out was prompt, personable and professional. The location is great with many good places to eat and drink a short walk or drive away.

However, the hotel is showing deferred maintenance throughout. In our room, the door to the bathroom was cracked at the bottom. The shield at the handle on the inside of the bathroom door was rattling loose. The windows were dirty. The lobby carpet was stained. Even the Westin sign at the main entrance needed to be repaired.

I mentioned the issues in our room to the front desk manager, who was very pleasant and kindly offered a free breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, due to a miscommunication somewhere between the front desk and maintenance, these issues were not fixed during our visit.

Parking ($18 a day if I recall) and wifi ($15 a day) are not free. I would not mind paying extra as much if this property lived up to what I would expect of a 4-star hotel but, all in all, this Westin did not meet expectations.

Room Tip: You can hear noise from the pool up as high as the 15th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajh312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinHotelManager, Manager at The Westin Long Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review. Although you did not fully enjoy your stay - rest assure that we are taking your comment as an opportunity to look at our current guest room offerings and make the proper adjustments so that future guests may enjoy their stay completely. Safe travels.

Respectfully,
The Westin Long Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
0.7 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
Renaissance Long Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Long Beach

Property: The Westin Long Beach
Address: 333 East Ocean Boulevard, Long Beach, CA 90802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Long Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Long Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Long Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles International Airport and Orange County Airport, The Westin Long Beach is also close to Aquarium of the Pacific, The Pike Shopping Center and Rainbow Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Westin Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Long Beach Hotel Long Beach
Westin Long Beach
Long Beach Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing