We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, But!”
Review of Beachrunner's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachrunner's Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Long Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Perhaps because we chose the least expensive room, we were a bit disappointed. We could barely manage to move around the double bed, which, incidentally, sagged in the middle. We had to ask them to remove a huge rocking chair which youc could not use without its hitting a wall or window. The TV was on a little stand, nearly floor level, so you could not view it if lying in bed. There was really little room to open a suitcase. They advertise a garden and hot tub, but the garden was so dark and dingy that we did not feel it very desirable.There is a large closet that should be eliminated so as to make the room larger. The lounge on the main floor is very comfortable. The full, cooked breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Unless you have little luggage, avoid the smallest room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Beachrunners Inn is definitely my new go-to place to stay when I am anywhere near Long Beach CA. Pat is a charming host, and she does an amazing job running this B&B with her daughter. The house is very, very charming, with two large sitting rooms, a dining area and kitchen, and rooms on both the first and second floors. I stayed in the Sunset room, which was a small room on the second floor. It had a brass bed, dresser, chair, cable television, and a small bathroom. The room was great, and the attention to detail was fantastic. You can tell Pat is very proud of this B&B. All small details seem to be cared for. At breakfast, the table was perfectly set, and fresh casserole was on the table, along with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, several different breads, and more. The location of the house is in a great neighborhood, and there is even parking, which can be difficult to find in this area. Pat - you should be very proud of Beachrunners Inn, and I will definitely be back on my next visit through Long Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTheTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I chose this property because it caters to singles and couples and is located in a choice location of Long Beach. The home is immaculately maintained and exudes the charm of an earlier time. Rooms are small, but functional and your host, Pat, prepares a wonderful breakfast each morning. Each guest has a parking place in the alley parking area behind the B&B. There is an outside patio/garden area for morning coffee and an afternoon hot tub.

Room Tip: Opt for the Catalina Room if you don't want to deal with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchConnection46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was such a quaint old place. The host is wonderful! Great breakfast, clean rooms & walking distance to many great places to eat. We were just a short drive from many of the Long Beach tourist attractions. I slept like a baby, and would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I will stay at Pat's whenever I visit my son and daughter-in-law. Pat is delightful and welcoming.
The inn is comfortable, clean, and cozy. Breakfast is great. She really prepares a terrific meal.
I really enjoyed having coffee on the enclosed patio.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronwyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked this B and B strictly on the reviews on TripAdviser and we're very happy we did. We felt at home here. We were treated so warmly by Pat and her daughter Courtney. The breakfast was delicious, with lots to choose from. Our room was small, but very comfortable and clean, with good storage. They have available a great selection of DVDs and books. Fruit and snacks are always available. This place offers so much more than most hotels. If we're in Long Beach again, we'll definitely stay here.

Room Tip: We booked the Laguna Beach room for our son and wife. Much bigger than our Long Beach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My partner and I were visiting Long Beach to visit family and found the Beachrunner B&B as the perfect location for our four night stay. The host and her family were great and very accommodating. The common rooms, back patio and the neighborhood are all very welcoming.

Comfortable beds, clean rooms, quiet reading areas, breakfast, coffee and the newspaper each morning... what more can you ask for.... and the 100 year old house is charming overall.

We would and have highly recommended Beachrunner's for your next stay in Long Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kennebec Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDerringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach
1.8 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,373 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,301 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 58 in Long Beach
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
978 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Pacific Inn
The Pacific Inn
#1 of 3 in Seal Beach
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachrunner's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachrunner's Inn

Address: 231 Kennebec Ave, Long Beach, CA 90803-5721
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range: £100 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachrunner's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Beachrunner's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing