We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Close to everything, Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed for one night. The hotel is very clean and the service was excellent. The bed was comfortable, however the pillows were a bit uncomfortable. The hotel is close to the Terrace theater where we were attending a concert. Close enough to walk. They have safe covered parking for an additional $10.00. Well worth the price. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    171
    47
    17
    23
See reviews for
114
136
39
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The location is great. The beach, tons of restaurants and shops around. Train is 2 mins walk away. Safe enough to walk alone , even alone and drunk lol. The staff are really amazing, they are very helpful and will go out of there way to assist you and make sure you are satisfied. I got a sick deal on 3 pairs of shoes for $50 with the help of one of the staff members.

They need to put a fridge in the rooms, other than that , it was big, clean, flatscreen tv with HBO. It looks like a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roneesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel has a courteous staff, its clean and well-maintained and its location in downtown Long Beach is terrific, near many attraction and places to eat from deli-style to expensive but many mid-range pleasant restaurants to chose from. The only downside, no mini-fridge in our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Cannot beat the location. Walk to the beach, hip/hot restaurants, jazz clubs, conv center , marina....Bed was excellent, staff extra helpful and professional. The downside was the internet service. 5 out of 5 times I stayed there I had to call tech support--not good. And Breakfast was pretty low end. fitness room was uncrowded and had everything I needed . Overall, I'm staying there every week until I complete my constructuion project up the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This property is situated in a great location. Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Rooms were very clean and much bigger than expected. Quite enjoyed the complimentary breakfast too !! I will most definitely stay at this property on my next visit

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niroshinieratnayake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our Stay was so nice at this hotel. Staff was extremely friendly, breakfast was great, rooms were extremely clean, Al the amenities were great. I travel for work and was blown away by the great service I had at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Positive are the quality of the room and bed, friendly staff and the free internet and breakfest included
Improved could be the disposable breakfest dishes. the breakfest itself was moderate.
The price was a little bit higher then expected for this quality . I paid 150$ but 125 would have been reasonable

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
BEST WESTERN of Long Beach
#11 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 56 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Long Beach
The Westin Long Beach
#8 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 56 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center
Address: 517 E 1st St, Long Beach, CA 90802-5025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Los Angeles and Orange County Airport, The Best Western Plus Hotel at the Convention Center is renowned for both convenience and its beautiful location. In the heart of the East Village, Long Beach’s art community this Best Western Plus hotel is less than a third of a mile from the beach, as well as walking distance to the Long Beach Convention Center and a few minutes to both the Aquarium of the Pacific and Long Beach’s Carnival Cruise Port. Our location and amenities make our hotel the perfect place to stay for your next visit to Long Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hotel At The Long Beach
Best Western Long Beach
Long Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing