We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Into History”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Long Beach
Foothill Ranch, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Step Into History”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A cavalcade of historical themes set only to the most desired intuitions. Prepare for that which cannot be prepared for and enter the DeLorean of ships - the Queen Mary. This baby hits 88 miles per hour and you're in some serious shart. The incredible travel with which this ship brings you is nothing less than incredible. The amazing suites will bedazzle your innards with perfection and persuasion.

God bless the Queen.









  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Steven D -

Thanks for the review and we are so glad you had such an awesome experience.

Back to the future references are always appreciated here.

God bless the Queen indeed.
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,177
    2,198
    952
    376
    302
See reviews for
1,455
2,682
241
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,926)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed on board as part of our honeymoon, driving up was breathtaking. Fantastic staff for check in, gorgeous room with amazing views, so beautiful with Art Deco features. Clean and well presented self guided tour loved the collections and history. A fantastic experience and a must if you can a real piece of history. Did the paranormal experience as well which was very interesting and fun. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah16072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Sarah -

Are you Sarah16072013 because you are the 16,072,013rd Sarah to sign up for Trip Advisor? Me thinks yes.

We are so glad you had such an amazing experience and we cannot wait to host you again soon.
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband, son, and I spent a night on the Queen Mary, and it was a lot of fun. We got a family suite, which was a great idea, but not for the reason you would think. The second room, the one for our son, was right next to the door and tiny, and we had already told him the ship was among the most haunted places in the world. Oops. So we made a nest for him in our bigger room and we all were able to get to sleep. The reason the family suite is a good choice is that you have two hallway sections with doors to buffer your sleeping area from hallway noise, which can be considerable. People like to party on the Queen, and we saw a group of twenty-something in porkpie hats, tattoos, and piercings wander past our door with a giant bottle of wine and a twelve pack of Dos Equis. And yet we heard NOTHING. So, spend the extra twenty bucks and get the familly suite. You will actually get to appreciate how comfy the beds are.
The whole experience is just neat. The old fixtures, the wood, the little touches that modern cruise lines could learn from -- uplighting, tons of storage, holders for water carafes and glasses. It was all evocative of an earlier time, and the Observation Lounge is another taste of that time. It was so much more intimate than any bar I've been to on other cruise ships, I sort of lost myself -- and my packet of pictures from the Ghosts and Legends tour. Ah well. I forgot it and apparently someone else really liked my family so...
Speaking of ghosts, this time I didn't experience anything, but last time I felt a pressure on my chest when I was in the second-class pool and in the unrentable room, B340. Don't expect a ghost, but don't count them out.
If you think about the limitations of an eighty-year-old ship that's priced so that everyone can spend the night, you will relax your expectations a bit. If you want a fancy cruise for the elites of society, I think the Crystal line is taking reservations. I had fun, my son had fun, my husband had fun. And what else can you ask? Although I would like my pictures back...

Room Tip: Get a family suite, even if you're by yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UglyDollOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
UglyDollOX -

So glad you had such a great experience aboard the ship. We will keep an eye out for those photos!

Hope to see you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia,CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My kids and I can say we did it once for the experience. We stayed overnight because it was a good deal with CHILL passes. CHILL was great when we went on Thanksgiving night and no one was there, not so great when it was crowded the next day. The room was okay. We stayed in a deluxe king, and I'm glad we did because we could keep a porthole open for fresh air. My son and I are both allergic to dust, and we both had issues in this room. My son couldn't sleep until the Claritin kicked in. I wish they would have restored the room to its former glory. Wood could easily be polished, items that are painted are caked with paint instead of being properly done, chairs were old and ripped, there was peeling wallpaper in the shower/tub, and cracks and peeling paint in the tub and sink were poorly patched. My kids were afraid to use the bathroom. Service was friendly, but not enough of them were available to accommodate a crowd. Be prepared to wait for everything. In all, we're glad we can check this off our list but are not likely to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
CaliPeach -

Thanks for the feedback - it sounds like you had a good time - you should come back. The CHILL package is incredible value - starting at $120, you get two VIP passes for CHILL - the Ice Kingdom, Ice Skating and Ice Tubing - plus a one-night's stay in one of our historic Queen Mary rooms...heck-of-a-deal I'd say. CHILL has become quite popular - and the event has attracted quite the crowd. We advise our guests to arrive early to beat the traffic and focus on attending on non-peak days - weekdays.

We hope to see you aboard again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Hotel portion of the ship needs some work, but the experience was worth the trip. Definitely recommend staying on the starboard side of the ship if possible. The noise on the port side can get loud. The room had plenty of space for two adults and two children.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Steph -

Thanks for the feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Great tip on staying on the Starboard side. We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Enlightened by our travel agent, we stayed on this grand vessel in Long Beach instead of a hotel in L.A. We found our room spacious comfortable. We paid an extra $40/night to stay in a room facing the city of Long Beach. The ship itself was beautiful & full of art deco charm. It was also state of the art with Wi-Fi & a flat screen tv. The staff was attentive & friendly & we were escorted to our room by the front desk staff as not to miss our room. It was an adventure to explore the ship & enjoy the many photos posted of this historic ship's past. We did not get an opportunity to eat in the restaurants on the ship. We would definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view of the city, it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Katherine -

Sounds like you have a great travel agent!

-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our room was comfortable, clean and definitely nice for transatlantic travel. We loved our tour of the boat: drama and all. The Art Deco lounge has still got the trappings but somehow, it's bar menu and the main dining room food made me think of dining areas in bus terminals- not what you'd expect on a classy boat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Gay T -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had a great visit...we are a bit perplexed by your comment however on our food. Bus terminals we are not. Five-star dining? Check - Sir Winston's. One of the best Champagne Brunches in Southern California? Check - every Sunday. A fantastic seafood joint? Check Chelsea Chowder House. Good stuff here.

We do hope to see you on board again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#4 of 57 in Long Beach
2,346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 57 in Long Beach
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 57 in Long Beach
910 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 57 in Long Beach
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Property: The Queen Mary
Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing