We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill Queen Mary deal”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Long Beach
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our daughter celebrated her 7bday @ Chill at the Queen Mary and it was amazing fun experience for all of us. The customer service and hospitality was top noche. The friendliest made our time there even better and had filled our New Years w hopeful hearts. Our stay in the Queen Mary was nostalgic with such charming rooms. But be careful the walls are incredibly thin. That when my 3 yr old had a fit it was heard 2
rooms down. Our VIP passes to Chill from the hotel deal made it so worthwhile cuz the cost of $29.00 for unlimited was the best bargain to experience everything twice.
So if u are looking for a Winter Wonderland, Chill is a wonderful place to go and the
perks was stayn at the Queen Mary. However do dine @ Chill cuz the restaurants in
the QM are immensely slow and food is average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

T A -

Happy belated birthday to your daughter. We are so glad she had a special experience at CHILL. Our Hotel Deal is still by far our best value...We cannot wait to host you again soon.

-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,478 - 4,484 of 6,301 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hotel rating is a 3 only because even though it is well maintained, clean, and with great services, and as romantic a location as it is and still the best location for New Years Eve in the Los Angeles area, the Queen Mary is nonetheless a historic ship built in 1936 and the rooms are therefore dated. That said...
New Year's Eve on board was a blast!!!
We've attended this event and stayed on board 4 years in a row and this one was the best. The best variety of entertainment and dancing of any venue in the southern California area - loved the Brazilian band, the 50's rock band, the 70's-80's band, and the DJ's on deck. The round -the-world ocean voyage theme was genius...where else can you dance to a variety of music, dine in a superb restaurant like Sir Winston's, wander a historic site at will and soak in the nostalgia. And then there's the fireworks at midnight - nothing like fireworks over water! Oh - and don't forget the sumptious champagne brunch the next morning. It was a great package for the price and a great value when you compare with other venues where you're stuck in one crowded room all night long with only one style of music and nothing else to do but drink all night.
Reservation system was really well put together this year - the online system was easy to use - we booked the hotel, Sir Winston's, the party, and the brunch without any trouble, and we really appreciated the confirmation we received from both the hotel and the catering manager, and the pre-boarding information. The staff was very polite and helpful, especially Monica at the front desk who worked both New Year's Eve and the next morning. Hats off to everyone on the Queen's staff who put this together - keep the variety format and we'll keep coming back.
One caveat - ladies, the deck and outside stairs are slippery, so gentlemen do your part.

Room Tip: Clean rooms and well maintained but do remember you are on a 1936 ocean liner and the room sizes are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

G T -

Thanks for the feedback and for your understanding of our 80-year old property. Our staff does work around the clock to keep the ship - well in ship shape.

Thank you so much for your kind words about NYE. We work hard to deliver a quality product....and NYE with music, dinning, booze, entertainment and incredible fireworks is a home run. We will continue to work hard to make this event better and better.

We look forward to hosting you next NYE - if not sooner.
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Staying on the Queen Mary was a neat way to ring in the New Year. Even though it was a bit extravagant, I didn't plan on the rooms being high tech due to the era the boat was made. Overall it was fun, but I don't think it was quite worth the $850 it cost both of us for the evening.

We purchased VIP tickets for the festivities, but wouldn't do it again. The extra $100 per person didn't get us much more that 4 drinks a piece that were only $8 regularly. Most of the staff didn't know if there were specific areas for VIP. We had 4 free drinks a person, but one of the bars we went to didn't take our coupons. We later found out that was in error. Seems the staff wasn't briefed on the evening.

We also made dinner reservations at the Chowder house. The dessert was good, but the rest of the dinner was something we would have expected at Denny's. The steak tasted freezer burned. My companion ordered the Caesar salad (set menu), but was served a completely different type of salad. The server never came back until the next course. For the $90 per person I would have expected a little better service and/or food.

The oddest thing is that there were 0 chairs to sit in unless you purchased bottle service ($1000) or if you were eating dinner. Everyone was dressed up, but there was no where to sit during a long evening. As the evening progressed, we saw many people in gowns and suits sitting on the floor in the corners.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thanks for the feedback and we are disappointed you were not 100 percent pleased with your NYE experience aboard the ship. Our VIP ticket did get you the four drink tickets you mentioned, and also access to two additional decks and two additional rooms that were VIP only. In there was a better view of the fireworks, some more fun entertainment and a bunch of hats and fun NYE related souvenirs.

Sign me up for the Denny's that serves the same quality food that Chelsea Chowder House does! The one by my house doesn't. :( But maybe there are better Denny's out there. I don't know, just spit balling here.

We do apologize about the shortage of Chairs - some people throw them in the ocean for some reason. We will continue to look at ways of bringing more chairs for our guests at these types of all ship party events.

We cannot wait to host you again soon and Happy New Year!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Easy to get to ship. Liked being able to explore at your own pace. The ship is beautiful. Ghosts and Legends tour was definitely worth taking! We had a habor side deluxe state room. The room was comfortable but the water was chilly for the shower. I would definitely recommend this to friends. Maybe next time I'll run into some ghosts!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Karen O -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so thrilled you had a wonderful visit...next time you are here, let us know...Ill make a few phone calls to get those ghosts ready for you.
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we stayed on the boat for two nights as part of a Great Rail Journeys Trip just before Christmas - we decided to pay for an upgrade to a suite. Don't bother!!The room was very shabby and the bathroom very unappealing. Due to defective air con in the two rooms we both contracted a dreadful virus. The boat has very poor security and the drinks bar unclean and on the whole very disappointing and a complete rip off as we paid £200 for the privilege of becoming ill! It looks good shored up in the harbour and the Lady Di exhibition was worth checking out if you are interested in her gowns!

Room Tip: don't bother upgrading if you value your health!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimibingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

mimibingley -

Thanks for the feedback and we are disappointed that you did not love your visit to the Queen Mary. I don't see a connection between your visit here and you getting ill and it really isn't fair to blame our hotel for you coming down with a flu bug.

Glad you enjoyed the Princess Di exhibit and we cannot wait to host you again soon!.

Please do feel better. No one likes being sick and it certainly is not a great way to kick off the new year.

Get well soon
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I booked by Expedia, so the first thing they told me was that I would be levied $10 per day in 'facility fees'. As specified in other reviews, it's to cover the cost of wifi, a "free" self-guided tour, gym access and phone calls - whether we want these services or not.

The other things I discovered in my first few hours here is that if I brought a car, I would be charged $20/day for the privilege of parking it; and that the cost of food is absurd.

A large pot of coffee delivered to the room is $12, bacon & eggs & toast is $17 per person. Add $3 for delivery and the 18% gratuity, and you're out about $60 for a greasy spoon breakfast.

Come to the Queen Mary to experience early 20th century splendour, and a death by a thousand cuts.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bittermurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Bittermurray -

Thanks for the feedback and we are disappointed that you were not 100 percent pleased with your stay. Sounds like you are keen to the facilities fee we charge each room - $9.95 - which gives you the following:
1. Self guided Audio tour
2. Wi-Fi Internet
3. Local calls
4. Domestic long distance calls up to 30 minutes
5. Use of fitness center

We want you to learn about the ship as a hotel guest and her wonderful history - hence the audio tour - which has value in itself. Then we throw in the WIFI, the phone and the fitness center - a lot of value there.

Unfortunately we charge for parking in an effort to continue to improve the upkeep of the Queen Mary herself but also to generate revenue as all other hotels and restaurants do in Long Beach. Our goal though is to make it more affordable for our residents, thus why we have validation in our restaurants and lounges to reduce parking substantially. Our revenues have continued to grow and because of that we have been able to increase the money available to put back in the restoration of the ship for residents and guest alike for many years to come. I apologize if this is a deterrent for you to join us, but know that whatever dollars we do make, we make sure we continue to restore the Queen Mary to her original grandeur which is a significant expense.

We thank you for the feedback and look forward to seeing you aboard the ship again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We recently stayed New Year's Day for one evening. We had a king standard room, and got the Chill VIP package. We spent the day ice skating and ice tubing at the event, then had dinner at Sir Winston's. EXCELLENT 5 star resultant! French onion soup was the BEST I've ever had! Dinner was very pricey, but excellent service and food!! We continued our evening with the Paranormal ship walk, which was TOTTALY worth it!! It is TRUE... The Queen Mary is one of the top 10 haunted places!! The tour would make you a believer !! We were also in a "haunted room" -a128, and had paranormal activity going on... Which made it hard to sleep. Overall, excellent trip to take once in your lifetime.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stremcha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1938, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Stremcha T -

Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had a wonderful visit. Our CHILL hotel package is awesome - spending New Year's Day Ice Skating, Ice Tubing and enjoying the Ice Kingdom is a great way to kick off the New Year. And to top it off with Sir Winston's and the Paranormal ship Walk? Awesome. You did it right!

We are so glad you had a wonderful visit. Please tell your friends. We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#6 of 58 in Long Beach
1,284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 58 in Long Beach
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#2 of 58 in Long Beach
919 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#10 of 58 in Long Beach
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: £92 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing