We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away weekend”
Review of The Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queen Mary
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, Ca
1 review
“Get away weekend”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed on a Friday night and wish that there were tours later in the evening, because by the time we arrived the last one had just start.
The stay was however, very enjoyable and the stroll on the deck at night under the moon was very relaxing and just what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Lori E -

Thanks for the feedback and so glad you had a nice visit. We do offer some tour at night - log on to our website for more information.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,122
    2,140
    923
    370
    294
See reviews for
1,404
2,616
236
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fantastic. I was on the dock in Long Beach to greet her on her final trip back in 1967. Service was top notch, food was great especially Sir Winstons & the Sunday Brunch. The deck markings were confusing because were letters & the same decks were numbers. Would definantly return because this is so much more than a hotel!








Room Tip: Air conditioning needs improvement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Gary C -

Thank so much for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a wonderful visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. We love hearing reviews like this with people with such a rich history with the ship. Very Cool!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Bay, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The ship was gorgeous. The tour guides were excellent. The tea room was awesome. Our room was amazing, and we wished we had stayed longer. We weren't able to get everything done that we wanted to do, so we'll have to come back. I had heard the walls were very thin,I just wished that I wasn't able to hear absolutely everything that went on in the room next door. Very awkward with my daughter, it wasn't like we wanted to wander outside our rooms at ten and eleven o'clock at night. Wished that the stores stayed open later, and that the self-guided audio tour had better hours. We had booked a passport set of tours, and reservations for tea and couldn't get to the audio tour before they closed. Overall, we loved it. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
bluemer -

Thank you so much for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a great visit to the World Famous Queen Mary. Sounds like you enjoyed the tours and attractions and had some great food in the Tea Room.

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went for our 2nd year anniversary. We have been there the previous 2 years, as well. We visit about twice a year , on top of that. This time there were a few hiccups. Our room wasn't ready when we got it. Went to the first room and it hadn't been made. Went to a second room and the same thing. We then got a third room and someone else had it already. The forth try worked. The guy at the desk did a great job. We understand things happen and we worked with him. He was very good. We got our room and we also did the paranormal walk at 11pm. The walk was great also. We got to see and roam parts of the ship that are normally off limits. We did enjoy the observation bar as well. This was the first time we have seen live music there. That was good as well. We will be back in November.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
imynot -

Thank you so much for the feedback and we are honored you selected us for your anniversary. We do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced when checking in but very glad you had such a great time when you got settled in.

We hope this becomes a tradition for you!

We cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The poor Queen sure needs a paint job. She is really showing her age! She is a great ship to visit and is sad to see her not being cared for as needed. Staff was great and the rooms are clean. I went for a walk in the morning and there were beer bottles on the deck and a few in the water.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dhjustice -

Thanks for the feedback and yes - she can use a paint job and we are hoping to do that at some point in the not-so-distant future - but you got some bad information in regard to her not being cared for...a) she is 80 - and looks good for her age. b) our staff works around the clock to keep the ship, well in ship shape and c) log on to our website and check out the numerous preservation projects our management team is working on currently.

We thank you for the feedback.
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband planned this surprise trip. I was impressed . The ship is amazing and I enjoy how the rooms have original features. We had dinner at Sir Winston's which was delicious . We did the tour which we enjoyed but it is a lot of walking so be prepared !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginag73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
ginag73 -

Thank you so much for the feedback and happy belated birthday! You are a lucky woman to have such a thoughtful husband...

We are so glad you had such a nice stay and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved everything about our stay except the Ghost Tour. Our guide was not very good. We did have a large party but the guild was not able to get the party under control and often lost us as he charged ahead to the next location. That's the only thing that was not good. Everything else was great and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QM1934, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen Mary, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Jim T -
Thanks for the feedback and we are so glad you had such a great experience at the Baker Wedding. We love hosting weddings - we host hundreds per year and literally have married thousands of couples a year. Good feedback on the Ghost and Legends tour - I will pass on to our Tours and Attractions Team!

Thanks again for the feedback and we cannot wait to host you again soon!
-The Queen Mary Commodore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Of Long Beach
Best Western Of Long Beach
#11 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen Mary

Property: The Queen Mary
Address: 1126 Queens Hwy, Long Beach, CA 90802-6331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Queen Mary is home to a 343-room Art Deco Hotel, where guests relive the excitement of cruising in the style of the 1930's without ever leaving port. Now permanently docked, yet still afloat, the Queen Mary is a must-see attraction which offers a variety of historical, paranormal and educational tours, unique shops, meeting & banquet facilities, three award-winning ocean view restaurants, unique hotel rooms and much more. Don't miss your chance to visit an iconic landmark! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Los Angeles
Queen Mary California
Queen Mary Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing