We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we finally decided to stop”

Fortune Cookies Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Los Alamitos
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Glad we finally decided to stop”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have driven by this restaurant for years and finally decided to stop. So glad we did. We now go in at least once weekly. The waiters are quick and attentive and the selection huge. Our favorite is the crispy orange chicken with side orders of chicken fried rice and chicken lo-mein. Both have huge chunks of chicken and are sizeable. The food seems to arrive as you are ordering it. The food is devised by a dietician and prepared without MSG. All orders are large and delicious. The daily lunch specials come with delicious soup and egg rolls and are very satisfying. It is best to arrive before 6PM to guarantee immediate seating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very popular, very overrated, not worth waiting 30 minutes for seating”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Looking in Los Al for Chinese. Saw this,with a large crowd waiting. Assumption was that it was good/special.

Ordering took a while. Menu fairly extensive. Ordered Budda Delight, WarWonTon soup, Kung Pap shrimp, brown rice.

Soup had lots of veggies andchicken, a couple of won tons, but no flavor.

Budda was bland.

Kung Pao very good, best part of meal.

Brown rice was cold.

Overall, a mediocre place with a very large following.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank navigator53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange county, california
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cookie cookie lend me your chicken”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Pleasant chow & digs, chicken dishes are best -- try the Kung pao -- shrimp ok, beef forgettable. Underspiced unless you insist, or get the hot paste on the side. Good feed at fair prices.

Helpful?
Thank bernardoOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
274 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Better to eat in than to deliver”
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

The walnut honey glazed shrimp is a must order. Steamed potstickers, war won ton soup, eggplant and Mongolian beef are on the top of the list when we order. They do something wrong like forget one item about 20% of the time when having food delivered. I think it is they can't hear when they take the order since it is always busy, loud and crowded at the front desk with people picking up to go food. Only other minus is they don't take American Express. Other than that, we love the food.

Helpful?
Thank swimdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If you want fluff and 5 star manucia, this is not the place for you. If you want great food, rapid service, and easy prices, this is it!!!! The small diner has 15 employees, all on the go. You are seated quickly and have no less than 4 servers helping you. Within 3 minutes your rice is served, followed by the other dishes. Food is cooked to perfection. Prices are unbelievable for the food you receive. I watched dozens of orders to go also. This place is ran top notch. The lunch special has soup and salad with the meal and is 5 dollars. Wife and kids are vegetarians and they are pleased with the quality of the veggies.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortune Cookies Restaurant also viewed

Los Alamitos, Orange County
Los Alamitos, Orange County
 
Los Alamitos, Orange County
 
La Palma, Orange County
Fountain Valley, Orange County
 

Been to Fortune Cookies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing