We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable place”
Review of The Skyview Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Alamos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Skyview Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Los Alamos B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable place”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I really liked the location. Service was excellent. Smaller tv with few stations but it met my needs well. Breakfast buffet was impressive. Other guests were friendly and cordial. I will definitely stay here again if the need arises. I am an over the road rv transporter and am laid over for the wknd. Host gave excellent advice on where to go for the day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laelhuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We needed a place to stay and had passed this hotel many times. It has a very unique location overlooking the hills and fields around the charming city of Los Alamos. The room was basic at best. The uniqueness of the property location make it fun. Kurt at the front desk was very accommodating and made us feel at home. The Breakfast buffet in morning was very nice and much more than we expected.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank aet325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is an old-fashioned motel on the side of Hwy 101. It is being slowly renovated but is completely comfortable even in it's old state. They have a spectacular European style breakfast in a dining room with a view. And there's a wine tasting room also> Great value for the area!

Room Tip: Get one with king sized bed - it has more windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris7g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe Vista, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We chose the Skyview for it's value and location. Everyone was very accommodating. The tasting room was right next door with wonderful wines. Breakfast, although only on weekends, was very good. It is an older building but kept up well. We were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahoelaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful to see the great work that has gone into this iconic California property! Great views. Excellent breakfast. Nearby town good for restaurants and walking. Pet friendly and very clean. Wineries abound.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Professor75206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Over the past three or four years, I've stayed at Skyview... and thought I'd bought into a good
deal. I've seen changes.. the result of the new ownership. The changes are (perhaps) slow
in the making, but overall there's been improvement. For people looking for reasonable rates..
in a well-located spot, and who have memories of a clean, but not fancy, place to stay... I offer
my recommendation that you consider the Skyview. For a Family with youngsters: fine.
For the well-healed oldsters who are used to Category 5+ Marriott experience... not your cupatea.
Still and all... a nice spot to stay in a beautiful location. (The management is very accomodating !)

Room Tip: Northside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I had a Los Alamos wedding on Sep 7 and booked the entire Skyview motel for our friends and families to stay in. Due to a change in ownership, we were told less than 3 weeks before our event that the prices would increase by almost double. As anyone knows who has planned a wedding or other event, it's a stressful time of coordinating many different people and places. The owners of the Skyview know that Los Alamos is a somewhat remote location and that this change would cause great inconvenience to our guests who would have little to no other options for accommodations.

In the end after numerous unanswered phone calls, we were finally told they would honor our prearranged since May 2013 price for the rooms, but we wouldn't get the breakfast or bottle of wine in the rooms. We asked about the price of breakfast for our guests and it was $15 per person with various fruits, breads, hard boiled eggs, and a ham. Womp womp what a rip off for that price! We ended up getting an all you can eat buffet of hot foods for $13.95 at 1880 Union where we held our wedding.

The rooms were basic. At their old price, it would be good if you need something affordable just to sleep after wine tasting and touring the nearby area. Now with the new higher price tag, and not many upgrades to justify it, I'd say pass!

The computers are really slow and it takes them forever to find your reservations too. ugh. This place overall was a huge headache.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 996francescal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Alamos
0.4 mi away
Alamo Motel
Alamo Motel
#1 of 1 in Los Alamos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
14.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#4 of 8 in Buellton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.7 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
12.9 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Skyview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skyview Motel

Property: The Skyview Motel
Address: 9150 Highway 101, Los Alamos, CA 93440
Region: United States > California > Los Alamos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Los Alamos
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
The Skyview Hotel Los Alamos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing