We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super staff, accomodations aging” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super staff, accomodations aging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We used this hotel during Stanford U commencement weekend. Of course this is the hotel's busiest time of the year and rates were fairly high. Our two bedroom suite was on the 1st floor. In addition to basic room accommodations, the suite included dishwasher, range with oven, microwave, lounging area and gas fire place. While the rooms were clean and well cared for, the kitchen cabinetry and some of the appliances are dated. The furniture appeared to be newer. There were three flat screen TVs With other family members as guest, I noticed the same issue in other suites. It is as if there was a partial remodeling done in the past few years. Note that the one bedroom suites have a larger living area than the two bedroom suites which while large have a smaller sofa. The staff was the best, I made a small suggestion and the next day, they had implemented it. Parking is mostly underground with more than ample space even during this busy weekend.

Pluses: Great location (shopping and restaurants), parking is free, friendly staff, great breakfast (real eggs, breakfast meats and fresh fruit) compared with other hotels free breakfasts, free Wi-Fi which is slow but fine for email and web browsing, you can pay to get faster download speeds.

Minuses: Strange smell in our suite, didn't notice it in my relatives suites. Shower head was partially blocked due to aging. A few of the towels were a little dingy.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor which has walking paths right next to windows reducing privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingDishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    72
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
42
18
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Location;

Close to Palo Alto major technology campuses and at about 1 mile drive.

Rooms and Service:

All modern amenities are available. They also provide you with full functional kitchen area ideal for long stay and families. Ample parking available. Breakfast has decent spread with fresh items on the menu

Value for money

Would probably rate on the expensive side but it a good choice

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are more accessible
See more room tips
Green Features: They do try to save environment and have lots of instructions for the same.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhijitKhatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've stayed here many times and the staff are the nicest people. Everytime you walk into the hotel, they greet you and ask what exciting things you've done today and are sincerely interested in the restaurants and events of the day. The breakfast staff are so efficient, cleaning your table when you get up to get seconds and always greeting you every morning with a great big smile. The rooms are always clean and roomy. Love this place

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally large. They have wine glasses in the room which was great after a long da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 752elisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Like all Marriott owned or managed properties, this Residence Inn scores high on my checklist for "return visits." Yes, it is undergoing upgrading (during business hours) which will be beneficial for the long term. "Management Reception" from 6-9 p.m. is included---light meal including mid-quality wine which staff refills at your table without asking. Breakfast buffet is not cooked to order but is superior to other chains---real scrambled eggs, lots of freshly prepared bacon, and a genuinely interesting mix of ground sausage + potatoes + red peppers + seasoning. On checking out, I was impressed that the manager inquired about what we specifically liked about the breakfast buffet. How many times does anybody actually ask what a customer liked? Location is great---El Camino Real close to San Antonio Road. Note that Google Map instructions are one block wrong.

Room Tip: While the property is undergoing rehab, you might want to ask for a room where nobody will be above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambriariter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

That was the reaction of my 6 year-old when we arrived at the Residence Inn and it about summed up our stay. The garage and elevator were smelly and unclean so we had a terrible first impression. In April, the hotel was undergoing a lot of construction so our ground floor room seemed especially awful. In the end, the room itself, a small suite, was a good size and clean so we all made our peace with it. We were there only for proximity to an event. I am sure there are better options at this price point.

Room Tip: Do not book a room on the ground floor. You are facing the parking lot and it feels unsafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B, General Manager at Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not make a good impression on you, especially with your 6 year old child. I have addressed the issue with our staff so we can monitor our public areas more closely, especially during the renovation process. There's a lot of traffic and moving parts, so we need to keep up with the cleaning as well. I hope that you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again so we can show you our newly renovated rooms.

Best regards,

Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaaawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We picked the Residence Inn for its location, close to a family gathering we were attending.

It was a very pleasant surprise. The recently decorated room is much larger than most comparably priced hotels and includes a kitchen with microwave, full-size refrigerator, and even a dishwasher.

Check-in was quick and easy.

Basic wireless or wired internet is free. Marriott gold members get a free upgrade to higher speed access. Otherwise, the upgrade is $5.95 daily, if I'm not mistaken.

We worried about noise, since the hotel is on busy El Camino Real. But it is tucked behind another building, which seems to block virtually all road noise. Our first floor room was quiet! There's ample parking at ground level, and in an underground garage with keyed security access at night.

The location is great. There's a CVS store and a Sprouts supermarket across the street, and lots of restaurants nearby. There are also several other hotels along the same stretch of El Camino, including a Courtyard by Marriott, a Crown Plaza, and a Hilton Garden Inn under construction.

It's very near Palo Alto and Stanford University.

The free breakfast includes both hot and cold items, fruit, eggs, juice, cereal, breads, etc. Very well done, with lots of seating. What's not to like here?

There is a minimal room service menu for lunch and dinner, although we were busy and didn't try it out.

We've been telling family and friends about our great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a very convenient location in Los Altos but is set back from the road so it is rather quiet. They have a great little pool area and barbecue area as well. What makes this place great though is the staff. I've never had a request turned down and they go out of there way to accomodate you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jskyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Altos
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
1.6 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos

Property: Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos
Address: 4460 El Camino Real, Los Altos, CA 94022-1003
Region: United States > California > Los Altos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Los Altos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Palo Alto Los Altos Hotel Los Altos
Residence Inn Los Altos
Los Altos Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing