We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular museum”

Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.00*
and up
Admission: Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
More Info
US$72.00*
and up
Hollywood Explorer Pass
Ranked #16 of 563 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover your world past and present. See dinosaurs in our new Dinosaur Hall, including the world’s only Tyrannosaurus rex growth series. Get the behind- the- scenes look at how scientists work on fossils at our Dino Lab. See 240 specimens, including skeletons from mastodons to whales, animal dioramas from North American and Africa, and more.Stroll through our extensive Nature Gardens, and discover true stories about plants and animals in our Nature Lab. See and touch more than 2,000 spectacular specimens displayed in our Gem and Mineral Hall, and enter into the vault to view diamonds, rubies, sapphires, and other exquisite gems. Our Butterfly and Spider Pavilions are open seasonally. Here you can wander through the changing ecosystem with over 30 species of fluttering butterflies all around you, or witness arachnids up close and personal.
Merced, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular museum”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This museum was nothing short of amazing. Our family loved it. We plan to go again. You can definitely spend a entire day there. The dinosaur exists were so cool and I loved how they have the second story floor looking into the room so you can see the skeletons at a whole different angle. We loved many of the other exist rooms. I especially loved see artifacts from our own American history. I highly recommend this museum you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank babysnoopy154400wsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    296
    68
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mojave California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A variety of exhibits, beautiful rose garden”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is an old museum, so some of the exhibits are a bit dated but are good examples of how taxidermy was displayed in the 20th Century. Still the dioramas (mammals and such) are interesting to look at. The highlight of the museum is the minerals and gems; don't miss the gem vault. Beautiful collection of many different gems and minerals. Hidden away is the "visible vault" which has an amazing (although not well-lit) collection of early Latin America artifacts (Mayan, Incan, Aztec). The museum building is beautiful in itself and the vast marble halls are a good place to cool down on a hot day. Don't miss the rose garden outside and of course all the dinosaur bones.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jerjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Gem and Mineral Room is amazing!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you like dinosaurs, of course this is the place to go -- on Expo and Vermont they have a huge Dueling Dinos statue (T. rex and a triceratops going at it) and when you go inside the Grand Foyer there are the skeletons in the same pose, the new Dino Hall is really well done, and even on a Sunday morning there was a scientist in the Dino Lab, patiently working at a fossil bone. But what I loved best was the Gem and Mineral Room. They have *tons* of specimens, all well-displayed and lit, with lots of information about them, but even if you're not interested in the science, it's just so pretty to look at, and since everybody runs to see the dinos first, you can have the room pretty much to yourself and linger as long as you like. If you take the Metro to the museum, show your Metro pass and get $1.25 off admission.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank edwardsmom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, US
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs and Butterflies”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

There are two "new" attractions at the NHM of LA County: Dinosaur Hall and the Butterfly Pavilion. I say "new" in quotation marks because, of course, there have always been dinosaurs at the NHM, but there have been extensive renovations and specimen additions to the collection. It's beautiful and fascinating. Your kids will dig it (no pun intended).

The Butterfly Pavilion has been open before, but it's seasonal so now is a good time to head over to the NHM. If you have little ones, be sure to keep a close eye on them as some butterflies rest on the pathways and they'd probably be traumatized (as would I) if they were to step on one. Bring your cameras since this may be the only time you'll be able to see this many butterfly species in one place. Gorgeous! You'll need to purchase your tickets for this attraction ahead of time (timed tickets) and you can do so online: http://nhm-px.rtrk.com/site/plan-your-visit/tickets?utm_source=ReachLocal&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=NHMNaturePPC&rl_sitelink=363478

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This museum isn't huge, but is laid out nicely. There are plenty of dinosaurs, a few live critters, and a very beautiful array of rock and mineral formations. My family loved it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thordargreybeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing