We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Beautiful Edison”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Edison

The Edison
Ranked #241 of 9,887 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Main St.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Beautiful Edison”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Step in off of a side alley into the old Edison building in downtown, Los Angelos for a very unique cocktail lounge. There is food, but there is a limited menu. It is a place to meet after work, or take friends for a drink before dinner. It is absolutely beautiful inside. It is well worth going just to see the décor and lighting. This building use to be the old electric power building, thus the name of the Edison. They have incorporated the old workings of the electric company to be part of the décor. The pendent lighting coming from two stories up is stunning. The couches and tables are grouped intimately throughout the lounge making a cozy setting. There are old black and white silent movies playing on some of the large walls that make up the room. The copper back wall of one of the bars is so beautiful and glows as the light hits it. I have never quite experienced a cocktail lounge that was so beautiful and elegant. Kuddos to the designer and contractor. It is stunning. I will definitely be back here again when visiting the Los Angeles area. There is a dress code. No shorts or sleeveless shirts for the men. No baggy pants. Very Cool place . We did not try the food. Only cocktails.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    37
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

try and get a table near the stage on Saturdays to see the show. Drinks and food are a little pricy but good

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A classy, vibrant bar / restaurant / nightclub with an olde world vibe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife, daughter and I had heard how good this place is before we left New Zealand and while on vacation we just had to dress up and go into downtown Los Angeles to experience 1920's style and charm that this historic speakeasy offers. We were certainly not disappointed.
The old electric company building is fabulous, and is beautifully done out. A big bar services a very classy, enthusiastic crowd. The food was OK, but rather difficult to eat on the small tables and banquette seats.
We were absolutely delighted to hear the wonderful band Magnolia Memoir, who performed three really, really excellent sets. Don't expect to have meaningful conversations while the band plays - it is a nightclub after all.
All up, food, a couple of beers, a glass of wine, sparkling mineral water and the entertainment set us back $118 including the tip,which we Kiwi's felt was very good value.
We had a great time, loved the ambience, loved dressing up, and loved mingling with all the motivated, friendly people.
A superb place that should be an essential visit when in LA.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Eureka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I had so much fun here, I am not a huge nightclub person so loved the shots and entertainment and clientele - very 'mingly' but not in a 'mwah mwah darling kind of way', more a 'yeah sure feel free to have one of my sliders kind of way' which is great - cos i love my burgers. Seriously though folks, guaranteed great night in LA...enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HelsinkiSheps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The word "amazing" is often overused. But it certainly applies here. From the moment you enter this incredible place you are transformed. The ambient lighting sets the scene for a magical experience. We arrived early in the evening so had a chance to walk around to see much of the fascinating interior--almost like touring a museum, but even more fun. Every detail was breathtaking! The historical building has been impeccably restored to close to its original state: a hundred year old power plant. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and the food (four of us shared the Sampler Platter) was quite good. The warm chocolate cookies were to die for! Even though it was not an inexpensive venture, you feel you "got your money's worth" because of the beautiful and interesting venue. It's impossible not to enjoy the experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dottie573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Edison also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to The Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing