We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, it wasn't worth the price, it felt cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Ranked #37 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall, it wasn't worth the price, it felt cheap”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had 2 nights here. Firstly, the location is good and bad. The good - It's a short walk to Hollywood & Highland shopping mall, and the blvd and chinese theatre etc. But if you're driving, it's really challenging to turn left across N Highland Ave. So it may appear to be a good location for Burbank and Universal etc, but you turning left out of the hotel is IMPOSSIBLE, you'll need to turn right and make some u-turns etc.

The breakfast is the worst I have experienced in a hotel. It is what I expect at a cheap hostel. The cereal dispensers were blank, and the juice wasn't real, it was some sort of re-constituted liquid that was full of fillers and sweeteners. The cutlery is flimsy plastic, and the bowls are polystyrene. At about 9.20am, another guest asked if there were any more scrambled eggs, and was abruptly told that no there wouldn't be because breakfast is almost finished.

The place just feels cheap and tacky. Oh and the most annoying thing - the rooms at the front, facing N Highland... the windows have lights shining UP ONTO THE WINDOWS. Okay this might look pretty from the outside, but for sleeping!? Really!? This was super annoying. We had to use hair pins and clips to secure the curtain so that we could get the room to be dark.

Oh and additionally - there was a sign in the bathroom stating that if you used face towels for removing cosmetics, you would be charged $9.50 because they would be considered damaged. Okay then... I understand that, but again it was tacky. I've stayed at many hotels, and have never seen a sign like this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing N Highland Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Karen E,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It’s nice to know that you liked our location in relation to the nearby attractions.

You have identified issues in regard to the breakfast items and room amenities. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. I understand how this may have left you frustrated and I can assure you this experience is not representative of the service we expect to provide.

Your comments have been taken note of and I am confident that our hotel will take the appropriate action to improve guest satisfaction. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    871
    234
    53
    31
See reviews for
878
487
86
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SJ Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spent three nights of our southern california vacation at this location. We found the location was very centrallly located for many things that the family wanted to do in the area and allowed us to venture around the LA area from the beaches, to the Hollywood sign and the Walk of Fame area. We did find the staff to be very friendly and helpful in finding locations and using the city transportaion. The only down side that we found was the room was noisy and since LA never sleeps the road noise continued most of the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the front side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickSJM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear RickSJM58,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We’re happy to know that our location suited your needs. I would also like to thank you for your kind words intended for our staff who assisted you during your stay.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience from the noise outside our property. Your feedback is very important to us as this helps us in improving guest satisfaction. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please don’t hesitate to ask the manager on duty. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the hotel. It is easy to find on N Highlands drive and you are able to drive you car straight into the underground valet parking area. The check in was really smooth and our receptionist was friendly and helpful and shared information about the area.
The hotel rooms for floors 5-8 require another elevator and it does feel like you are navigating a maze. We did however appreciate the upgrade to a junior suite.
Rooms are standard fare with comfy bed, usual amenities and a wall mounted safe.
Great place from which to walk the one block to the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our second trip to LA and I researched hotels very carefully and concluded that this one was the best. Luckily enough it lived fully up to our expectations. Check in was quick and easy and the WIFI details were clear. The hotel is located in a great location, walking distance to Hollywood Blvd and metro station. We stayed here in December 2013 and found the heating to be sufficient. No issues with anything in the room. We also used the washing machine and dryer, which worked perfectly!!
A few things to be aware of going in are that this is an older hotel (hopefully Holiday Inn will update it soon) but it only has 2 lifts which are very old and creeky and the room is older style but besides that no complaints!!

The breakfast gets very crowded but if you get there early you have no problem. Even if you get there late you could just run in and grab something quickly and take it to your room.

Would stay here again anytime in LA!!!!

Room Tip: We were a couple but reserved a room with 2 double beds and found that it was a huge room and we use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is right beside hilton garden inn. both looked good in pictures but just typical inns in person. It does the work with basics you need. Valet parking, bellman helps you bring up your luggages but you have to get the trolley downstairs and help yourself on your way out. Breakfast was decent compared to other Holiday Inns we stayed in US. The rooms are big but we did not get what we expected which was a suite and in the pictures it has a sofa. The size is decent and beds are comfy. The shower room is also big. We traveled with our sons age 5 and 3 and we had enough space for 4 big bags and two boys running around. I think if you want to spend $100 more per night you can check out LOWES across the street but if you are just looking for a place to rest at night this is best place to be.

Room Tip: try to get the 4th floor so you be near the pool and breakfast area. elevators can be really slow at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaypee0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear jaypee0501,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always very grateful for our guest’s feedback and are particularly pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We will certainly work on the points that you have raised to ensure we cover all the little things.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Now this was my first trip to LA and I soon recognised how big a place this is. After evaluating a number of hotels I settled on this one and I'm glad I did. I soon realised I had to make the most of taxis to explore the city but this worked well. Close by are a lot of the mainstream tourist attractions. Opposite is a starbucks and some shops which came in handy as well. It was about 40-60 mins by taxi to Santa Monica and about 20-30 depending on traffic to Beverly Hills.

We were greeted warmly at check in and because of being a priority platinum member received an upgrade. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and I wasn't affected by the noise from the road outside. The only downside is the size of the breakfast room which was a little on the small side and did get a little over crowded.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayboyPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Nice hotel located just minutes from the main Hollywood Strip.

The room was nice, comfortable bed and large room. Our room was located above the main road which meant at times it was noisy. However later in the night it did settle down. Room had a window that open which was good.

The bathroom was a good size and an average shower. Both room and bathroom where clean.

The pool was basic but if you wanted to cool off it did the job. Water was very fresh when you got in but comfortable once u adjusted. The gym was good with the normal array of equipment.

Breakfast was fine, didn't change much but it was enough to fill you up for the day. At times the breakfast room did get crowded so pick your times you attend.

Car parking was $22 a day and only valet which I thought was reasonable give the location. Getting your car back was nice and quick too.

You can easy stroll down the street to Hollywood Boulevard (We felt save no matter the time) and from the first shopping centre on your right walk onto its decks and look back and see the Hollywood Sign.

The hotel offered free Wi-Fi and have a small shop was well.

Overall a good hotel located Hollywood and easy access the Freeways.

I'd stay again

Room Tip: If you sleep light ask for a room at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DazzaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Best Western Hollywood Plaza Inn
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,130 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Address: 1921 North Highland Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hollywood, CA. Located in the heart of world-famous Hollywood, California, our uniquely designed hotel appeals to style-oriented guests desiring exceptional service and comfortable amenities. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hollywood, take time to tour the city and see all that Hollywood has to offer. We are centrally located near several historic tourist attractions such as the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios, Paramount Studios, Sunset Strip, Rodeo Drive, Beverly Hills, Bel Air, Santa Monica and Venice Beach. Our hip hotel in Hollywood is the perfect place to stay as you explore the city. Built in 2008, our brand new Hollywood hotel is perfect for business travelers. We provide an alternative to local, traditional hotels without sacrificing any of the business amenities you expect. Our Hollywood hotel near the Los Angeles Airport (LAX) is just 20 min from the LA Convention Center and in close proximity to the LA Business District, the Century City Business District, ABC, NBC, the Warner Center and CNN. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hollywood, CA, we provide an oasis that inspires and re-energizes travelers. From our hip lobby and state-of-the-art fitness center to the convenient high-speed Internet access and a delicious, free hot breakfast bar, this Hollywood hotel provides all the amenities to make your trip to California a great one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hollywood Walk Of Fame
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing