We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tacos”

Best Fish Tacos in Ensenada
Ranked #532 of 10,091 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central L.A
Description: The thought of owning a restaurant was never part of the equation. We wanted to create the perfect baja style fish taco stand. If you desire a wonderful fish taco served to you in the classic baja style and in a friendly, warm environment, you’ll find it here.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Tacos”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Fish tacos are a little to fishy. The shrimp tacos however are amazing and well worth the price. Good staff and atmosphere makes this a great little pace to grab lunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good fish tacos at a good price”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The fish is fresh and the price is right. Shimp tacos are also good. the salsas are good. Service is quick and efficient.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dortlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cheap Deliciousness”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I live right around the corner from this awesome little Taco joint. The menu is basic but the fish, shrimp, or potato tacos are cheap and delicious, and you'll probably pick up life philosophy from the owner if he's manning the register when you visit. The place hosts a comedy show twice a month these days where you can see up and coming as well as veteran talent for free. An awesome neighborhood treat, especially if you're broke.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A one note restaurant played to perfection”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

If you love, love, love fish tacos, this is the place to come. Cheap, fresh and yummy. Just beware: these fish tacos are addictive!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jschreib11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Joseph is da man!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Joseph runs this place, and he's a guy who deals strictly from the heart.

His food never fails to delight, and we always make a special trip to go there (been going regularly for a long while - actually since he opened this location).

I'm known among friends as 'Taco Jones' because I can always find good if not great acos, and I know all the best places in the towns I travel in down in Mexico.

I have a few joints that I make it my biz to hit when in Los, and this is the one that is *always* on my list. Fresh salsas, radish salsa, great shrimp tacos, great papas tacos.

The inside deco has changed, but is still sort-of the same - I miss the old surfboards on the walls. The place has an ambiance all its own (very reminiscent of Mexcio), with a great little outdoor patio - and a cool thing is that they use those molded plastic chairs that after awhile wind up collapsing. So they've bound two of the chairs together to make sure you stay seated and close to the great tacos! Kind of a "there I fixed it" moment... and not just a few chairs - *all* of them.

So, look, just ignore the few naysayers - they either prefer a different type of taco, or they ain't in the game. If you've been to Ensenada, and you miss the taste of real Ensenada fish tacos, then this is the place you're looking for.

(If I could, I'd live upstairs from this place.)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bazi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Best Fish Tacos in Ensenada also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Best Fish Tacos in Ensenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing