We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 90 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
columbus, tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved It!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our first time to stay in a B&B, and we loved it! The rooms are so unique! We stayed in the Comet and Maverick rooms. The Comet was our favorite- it is a little bigger, and has a romantic window overlooking the pool. We felt completely at home here! The free parking was great. Awesome location, and even though it's right off of a busy street it still feels like a relaxing oasis. The pool is saltwater- so relaxing!!! I would HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Hollywood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jobejoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBandB, Owner at Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Y'all! Thanks for the compliments but one item is a little off. Our pool in non-saline although it's hard to tell this time of year when the water is warm. Saltwater pools are big these days but we're not there yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    38
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
127
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Absolutely adored this B&B....and so convenient for exploring LA.

Nina and William have a beautiful B&B which they share so completely with their guests. In the mornings the kitchen is always inviting with breakfast set out to for each person to help themselves - many different choices. William sits close by on a comfy leather lounge reading his paper - never intrusive but making himself available for any questions the guests may have. He was so very helpful with his suggestions.

They have a room full of information for LA and California with every sort of tour you could possibly think of do - all sorted logically and at your fingertips.

Our room was beautiful and the bed was heaven! We used the pool most evenings on our return from all our walking and exploring of the day. It was like an oasis after the busy-ness of our day....and so refreshing!

The B&B was a flat 20 minute walk to the Chinese Theatre where so many tours began - also on a bus route if we didn't feel like walking.

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and if in LA again, this will definitely be our "go to" place to stay.

We used the super shuttle to get to and from the airport - great service and quick and easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBandB, Owner at Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Guys, It was fun having more Aussies around. I hope you enjoyed our 1942 Tasmanian phone directory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've been to about a million hotels in LA over the past umpteen years-- with varying degrees of price/value success. A couple years ago, a friend suggested trying a Bed and Breakfast next time I had business there. I scoured around and found this gem last year. What a great little place! -- an offbeat little haven right in the thick of where I want/need to be.
The hosts are friendly and gracious and pretty much give you free reign to the living areas and back yard.This year, I made sure to spend some time by the pool with my laptop (writing!) and a bottle of vino -- heaven!

The rooms are unique and decidedly not cookie-cutter corporate, which is a very, very good thing -- no chain hotel feel here -- you'll feel like a local after a couple days -- they even have free parking -- a big deal in LA!

In short, I love this place and will be back.

Room Tip: Only have tried the Comet and Maverick rooms -- both were excellent -- choose Comet if you want a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phastEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBandB2013, Owner at Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We love industry people that actually create in our midst as that is a way of life for us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. Nina And William are outstanding! I do not think I have ever felt so comfortable and I have stayed in many hotels throughout my lifetime. The uniqueness of the property was incredible with the artwork. Whimsical and eclectic. Exceptionally quiet and centrally located. I stayed here with a friend for 4 nights, 2 weeks ago and had the Biarritz Room. Outside entrance directly to the pool. It was her first time in Los Angeles and we had a lot I wanted her to see. Nina and William were very knowledgeable and helpful beyond belief. Wonderful pool area and patio with great ambiance day or night. We started each day with a wonderful continental breakfast with so many choices it is fabulous. We walked to many places as they were so close and being centrally located cab rides were extremely affordable if we wanted. We did not have a car this visit but there is parking if one wishes, We had a great vacation and staying here made all the difference in the world. I could go on and on but one has to visit for themselves. I will definitely stay here again next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMiller462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBandB2013, Owner at Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Many thanks for your compliments, but it takes good guests to have a good hotel. These girls had a great Hollywood experience because they looked for it and they booked early or choice of rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a quirky friendly comfortable homely bed and breakfast home, run by Nina and William. We stayed for 7 days from March 9th with a short break in between to take a trip to San Francisco. There was no problem leaving our luggage at the B&B for the 4 days. We had the Maverick room which is ideal for short stay, very quiet despite being situated just off main road. Each room is decorated differently (as slows on website) Breakfast is a help yourself, lots of choice, cooked or otherwise. Tea and coffee available any time of the day, and portion of fridge available for visitors to use. Bed was very comfortable. Everything provided in bathroom, just like home from home. The decor of the whole house is fascinating, each day you see something different you haven't noticed before. Nina has sheets printed out with directions for wherever you want to go, buses to take etc. location is very good, Bristol Market store 5 minutes down the road which sells a good variety of food and drink. Farmers Market a 5 minute bus ride. The garden is lovely, always sunny, full of interesting ornaments and plants, and the pool, both great to relax in after a day in LA. Both Nina and William are extremely knowledgable about places to see and have lots books and leaflets for browsing and ideas of what to see in the area. The surrounding area is also nice to walk round if you enjoy a leisurely walk during the day.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated with different theme. No fitness centre, I touched this part by accident an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tugflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBandB2013, Owner at Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
It's always nice to read about pleasant experiences using public transportation in Los Angeles. We actually do have a good bus and light rail system in addition to a limited subway from Universal Studios in Hollywood to the downtown rail center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We just stayed for our fourth time here. Nina and William are lovely hosts. They are there for you if you need them, but are not intrusive at all. It is a unique property filled with unusual art works and design pieces, many of them made by William who used to work in graphic design.

Here are some of the nice features of the Hollywood B&B. It's quirky and different from a standard hotel/B&B experience. The location is excellent at the "nice" end of Hollywood Blvd; close to Fairfax, Sunset Strip, Beverly Hills, The Grove and beyond.

There is free secure parking on site. On the last trip we had a huge 8-seat Lincoln Navigator and it fitted nicely. Continental breakfast is supplied and offers a large variety of cereals, condiments and drinks. There is a guest fridge. You can cook if you like, but we never bother.

If you drive down Fairfax and do a left on Sunset, there is a Ralph's supermarket. Across the road from Ralph's is the cool Japanese Tanaka Raman bar for a late-night snack. Just a few meters to the west of Ralph's in a small shopping strip is a large Laundromat which we use on every visit. It's very cheap; $1.50 for a wash. And......if music is your thing, the huge Guitar Centre is a few doors down where lots of LA's guitar gods buy from.

Back to the B&B, the pool area is great for relaxing with a beer or wine after a long day touring. At night this area is illuminated with dozens of fairy lights. Sometimes the traffic noise can be intrusive at night, but it's not too bad. It's is quieter in the upstairs rooms.

Nina and William have a huge collection of maps, brochure and books about LA. All of this goes a long way to making your stay in Los Angeles fun and worthwhile. I always stay in the Hollywood area. If you are doing your first US trip to the OC theme parks, avoid the usual accommodation choices at Anaheim and stay in Hollywood where much of the action is close by.

Room Tip: The Premiere Room is the largest, quietest and best room. It has a lovely little balcony too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBandB2013, Owner at Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Now I have to try the Japanese restaurant you mention. Thanks for the tip. You were a lot of fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fabulous place to stay - great location for Hollywood, which is just a walk/short bus ride away. Wonderfully interesting place, with quirky decoration throughout and comfortable rooms equipped with everything you could need. Nina and William are so friendly and helpful - couldn't have asked for a better welcome! Plus, breakfast was just delicious and there's so much choice. Love it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigeon195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollywoodBandB2013, Owner at Hollywood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
This nice couple from Nottingham made me wonder if they were related to Robin Hood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,828 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#16 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,511 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,026 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,441 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1701 N Orange Grove Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90046-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy Hollywood by staying at our whimsical 1912 Bed & Breakfast located right on Hollywood Boulevard and within walking distance of the Sunset Strip and the Hollywood Walk of Fame; Grauman's Chinese Theater; Hollywood&Highland Dolby Theatre, site of the Academy Awards; Disney's El Capital Theater; the Jimmy Kimmel Show and Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum along with many other exciting attractions. The proprietors, Nina (who speaks German, French and Spanish) and William are very well acquainted with Hollywood and Southern California and are happy to share information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollywood Bed And Breakfast
Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing