We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Montréal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“loved it !!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

I got a very cheap deal on hotels.com ($38 per night) for a private room with two single beds, shared bathroom... and wasn't sure at all what to expect... LOVED IT !!!
Location is nice and close to subway and buses, very clean, lovely cute room, very good staff, would stay here again without any hesitations :)

only 2 negatives things :
- the wifi was very very slow in my room, and was using the one from hotel next door (4th floor, end of corridor)
- when you take your shower, hard to put your clothes, keys and stuff somewhere... except on the wet floor :-s

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 85iben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    253
    261
    132
    173
See reviews for
61
284
214
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We liked the Cecil so much that we came back for more!

Part of the historical downtown area (in the process of being regenerated), in a grand old building with an impressive lobby.

Yes, the rooms are small and nothing special but for $50/double with shared bathroom, we did not expect the Ritz. Our sheets were always clean and the beds were made each day. On our 2nd stay we even had an ensuite toilet, although we still had a shared shower (conveniently located next to our room) - possibly the staff allocated a nicer room because we were staying for 3 nights.

Our biggest concern from reading previous reviews was the mysterious foul smell. In both of our stays on the 14th floor we did not experience this at all.

A couple of tips:
1) on busy days, the line at breakfast is probably for waffles. Bypass it if you are in a hurry or just want cereal & coffee.
2) the front desk will happily lend you a fan or iron if you ask.
3) the attached coffee shop is not always open at the advertised hours - it's particularly prone to late opening and early closure when it's not busy.
4) walk up Main to the BigManBakes shop (look for the glowingly painted parking garage on your left - it's next door) for amazing late-night cupcakes! Closed on Sundays.
5) there is a 24-hour restaurant nearby - ask the front desk for directions.
6) easy to get to/from the Greyhound Station - when arriving, take the bus across from the station along 7th and get off at Main. The Cecil is a few steps to your right.

Room Tip: each room seems to be a little different- if you don't like the first one you are offered, ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanuckAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The worst hotel I have ever been. I stayed just for one night because you have to share the bathroom with the complete floor. I have never seen this before. There was no a/c either. Just terrible!!!! The only good thing was that the receptionist. When I went to him to ask him about other room with its own bathroom and a/c he told me that they didnt have anything. Then he told me what I had to do to cancel my reservation and to have my money back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Marlene19M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

we chose this hotel to spend our first night, once arrived in LAX airport. the zone does not seem to be very safe for tourists. it is also quite expensive to park your car. our room was very little, as much as the bathroom, and was not clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank --adrianho--c--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed in a room with a queen bed but w/o bathroom. My first suggestion: try to get a room with a bathroom if you don't want to wait for a vacant public bathroom. If you will use public bathroom, don't forget your bathroom slippers. Room was nice and clean. I asked help on different things from staff. (information, service, tours, etc.) They helped with all their efforts and never turned me down. IMHO only downside of this hotel is being in downtown. Shops are mostly closed after 7-8 PM. There are some places nearby to go out for in evening, but I suggest you to be careful in this area. (No, nothing happened to me)

Room Tip: get a room with bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SerdarBicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We enjoyed our time at the Stay on the Main Hotel. It is a hostel based theme, but feels more like a hotel. We booked a room with shared facilities which was fine. However, in future i would book a room with ensuite so that i am not competing with others for the bathroom. All areas were clean. The Stay offers you a continental breakfast, which includes a selection of teas and coffee. Cereal is available. Reception is open between 7.30am and 11pm but if you have to go out before or after reception opening hours, you can access your room via Hotel Cecil which is immediately next door.
There is four computer terminal which is free, Wifi is also available.
The Stay is accessible to many of the attractions including Hollywood and Universal by bus or subway. Make sure you get the TAP card (similar to London's Oyster card) and buy a $5 day pass which will take you all over LA . Good value if you going to make several stops during the day.
There is a high level of homelessness in the area which may be daunting to some, but they generally leave you alone. Enjoy the Stay because it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: May benefit from ensuite facilities, but shared facilities are always clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debsmillen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and I have to say it was one of the best I've ever stayed at, not to mention the price is unbeatable! Everyone was really great especially the people at the front desk. The day of my check out a young girl names susie asked me how my stay was and seemed to really care about my experience. Genuine service is always best. Thanks everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovelyJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#200 of 350 in Los Angeles
85 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#89 of 350 in Los Angeles
414 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 350 in Los Angeles
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#45 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,197 reviews
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#118 of 350 in Los Angeles
17 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Property: Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing