We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Luckily we only stayed one night as we were going on a cruise next day this is not a hotel more like a hostel the room they were putting us in was a shared toilet no way so we paid an extr 20dollars to get a toilet I would not have used the sower looked so grubby the room had a bad smell and was so drab my husband and I lay on top of the bed and kept our clothes on I certainly would not get in it we got out that room as quick as we could .in fact I was sick next morning and have not been sick since .give this hotel a wide berth disgusting

Room Tip: Don't know if they had any
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    253
    261
    132
    173
See reviews for
61
284
214
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I came to Downtown Los Angeles for a convention, and am so glad I found the Stay Hotel. Usually, for business trips I stay at mid price hotels like Holiday Inn, or Courtyard Marriott. I was surprised at the high rates for hotels near LA Live (Staples Center) area, ranging $270-$440per night. Stay was the most affordable $89 per night.

The hotel staff was friendly and quick with service.

The room was simple but adequate for the price. Decent TV with cable channels

One complaint: Not all of the rooms come with a bathroom inside the room. I opted for the higher rate room which included a small shower head very close to the sink and toilet.
this was odd as it was only separated by a pull around shower curtain and yet still everything got wet, and the slow drain had almost 2 inches of water in the entire bathroom.

Because I only need quick showers for this trip it was sufficient. However, I would have been disappointed if I wanted to relax or take a bath.

Other fun perks were a cool lobby area with game room, movie room, and free breakfast.

Overall not a bad stay at Stay. I will probably stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shavonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The location of the hostel is really good and most of the places of tourist interest are located close by. very well connected by metro and bus.The places is very good for the price but i would ask all travellers to look into the room before you accept one.The first room we were given was not that good but later when we asked for a change, the second option was way better and well spacious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joydeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel/hostel had once been a grand place to stay in the heart of downtown Los Angeles. The reception area was beautiful, with lots of marble and mirrors. WIFI was available and easily accessed.

Our room was basic, but clean, with an unusual chair in the shape of a hand. We had shared facilities. We could not get access to the shower, as there appeared to be only one on our floor and it was in constant use. The toilets too were often 'busy'.

Breakfast was good - plenty of choice and as much as you liked, including the biggest waffle imaginable.

The location is central, but noisy - horns, sirens etc. The staff were courteous, but when we registered we were advised that a $50 deposit would be required and would not be debited back to our account until the maid had checked our room, which was after we left. Also we were advised to call a taxi to take us to Grand Central Station from the internal direct phone in the reception area. However, we discovered there is a direct bus link and one tenth of the cost.

We did not read up on the history of the hotel until we came back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane_turner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Pros:
Location-2 blocks walk from pershing square metro. bus stop in the corner.restaurants nearby.
Free breakfast-though it was the same every day.
Self laundry facility in the lobby.
Free popcorn
Spacious room
Shared bathroom is clean

Cons:
-Bummers every where!! Even inside the hotel. I think some even lives there.
-make sure to book a private room
-it was the old Cecil Hotel. Google for detailed info.
-Internet only good at the lobby though we were able to connect in our room in the 12th floor.
-additional 20$ charge for "early check in"
-no A/C in our room
-street noise (ex. sirens,etc). we were put in an adjacent room or like a family room. we could hear the other room's noise ( tv, shower,etc)
-no table in the room

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It was a good stay overall. Thought the rooms could be more spacious. Great for people who are just in and out of the hotel. Basically leave in the morning and come back at night to sleep. I thought it was a good place for small groups checking in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlene0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This place was easy to afford for a couple of us young adults to stay here for a few nights. The rooms were simple, not much to them, but when you're visiting a new city you don't spend much time at all in the room. It felt like a safe place to stay in the Downtown area. There are some bars and restaurants right by, easy to walk to, and a good parking lot right next door that's always open. I'm planning on coming back to L.A. in the summer and I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#200 of 350 in Los Angeles
85 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#89 of 350 in Los Angeles
414 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 350 in Los Angeles
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#45 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,197 reviews
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#118 of 350 in Los Angeles
17 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Property: Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing