We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the photos...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the photos...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

When I saw the photos the entrance looks like a great hotel ...but when I got into the rooms...it just was like a typical hostel...really run down...not modern like the pictures at all...couldn't even open or close the door properly...this place is more of a hostel than a budget hotel...the photos I've just seem on trip advisor just now does not match to all of the rooms...or even the queen room we stayed in...very deceiving indeed! The continental breakfast was fine but again...not that much choice....they need to decide whether they should be a hotel or a hostel not both...doesn't work that way....

They only have one valet so expect to wait to be served but they were nice people...the place is surrounded by great restaurants...just need to walk a bit further to get to them...but again the stay on main is not a hotel...it's more of a hostel with a hotel grand entrance...don't be fooled...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tasha192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    251
    259
    130
    170
See reviews for
61
281
213
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is located in a great place and close to everything
Access to it is very easy
They have some good Entertainments
The rooms are not good, but not bad compared to the price
In general a good hotel compared to the price

Room Tip: room with private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Araz-ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Terrible staff, they have no sense of customer service. Rude security. Disgusting rooms. We were not told that there was a two person policy during check-in (there were 3 of us). After getting back from a late night, that's when they decided to tell us and not let us go back to our room. The staff was unhelpful and the "security" was instigating the situation. So we were left roaming around the streets of downtown Los Angeles at 3am looking for another hotel. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank redseven7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

For a first-timer in LA, I find this location very very convenient, with easy access to public transport ( bus stop a few steps away). The nearby restaurants are great, too. The staff are really friendly. It is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewatz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hostel is very clean. Linen and furniture are new. Price is very good!
If you stay on a shared room, be aware that restrooms and shower will be at the corridor and you will share it with man and woman. There are no sinks in the restrooms, so you need to go to your room to wash your hands after using the toilets.
My pillow was terrible, so I walked 3 blocks and bought one at Ross for $8.99.
Downtown LA is not the safest place to stay at. There are many homeless on the streets and some people look like zombies walking around, some on drugs and drunk. Do never walk alone during the night! If you are a girl, return to the hostel before it gets dark!
The hostel is very big and they have security cameras at the lobby but not at the corridors on dorms levels.
The Hostel gives a Starbucks gift for people who writes Good Reviews about the hostel, so be aware of super good reviews. Maybe people wrote it just to get a free coffee!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

There aren't a lot of cheap and clean places to stay in downtown LA area and this is one of the better options for that. The room that i stayed is really clean as well as the bathroom which is nice. I didn't have any trouble sleeping and the noise wasn't as bad as i thought it would be. There are restaurants and shops within walking distance. I wouldn't suggest walking alone at night because after all this is LA and you never know what could happen. The breakfast line can get really long especially during holiday season. There are some computers that guests can use in the lobby which is really helpful. Overall, for the price that i paid I was quite satisfied.

Room Tip: Higher floors have quiter rooms because it's the furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sten I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

First of all, this hotel/hostel has a very convenient location. If you don't have a car, it's the very best place you can stay in Los Angeles, with easy access to all kinds of metro bus and subways.
The staff are very friendly, and the front desk is 24 hours.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator have better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick8012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#217 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#79 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#89 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#53 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#50 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Property: Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing