We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy place”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Hi, it's nice hotel not far from the center of Downtown. Free bus to the more interesting places, clear rooms, everyday cleaning.
I think it's good for the people who need to see the LA.
By the way, when you order room breakfast is complimentary!!!
Very cheap price for the rooms if you book on the easy to book!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuznets_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    252
    260
    132
    173
See reviews for
61
284
214
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Offenburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

IF YOU ARE A COLLEGE STUDENT OR A PERSON STAYING HERE WITH MULTIPLE FRIENDS DO NOT COME HERE!!!!!!!
I stayed here for my trip to Hard Summer. if you are a person trying to share one or two rooms with multiple people to save money it will not work. the security guard is an jerk who would rather put people out on the street then let your friends crash with you in your room. This place was absolutely awful. the hotel is located in a disgusting part of the city. the management clearly put 90% of their money into the lobby and about 10% into the actual rooms. no air conditioning and the room was loud, and the beds and sheets were uncomfortable. the rooms look nothing like what was advertised on their site. incredibly loud noises outside making sleeping difficult. i will never stay here again and i hope anyone who does has everyone who is going to stay in your room registered and payed for, or else anyone not registered will be sent out into the street.

Room Tip: rooms look nothing as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 371dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is great when visiting LA. The area is a little bit shady after midnight, but just walk a few blocks and you're at City Hall or Staples Center where there are a lot of great restaurants and stuff.. The hotel itself is nothing fancy, but you get everything you need. The rooms are rather small, but for this price all rooms in big cities will be small...About all those bad reviews on this site: I don't know what those people are expecting for this kind of money.. It's not like rats are running around and the lobby is full of homeless people and syrringes..

Room Tip: take a room that isn't facing the street, it'll help you sleep more silent. also, rooms who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MatthiasG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Google this hotel! It says it all! The hotel was called Hotel Cecil.

It's been the stay for many serial killers. Some people died. Just recently a canadian student.
There's even a You Tube Video.

Didn't let anybody make the room! TV worked, bathroom was creepy! Not comfortable at all!

BUT you get what you pay for. This is probably the cheapest hotel in the L.A. area!

Cool for low budget don't give a damn about accommodations kinda traveller.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Denis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is fine, the room is too small, it does not have air conditioning and the bathroom is too small, the shower and the sink are in the same place, it is very uncomfortable. for the same money you could find a better motel in the hollywood area.

Room Tip: go to a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The only thing we liked about Stay on Main was location.
It was close to public transport to all the main LA attractions. Very easy to get the train anywhere, and a very close bus stop for Santa Monica/Venice Beach.
That being said, the actual area of the hostel, is NOT a nice one. We really didn't feel very comfortable walking around at night, and tried to avoid it where possible.

The communal spaces were NOT air conditioned as advertised. And really weren't very social for how much they were promoting them. People were rarely around it seemed people were in their rooms or out of the building.

The rooms were really hot at night, having a fan made it much more bearable but it is was still very uncomfortable in there.
The rooms were a reasonable size, the bed was fine, although the three infant sized (as opposed to normal full sized pillows) were a bit weird.
There was a sink in your room which was nice to have.
There was a decent size TV (although we never watched it), and a heater (which we definitely never tried to turn on). Plenty of power points around the room.
There was a desk and a chair, and then also a random plastic hand shaped chair near the ironing board area.
There was also a bizarre, but pretty, lighting feature. It was a large section of wall, that was a glass box, FULL of fake flowers, that could be back lit. The light was sufficient to actually function as a light, and although it was pretty, it seems bizarre that they would choose to spend money on creating a nice light feature rather than any number of things that would have made their hotel far more bearable.

The communal bathrooms I really didn't like. The toilets were blocked or not flushing about 50% of the time, which was just disgusting, and there were often none free. And since you have a sink in your room, there is nowhere to wash your hands at the toilet (gross).
The showers may have been the worst part though. Not only were they very grotty, but they were also a SAUNA! The only ventilation to the shower room (that was all tiled) was a tiny vent that led into the toilet next door?!
Even a cold shower had the room unbearably hot very quickly.
Also the water didn't drain properly down the plug hole, so in less than 5mins, the whole room area had the floor flooded up to the door of the room.

Breakfast is waffles, three cereals, tea, coffee, water, juice, milk. You will struggle to get a table to eat at, and you will definitely have to line up for waffles.
Do not come after 9am!! Both of these two factors are much worse after that time. We would often have one person hunt for and then guard a table while the other lined up for waffles.
They lock the doors to breakfast and begin packing things up at 10am. We saw them start this as early as 9.50am one morning though and almost all the food and drink was packed away by 10am. So if you want the free breakfast I cannot recommend strongly enough that you come early.

There was only one working elevator, and it was impossible to take any time that was close to breakfast or check out. We took the stairs everyday, but the people on the top floor would've had it a bit harder.

If you ask reception, they will give you a bag of ice whenever you want it, which we found helpful for filling up our drink bottle each day.

I'm happy with shared bathrooms and travelling cheap, but this place wasn't an acceptable standard for me. I wouldn't return, and I would discourage anyone from staying in the hottest months, or for more than just a couple nights.

Also the hotel was previously the Cecil Hotel, and it has a pretty gruesome history (as recent as horrible and disgusting death last year), so I would look into that before travelling to see if it concerns you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 145gemmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here on my last night in America, and it was a bitter way to end my trip. My problems were not with the room itself, as I had low expectations considering the reasonable rates. My main concern was with the staff and service. I arrived at the hotel and waited in line to check in for 45 minutes, along with many other disgruntled tourists. No apologies were given for the wait, or acknowledgement that any of us had been waiting for an exceptional amount of time. Further to this, there was only one functional lift in the entire building, so it took a further 20 minutes just to get up to my room.

My major qualm however was with booking the shuttle bus the hotel offers to the airport. I booked Sunday morning for that evening, and luckily booked at a time well in advance of when I needed to arrive at the airport. After waiting for 45 minutes for the shuttle out the front of the hotel, I queried reception (after another long wait in line) who informed me they had booked my trip for the following day. I waited a further 30 minutes for the receptionist to attempt to book another shuttle for me, after which I gave up and requested a taxi instead. $80 for a taxi and over an hour after I was initially supposed to arrive at the airport and I am still waiting for any acknowledgement of wrongdoing by the hotel staff.

I understand that these things happen, but there was no attempt to apologise for the mishap, or decent attempt to rectify the problem.

As I said, it was an unfortunate way to end my trip, and left a bitter taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#207 of 351 in Los Angeles
84 reviews
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#79 of 351 in Los Angeles
413 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#85 of 351 in Los Angeles
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
693 reviews
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#39 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Property: Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing