We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute boutique hostel that didn't leave a dent in my wallet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cute boutique hostel that didn't leave a dent in my wallet”
Reviewed 8 April 2010

STAY, you are my lifesaver.

i desperately needed to find a place to crash for one night while my house in LA got a quick fix. STAY was, BY FAR, the most affordable place in the area ($45 for private room, shared bath/$25 for shared room, shared bath).

being a frequenter of hostels while travelling, i knew what to expect from a hostel. but STAY definitely had european & south american hostels beat when it came to decor and cleanliness. with its flat screen tv and funky, light-up flower artwork, my private twin-bed room had a really trendy, boutiquey feel to it.

i'm a stickler for clean sheets, and STAY hit it on the dot. also, a plus for the private sink in the room. shared toilet and shower were a bit cramped, but you're not spending that much time in there anyway, right? sharing the cecil hotel elevator was no biggie. i checked in pretty late, and there were no shady characters to be found. for a friday night, it was quiet and i had no trouble getting a good night's sleep.

just one precaution: once the sun goes down, i would be a tad weary about schlepping around the neighborhood. particularly if you're a woman by yourself...just don't (i'm a woman btw). otherwise, downtown LA is really starting to clean up its act, and in daylight conditions, the area is a good starting point to see LA sights & attractions. if you're planning to bring a car, you may encounter difficulty in finding overnight street parking. expect to hand over a hefty $30something for overnight parking in a parking lot next to the hostel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartla83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    252
    260
    132
    173
See reviews for
61
284
214
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This was a really good place to stay, and for $45 per night, I don't know how you can do better in LA. The main drawback is that you share toilets and showers with the guests (not locker-room style - they're small, individual rooms down the hall). But these were kept clean, there are sinks in the bedrooms, and really, that's the only downside for this budget place.

They offer amazingly comfortable beds, colorful rooms, free wifi and online access in a little internet cafe (5 monitors) in the lobby, free morning tea and coffee (bad coffee, says my coffee-drinking boyfriend) instant oatmeal packets and mini bagels with cream cheese. But actually, there's no reason to partake of the morning freebies because a couple blocks away is the 5 cent diner which serves the best huevos rancheros I've ever had (and a few delicious vegan options, too). They also have a delicious red velvet doughnut. I don't even like doughnuts, but these were extraordinary. A block further up Main Street is a delicious vietnamese restaurant, and there is also a cheap mexican restaurant nearby that does amazing burritos. Stay is also within in walking distance of Little Tokyo, Chinatown, MOCA, The Walt Disney Concert Hall, and the original LA settlement area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

STAY was great - we had a private ensuite double room, and it was super clean with new bed and bedding, a flatscreen tv with cable, a good clean bathroom, everything was above my expectation.
It was kinda a small room, but that's what we were paying for so we were very satisfied.
The area was also excellent for what we wanted - close to everything.
I was a bit put off by other reviews that mentioned the Cecil Hotel being next door/sharing an elevator - there was seriously nothing to worry about, all other guests we encountered were polite and clean, no druggies in sight.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Heart_Delicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate, England
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2010

When i booked my room, i paid a 10% deposit already so when i got there i would only have to pay $180 for the rest of my stay!! I arrived at Stay and it was in a pretty dodgy area, and when i went to check in she told me that because i was paying by cash i had to put a $100 deposit down. I was never told about this by the website i booked my room on or by the Stay hostel and i had researched it thouroughly! Also after giving her the $100 deposit, i gave her my $180 which was what i had left to pay, she then told me that i owed another $25, and i asked why as i had already paid 2 deposits, and then i got told it was for the tax!! I finally got to my room which was nice, but the people in the elevators were a bit dodgy as it was being shared by people in the cecil!! i tried to use my key to go the toilet and the shower and they didnt work!! I phoned reception and she said that they did work, but i tried every single shower and toilet door i could find and they didnt!! Also as this is in the dodgy area of LA, you hear a lot of noise from outside mainly sirens from police and ambulances!! I checked out early and went home and the best thing about my trip was the taxi driver on the way back!! If u do stay here or are looking to go to LA, phone a guy called Pablos limousines, he is a taxi driver and he is the best, he will take you on tours of LA!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2010

---don't be fooled by the pictures, its not worth staying in there----

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinky2kf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

we stayed at this hotel for a fun weekend in LA and since its downtown we thought it would be a cool place to stay,thought wrong...we had bugs in our room and the walls were paper thin and it was so loud there and we saw a couple bugs running around in the hotel too...they also order more expensive caps if you ask for one and the staff wasnt really friendly and helpful.one good thing,the internet was for free!

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SabineF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

The hotel has a wonderfully impressive front, but as you delve deeper into the hotel the upkeep is apparently lacking. I enjoyed the character of the 1920's style rooms, but the severely awful recent (?) decor left me cold. It's located in a very, very dangerous looking area with gangs all hanging around looking menacing. Parking is non existent if you're driving and expect to pay at least $10 a night in overnight car park charges. Free wi-fi is available but only on the mezzanine floor. There is a cafe attached to the entrance for coffee and bagels but you'll have to travel into town to find anywhere with a decent sized meal.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpie5774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#207 of 351 in Los Angeles
84 reviews
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#78 of 351 in Los Angeles
413 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#88 of 351 in Los Angeles
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
696 reviews
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel

Property: Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel
Address: 640 South Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-2004 (Formerly Cecil Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on Main is the hippest boutique hotel and hostel in downtown Los Angeles. We are located in the heart of LA’s Historic Core, surrounded by many of the newest and hottest restaurants, bars and night- clubs in downtown Los Angeles, California. We are located one mile to LA LIVE, minutes by Metro to famous Hollywood, short walk to the fashion, toy, jewelry districts and flower mart. Also, minutes by bus to China Town, Little Tokyo and USC…or hop on the bus right outside the front door for a unique site seeing ride to Santa Monica beach.Our location, style accommodations and vibe offer our guest the best value in Los Angeles. Stay on Main offers a menu approach to accommodation selection. Depending upon budget and lifestyle, guests can choose from a wide array of room types and amenities at stay on main hotel, from private rooms with private baths to shared rooms with shared baths down the hall.Stay on Main is youthful, high-style, and high-tech. our rooms are simple stylish and inexpensive. We offer convenient accommodations for the hip and spend thrifty traveler.In-the-know 18-30 year old international travelers and domestic travelers looking for modern, upscale accommodations on a budget will appreciate our variety of room types and options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay on Main Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay On Main Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing