We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hotel with Large Rooms and Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #23 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
373 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel with Large Rooms and Good Service”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a large convention and after hearing some horror stories about other properties in the area, we were very glad that we chose the JW Marriott.

Pros: The rooms are large with plenty of room to move around. Great linens. Beautiful roof top pool area with a lap pool. Great service...room service arrived in 10 minutes.

Cons: Mushy bed. They have energy saving devices in the bathroom and if you are not in the room for a few minutes, the lights go off. Annoying when you're rushing to get ready. Very thin walls...when the guest next door put his key in his door, it sounded like he was entering our room.

Beware! Downtown L A is filled with panhandlers especially at night. You will be approached. Plenty of police, but they can't be everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laplume9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    724
    186
    67
    44
See reviews for
329
370
93
984
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Right next to Staples Center. Great nightlife spot without driving or cabbing. We will go back AAA+++

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miker023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Aside from the many ammenities, this hotel's best quality is its location. Being at the center of L.A. Live allowed me save on getting a rental car because everything...and I mean everything, was a walk away. I was able to get to the conference center in a matter of minutes, find a different place to eat whenever I wanted, and keep entertained every night of the week.

The inside of the hotel is magnificent and staff was always there to help. Their pool is always well kept with staff changing out towels for people using the facility. I'm an avid gym user and I found using the workout room reminded me of a small version of my gym that I use at home. A normal hotel gym had nothing on the J.W. Marriott's gym.

As far as the rooms...very spacious, well decorated, and absolutely clean. All-in-all a wonderful place to stay if in L.A.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdybordr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I stayed one night here after a concert at Staples center in September. The convenience of being able to shower and change into our evening clothes, have dinner at the LA Market right in the hotel (or one of the other restaurants at LA Live), have pre-concert drinks in the lobby (a must try is their signature Strawberry breeze cocktail) and only walk a couple hundred feet to the Staples center was priceless! The accommodations were more than adequate in the rooms. I loved the decor and the modern style bathroom, and although I am not one to brag about shower heads.... I didn't want to leave the shower! Everything else about the hotel was classy, from check in to check out. I would definitely stay here again. I found the best deal (AAA) on the Marriott website.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetenergytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Location, location, location. This was my second stay here and it was flawless. Great service, remarkable rooms and of course fantastic location. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I like the JW Marriott. I've stayed there 2 years in a row for a company conference and both stays have been just fine on a few fronts:
1. The beds are comfortable
2. The rooms are quiet
3. The rooms are spacious
4. The bathrooms are big, with included amenities like shampoo, soaps, hair dryer and even toothbrush and tooth paste.
5. TVs are HD and have a good amount of channels and movies
6. The hotel is nice and clean, cool and kinda hip. Well laid out and pleasing to be in.

Some of the incidentals aren't so perfect:
1. There is no free wifi - it's 13 bucks a day.
2. The room service menu is OK, but small, so if you are there for business and stuck for a few meals, after 2 of them, you likely won't want more.

Some of the other parts are nice-to-haves:
1. Walking distance from OK restaurants and places to get a good beer
2. Across the street from Staples Center and LACC
3. Downtown LA which is starting to be the place to be again

One other part that wasn't so awesome sauce:
1. Late night, you get some of the Pros in the bars. Or perhaps they are simply ladies that dress terribly and wink a lot...

But overall, I'd stay here again, every time. In fact, I'd rather not stay anywhere else when I need to be close to LACC and LA Live.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyrozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We went to a concert in the Staples center for a nice concert and had our hotel next door. We expected the hotel to be part of treat we gave ourselves....it was not.

Average room, no complementary wifi, pay an annoying extra dollar for each call when you use a phone card, you had to use valet parking, as they told at arrival that the self parking garage had very inconvenient closing times etc. It seems the hotel wants to irritate you. They really made an effort to make you feel bad. It's a shame. Of course they ask a high price for all that nonsense. Very disappointing hotel.

They did not succeed!!!! The concert was perfect, so we had a very very good time after all!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xs2alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#36 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing