We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Downtown by far!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #23 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place in Downtown by far!”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

What a great hotel! Walk in the door and you are greeted with a smile and a very personable staff member. The rooms are spacious and clean. The location is great for anything at Staples, LA Convention Centre or Nokia Theatre. Many great resturaunts right there in the LA Live complex. There are even others if you want to walk a bit. Don't let anyone warn you off the area. Maybe a few years ago it was a little risky, but my wife and I walked 7 blocks to a great Italian place to eat and felt fine walking after 8:pm. Sure you may come across one homeless person that may ask you for a buck, but what big city do you not get that. Great bar areas and again the servers are very pleasant. Make sure the price is OK for you and the extra parking charges etc. but well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a Plaza view and get as high as you can. LA Live is lit up pretty good at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverTraveler-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    724
    186
    67
    44
See reviews for
329
370
93
984
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
440 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Traveled for business meetings. This is a very nice hotel with first class accomidations. The area around LA live was very safe and nice. We wondered down to some other areas of downtown and found a few cool neighborhood feeling pubs.

I enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: you can see Hollywood hills from some of the upper rooms. go for a high room on that side of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amorace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

LA Live area is a entertainment complex in the desolation of downtown LA. There is a reason they think they can build an NFL stadium there, they can level blocks. Currently there is a concert venue, sports arena, a movie multiplex and a variety of theme restaurants of various quality. The hotel is part of the complex and is in the same building as the Ritz Carlton. In fact they share some of the same facilities, such as the lobby bars, parking and fitness center. So between the two stay at the Marriott for less. Room was nice, clean, modern with nice view from 18th floor. Comfortable bed. Had mini fridge, but not stocked. Room service for breakfast was quite good and punctual. Staff was nice as well. However given location would only stay if going to event at LA Live. As is far from everything that makes LA, LA

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oshawott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This JW is ideally located downtown. It is next to the arena and in walking proximity of terrific restaurants. I had a spacious suite with an enormous bathroom. This property is absolutely my first Los Angeles choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed for a conference recently. The hotel is quite large but for access to events at the convention or Staples Center it is fine. Otherwise nothing is really within a comfortable walking distance. The reception, bar and restaurant areas are an open plan and feels somewhat disjointed, certainly with no feeling of intimacy anywhere. I was in an executive king room which was oddly shaped. It was attractive looking but some practical design flaws are actually annoying (shades that are difficult to raise and lower, lights not well attached to the wall, cool water for showers in the morning, and no light in or near the closet unit) On the good side the bed was comfortable and the bathroom well designed with lots of a shelf space and a very large shower. All in all my stay was acceptable but I would not stay again barring a conference located there

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayef here one night for a meeting on site. Arrived late in evening and had to leave by 1 pm the next day. While my stay was short, sometimes you can tell how good (or bad) a place really is.

Location is right next to Staple Center. While I didn't get chance to venture outside it looked like there was a lot there. Check in was smooth and when I asked for a room with view, they gave me choice and ended up with small upgrade to executive room. Room size was awesome, very spacious though to be fair, I am not sure how a standard room would be in size.

TV was a big flat screen, bed was exceptionally comfortable. Had room service since everything was closed by the time I checked in. Food arrived on time and burger was better than most, as was the soup. Bathroom was also spacious and great shower. Checkout was smooth. Meeting rooms were a short indoor walk to attached building.

Overall experience was so good that I wished I had a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srk3465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I never seem to be particularly pleased with any of my stays at Marriott hotels, even their upper-end JW Marriott hotels.

I stayed at JW Marriott - LA Live to attend a conference recently. We arrived a bit late (10:45pm) and we learned upon arrival that all of the King rooms (for which we had placed a deposit) had been already given out and all that were available were double queens. I was told that I would be given a high-floor city view that was supposed to satisfy me. I asked for a supervisor and someone named Stephanie came and apologized and offered nothing else more than free internet. She claimed that a paid deposit (with a guaranteed charge of one night if I was a no-show) was not really a guaranteed reservation, because it was at a special convention rate. In other words, they were guaranteeing to charge me for a King room for the night, but they were not guaranteeing that they would actually provide it!

She sauntered off and the nasty desk clerk tosses me a room key-card for the 7th floor with a view of a Pepsi sign out the window, NOT the high city-view. It works out bad for you if you complain to management here. Most high-end hotels will provide an upgrade for inconvenience, not down-grade and treat you like trash.

As an aside, I walked by the front desk early the next morning and there was Stephanie. She was smiling as her eyes wondered toward mine and, upon looking at me, her smile dropped from her face like a ton of bricks. Real nice. She either works very long hours or has very little time off between shifts. This might explain the hotel staff’s less than adequate treatment of their guests. In the future, I will attempt to avoid any conference held at a Marriott and I will certainly never ever stay at another for holiday.

Room Tip: The attached Ritz is the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radworkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#8 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#36 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Property: JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing