We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and accomodations meet Marriott excellence level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Ranked #22 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I was pleasantly surprised as the level of service and friendliness at this hotel in the middle of glitzy LA Live. I was here only because it was the location of a conference I was attending. My room was very comfortable. I actually liked the sliding bathroom door because it saved walking around room. While I wasn't sharing the room, I thought how helpful that would be when two people are trying to maneuver in the space of a bathroom. Also the bathroom had a magnified mirror that I think should be standard in all hotel rooms. The room was easy to work in since there were several outlets on the desk and a separate pullout table on which to work.
I didn't eat in the restaurants, but the conference food was better than most. Servers at the bar were very attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEKIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

We spent one night after we saw a concert at Club Nokia. Nice, clean room. Coffee just enough for one cup. The maids were super nice and gladly gave us another packet.

We had no idea that the hotel had a hopping night life. Had a drink when we got back. The music and bar are far away from the rooms so it was no problem.

Loved that the hotel is so convenient to Staples Center, etc.

Views aren't so good but I spas sums the Ritz has better views.

Get advanced reservations for upscale restaurants like WP24 or Rivera.

We plan to stay again in July.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We were there for a dance competition and had special rates, so this was a very good value. The location was excellent. There were many good restaurants within easy walking distance.

The room had everything we wanted. There was an in-room safe, complimentary bottled water, single cup coffee maker (also made tea), sufficient closet and drawer space. The bath and shower fixtures were new and worked very well. The air conditioning was exceptionally quiet. We usually turn the AC off at night because of the noise, but here we didn't have to. There was a large flat screen TV (more than 40"). The TV was wired so that there were input connections on the side of the desk. We easily hooked up our camcorder to the TV with an HDMI cable to watch the day's competitions.

Our room overlooked the Staples Center, but there was no noise to interfere with our sleep. All in all, we were happy with our stay and would stay here again if convenient for our purposes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaialaeNui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here for one night during an event and it was a very beautiful room and hotel, especially the lobby. Well appointed and tatsteful as well. The bed was quite comfortable. My only complaint is that the room simply wasn't as clean as should be expected from a hotel of this caliber. A dirty couch and dust covered magazines among other things clearly overlooked by the staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views, though that all depends on LA's weather/smog/etc as to how far y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Overall, my stay at the JW Marriott during my conference was very pleasant. The staff was very knowledgeable, rooms were rather comfortable, and it's in a pretty good location. It had all the accommodations that one would expect from this caliber of a hotel. As far as the room, my only issue was the bathroom. Instead of a normal door with a hinge that allows one to open and close by pushing the door forward and backward, they have a sliding door for the bathroom. While aesthetically pleasing, it was noisy. This was a nuisance late in the evening as it awoke my roommate from her nap when I closed the restroom door. As for the common areas, I loved the lobby but the hotel food was too expensive and not tasty. Don't order the fish and chips. The ballroom and meeting rooms are pretty, and the rooftop pool is great. Last thing, there was loud music blaring from one of the entertainment venues next door during the middle of the day and the early evening. So, if you need to take naps during the day, this is probably not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadow08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Had a lovely 4 day stay at this hotel! We took advantage of the rooftop pool and delicious drinks! The staff is friendly, professional and helpful. The valet guys helped us take down the soft top on our jeep, which took some elbow grease. Loved our room and the gigantic shower cabin!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaBk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

To be honest the room was nice but not a stunner. Went to Conference here and the hotel employees were very helpful. They went out of their way to tell you the best ways to see the sights. If you wanted tickets they could get them. If you wanted anything they would see that you got it. Lobby was attractive. Rent cars on site. Since Parking at the hotel was a steep 40 bucks a day, we rented a car for two days, but turned it in each night before 10 and then turned around and rented it again (the same one) the next day. No parking fee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janicefrogtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#13 of 355 in Los Angeles
653 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#80 of 355 in Los Angeles
253 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#64 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,301 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE

Address: 900 West Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £211 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 877
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing